Late Night with Seth Meyers : Season 1

  • Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 24, 2014
Season #: 1, 4
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Mar 5, 2014
    83
    Meyers seems capable of creating chemistry and having quality chats with anyone, from riding the wild waves of Kanye West to spinning a funny anecdote with pal Brad Paisley about accidentally stealing a Porsche. A talk-show host good at talking? Fancy that.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 25, 2014
    80
    Late Night lets the host act a little more relaxed, and Meyers uses that freedom well.
  3. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Mar 3, 2014
    75
    Fred Armisen is a surprising choice as bandleader, but he brings unequaled improv chops to the table, and his little banter with Seth every night has already proven one of the more reliably funny bits. Integrating him as much as possible is certainly a smart idea. Meyers, like Fallon, is also a more-than-capable interviewer.
  4. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 24, 2014
    70
    As always, you can't judge a late-night host by a first show. But Meyers' debut indicates that his blend of intelligence and goofy humor will be a welcome addition to the crowded late-night neighborhood.
  5. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    Mr. Meyers was at ease and disarming in his new role as a talk show host.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Starr
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    Newly minted Late Night host Seth Meyers hit a few early potholes during his inaugural show Monday night--but eventually found his sea legs and drove his new 12:35 p.m. show to a solid, if unspectacular, debut.
  7. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    The monologue was the sharpest part of Meyers’ first hour on the air (a departure from Fallon, whose monologue has never been his strength)–brisk, punctuated with self-deprecation, and wide-rangingly topical.... The distinguishing thing about the first night of Seth Meyers, in other words, was Seth Meyers, and the hour dropped little hints about how his personality and interests might shape the show.
  8. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    You get a lot of jokes per minute from Meyers, and on Monday at least, most of them worked.... Time of course will tell, but Late Night once again seems to be in good hands.
  9. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    The articulate comic whose charm is deftly walking the balance beam between cool guy and geek was at his best when he was simply conversing.
  10. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    [Meyers] was shaky only fleetingly. He stuck his landings. He was cool, but clearly having fun.
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 38
  2. Negative: 30 out of 38
  1. Apr 25, 2014
    3
    I'm sorry Seth. You just aren't funny on this show. And it really tanks at our house when Fred comes on. We change the channel.
    Whether bad
    I'm sorry Seth. You just aren't funny on this show. And it really tanks at our house when Fred comes on. We change the channel.
    Whether bad writing or nervousness, I don't know. Again really sorry and dissappointed. We will check again in a few months. But for now I need my DVR space for something I can watch without cringing. NOTHING PERSONAL my friend. I was really pulling for you.
    Full Review »
  2. May 23, 2014
    1
    He is just copying SNL skits he did. He sucks. I watched once, will not watch again. If you watch, I ask why? He can only get old SNL castHe is just copying SNL skits he did. He sucks. I watched once, will not watch again. If you watch, I ask why? He can only get old SNL cast members to be on his show. Seth Myers YOU SUCK. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2014
    1
    I agree with bevstark that as soon as Late Night comes one, I find myself reaching for the remote to change the channel as it is very boringI agree with bevstark that as soon as Late Night comes one, I find myself reaching for the remote to change the channel as it is very boring and not funny at all. Fred is the best part of the show. Full Review »