• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 24, 2014
  • Season #: 1
Late Night with Seth Meyers Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Saturday Night Live's Seth Meyers takes over Late Night with Jimmy Fallon's move over to the Tonight Show.
  • Genre(s): Talk & Interview
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Mar 5, 2014
    83
    Meyers seems capable of creating chemistry and having quality chats with anyone, from riding the wild waves of Kanye West to spinning a funny anecdote with pal Brad Paisley about accidentally stealing a Porsche. A talk-show host good at talking? Fancy that.
  2. Reviewed by: David Sims
    Mar 3, 2014
    75
    Fred Armisen is a surprising choice as bandleader, but he brings unequaled improv chops to the table, and his little banter with Seth every night has already proven one of the more reliably funny bits. Integrating him as much as possible is certainly a smart idea. Meyers, like Fallon, is also a more-than-capable interviewer.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Feb 25, 2014
    70
    Mr. Meyers was at ease and disarming in his new role as a talk show host.
  4. 60
    Meyers's first monologue was all down-the-middle one-liners, delivered in the exact "Weekend Update" cadence.... Meyers settled in more once he sat down at his desk.
  5. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 25, 2014
    60
    It was... safe, reasonable, unembarrassing, uninspirational.
  6. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 25, 2014
    50
    Meyers is likable and pleasant, and the first show probably isn't a good indication of what his Late Night will eventually be like. In the early going, though, there isn't much fresh happening there.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 25, 2014
    40
    Virtually nothing about this latest Late Night exhibited a whiff of freshness or originality.... On the plus side, Meyers came across as relaxed and loose, riffing on his show’s micro-budget and acknowledging the jokes that fell flat. The writing, however, simply wasn’t that strong.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 20
  2. Negative: 15 out of 20
  1. Jun 4, 2014
    9
    The reviews for this show are only for the first episode, where sadly the show wasn't that good. But as the show progressed it started gettingThe reviews for this show are only for the first episode, where sadly the show wasn't that good. But as the show progressed it started getting better and better like many other talk shows did (Fallon, Kimmel, Conan, and even Carson). So if you only caught the first episode, try to watch more recent ones because it gets better. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2014
    7
    Seth Meyers is sympathetic and was the best Weekend Update Anchor ever on SNL. I think this Show is simple but very smooth, don´t got all theSeth Meyers is sympathetic and was the best Weekend Update Anchor ever on SNL. I think this Show is simple but very smooth, don´t got all the fake **** as some other Late Nights Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2015
    4
    Maybe it's just bad luck, but I haven't seen an episode from Seth Meyers that managed to hold my interest. He really needs to stop pointingMaybe it's just bad luck, but I haven't seen an episode from Seth Meyers that managed to hold my interest. He really needs to stop pointing out his mistakes. Whenever he mispronounces a word, he goes into a 5 minute rant about how/why it happened. Maybe that's the joke, but I think it's just cringeworthy. Even worse is the long pause he leaves after telling a bad joke... it just painfully points out how bad the joke was. He even waits until someone from the crowd laughs (out of pity) or he just starts talking about how bad he is at some jokes.

    Seth is great at reading from a script, but I just don't think he fits as a talk show host. I love you Seth, I really do. But I just can't get into your show.
    Expand
  4. Aug 13, 2014
    1
    Meyers dissatisfies an audience by lacking in creativity and originality. It seems that the studio audience is laughing due to the awkwardMeyers dissatisfies an audience by lacking in creativity and originality. It seems that the studio audience is laughing due to the awkward nature that Meyers creates, further playing off every single joke and trying to suck it dry. When Meyers presents a monologue joke, he will further play off of that joke, creating an awkward experience and furthermore a non comical episode of of such. Collapse
  5. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had Seth Meyers set up to record on my TV service from the start of new show.I have cancelled that and will never view him again.His constant remarks about enjoying the death by fire of living animals is disgusting,He is not a winner on late night he is not funny nor entertaining.He cannot compare to Jimmy Fallon and I think he will lose his show. If you will notice he only gets second rate guests compared to Jimmy.He is smutty without being clever or funny.When I started looking at Fallon and Meyers late shows I preferred Myers,no more I will never view his show again. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2014
    0
    The worst. Do not watch. If you record he tonight show, be careful, you might see a minute or so of this horrible show. I pity the fool whoThe worst. Do not watch. If you record he tonight show, be careful, you might see a minute or so of this horrible show. I pity the fool who listens to this horrible comic. We are all hoping it gets cancelled very soon.

    What's up with the weird guy from IFC anyway. The music support in this show is horrible, so I wonder why that weird guy takes credit for it. This whole thing is a big question mark. This is the network that knew enough to boot Conan. Come on guys it is time to do it again.
    Expand
  7. Jan 20, 2015
    0
    I have tried to watch this guy, but I just cant. His delivery is so horrible and his jokes are dead. After tonight show, i turn it off becauseI have tried to watch this guy, but I just cant. His delivery is so horrible and his jokes are dead. After tonight show, i turn it off because its not worth it, one positive thing about this show is Fred Armisen. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews