Late Night with Seth Meyers : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 24, 2014
Season #: 1, 4
Late Night with Seth Meyers Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Saturday Night Live's Seth Meyers takes over Late Night with Jimmy Fallon's move over to the Tonight Show.
  • Genre(s): Talk & Interview
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Mar 5, 2014
    83
    Meyers seems capable of creating chemistry and having quality chats with anyone, from riding the wild waves of Kanye West to spinning a funny anecdote with pal Brad Paisley about accidentally stealing a Porsche. A talk-show host good at talking? Fancy that.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Mar 3, 2014
    75
    Fred Armisen is a surprising choice as bandleader, but he brings unequaled improv chops to the table, and his little banter with Seth every night has already proven one of the more reliably funny bits. Integrating him as much as possible is certainly a smart idea. Meyers, like Fallon, is also a more-than-capable interviewer.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    Mr. Meyers was at ease and disarming in his new role as a talk show host.
  4. 60
    Meyers's first monologue was all down-the-middle one-liners, delivered in the exact "Weekend Update" cadence.... Meyers settled in more once he sat down at his desk.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It was... safe, reasonable, unembarrassing, uninspirational.
  6. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 25, 2014
    50
    Meyers is likable and pleasant, and the first show probably isn't a good indication of what his Late Night will eventually be like. In the early going, though, there isn't much fresh happening there.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 25, 2014
    40
    Virtually nothing about this latest Late Night exhibited a whiff of freshness or originality.... On the plus side, Meyers came across as relaxed and loose, riffing on his show’s micro-budget and acknowledging the jokes that fell flat. The writing, however, simply wasn’t that strong.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 38
  2. Negative: 30 out of 38
  1. Sep 30, 2015
    10
    Love Late Night with Seth Meyers. I think he is WAY better than Fallon. Fallon is so full on himself especially after the SNL 40thLove Late Night with Seth Meyers. I think he is WAY better than Fallon. Fallon is so full on himself especially after the SNL 40th anniversary. Seth Meyers clearly loves what he does and is humble. I really enjoy his show. Expand
  2. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    If you only watched the first week, try again, as the show has gotten much better. I like his banter from his life, the bit with theIf you only watched the first week, try again, as the show has gotten much better. I like his banter from his life, the bit with the bandleader Fred, and he is a great interviewer. The bits are getting better too, love Fake or Florida. Expand
  3. Apr 25, 2014
    3
    I'm sorry Seth. You just aren't funny on this show. And it really tanks at our house when Fred comes on. We change the channel.
    Whether bad
    I'm sorry Seth. You just aren't funny on this show. And it really tanks at our house when Fred comes on. We change the channel.
    Whether bad writing or nervousness, I don't know. Again really sorry and dissappointed. We will check again in a few months. But for now I need my DVR space for something I can watch without cringing. NOTHING PERSONAL my friend. I was really pulling for you.
    Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2015
    0
    Myers is, of course, unfunny. He has never been funny. He is only in that position or on SNL because he is jewish and part of that cabalMyers is, of course, unfunny. He has never been funny. He is only in that position or on SNL because he is jewish and part of that cabal that controls the entertainment industry for social manipulation purposes. The fact that pitiful Seth Meyers has been chosen for this role just goes to show how small their talent pool really is.

    Of course if you are a mindless sheeple, you aren't going to know wth i'm talking about.
    Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2015
    0
    It's 2015, Seth's not new to Late Night anymore. He's not made for Late Night. The powers that be at NBC 200% made an error in choosing him.It's 2015, Seth's not new to Late Night anymore. He's not made for Late Night. The powers that be at NBC 200% made an error in choosing him. I'm so very tired of hearing his mundane stories about sports or his relationship with his wife. He has such a dry and grating humor that I just want to ignore him. He's lucky to book some interesting guests, it's the only thing keeping me (and I suspect others) watching. I do suspect that his guests cringe a little at the idea of attending his show. Expand
  6. Jan 13, 2015
    0
    Wow! A new benchmark for bad. I can see him read the cards and then he even screws that up. Severely lacking of a personality to carry a showWow! A new benchmark for bad. I can see him read the cards and then he even screws that up. Severely lacking of a personality to carry a show like this. Never laughed, chuckled, nor even smiled once during the show. His artificial smile just adds to his annoyances with his grating high pitched **** laugh. I felt so embarrassed for the horrendous writing of the skits on the show. I will never be tuning in to this show again. I miss my Craig Ferguson. Now there was a guy with a personality who made my face hurt from non stop smiling, laughing, and general guffawing. Not so with Seth. Goodbye Seth. Expand
  7. Oct 24, 2014
    0
    nothing person, but terrible delivery and not funny. fyi, repeating punch lines multiple times does not make it funny. sorry buddy, but thenothing person, but terrible delivery and not funny. fyi, repeating punch lines multiple times does not make it funny. sorry buddy, but the show is really bad, and I was a fan of you during SNL. constructive I hope, good luck. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews