Legend of the Seeker : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 158 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 158

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Aug 22, 2010
    10
    The actors did a great job of acting out a modified version of Wizard's First Rule. For example, Craig Horner (Richard Cypher) couldn't have been more humble or witty than he was the book. Bruce Spence (Zed) also didn't disappoint. He was able to maintain a level of humor and mystery that made his role as Wizard indispensable to the plot. Still, the series would have been meaninglessThe actors did a great job of acting out a modified version of Wizard's First Rule. For example, Craig Horner (Richard Cypher) couldn't have been more humble or witty than he was the book. Bruce Spence (Zed) also didn't disappoint. He was able to maintain a level of humor and mystery that made his role as Wizard indispensable to the plot. Still, the series would have been meaningless without the stellar performances of Bridget Regan (Kahlan) and Tabrett Bethell (Cara). To be honest, I thought Tabrett was a much better actor. I always thought her reactions and emotions were much more convincing than Bridget's. In sum, it was an excellent series replete with suspense, great fantasy action, and memorable moments. Remember, don't judge it for not following the book to the t. Enjoy it while considering they had to modify the storyline to accommodate a tight budget and younger audiences. Expand
  2. Dawn
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I am enjoying it. The script is interesting and well written. Craig Horner is a very likable Richard and Kahlan makes you forget she's acting. The episodes have story in them thats not in the books, but the general plot is rolling along same as the series. It's kind of nice to see more adventures of theirs along the road.
  3. JonathanW
    Feb 4, 2009
    8
    Although the show is very loosely based upon the Sword of Truth series of books, I really enjoy it and look forward to watching it every weekend.
  4. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Slow start and the acting in the first season is sub par but the second season is where LotS really starts to take off. Plot is more intense, acting greatly improves, and the introduction of Tabrett Bethell (Cara) bring this show to a whole new level. Tabrett Bethell (Cara) quickly became my favorite character and really filled the missing piece for me that made this show as enjoyable asSlow start and the acting in the first season is sub par but the second season is where LotS really starts to take off. Plot is more intense, acting greatly improves, and the introduction of Tabrett Bethell (Cara) bring this show to a whole new level. Tabrett Bethell (Cara) quickly became my favorite character and really filled the missing piece for me that made this show as enjoyable as it was. It is really a shame that most of the critic reviews are based on the first few episodes of the show instead of watching it through. 54 is not a fair score for this wonderful and entertaining show. Just push past the first season and get ready to enjoy the second as it is far and above better than the first.

    Be sure to try and watch the show on a big screen with surround sound. This show has some great elements from other iconic movies and shows (The Matrix, 300, etc) and a nice entertainment center really helps make this show shine.

    Hope you enjoy the show as much as I did. Here's to hoping the 3rd season magically will happen!
    Expand
  5. Sep 10, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved this show even though I ended up watching after it was done! The characters, the actors, and the plot totally took me in. The adventures in the show are surprising and not all fluff. The relationship between Kahlan and Ricard is heart breaking, enticing and romantic. The different plot twists and turns keep you at the edge of your seat the whole time. Any scifi or fantasy fan should give the show a try! Try out this show and don't let it die out! If you become a fan help in the fight for season 3! Expand
  6. kevinb
    Mar 24, 2010
    10
    This show is great. The characters have great chemistry. It has lots of action and suspenseful moments. As the episodes go on the show gets better and better. The shows are more on the serious side but they do throw some humor in there every so often. Hopefully they can have more shows with more humor. The episode called Princess was the funniest one yet! There is nothing else on TV like it!
  7. D.San
    Dec 8, 2009
    9
    If u like the story of a man chosen to destroy evil in medieval lands, facing a new evil every episode, you would like this show, the story doesn't get stretchy neither are the episodes monotonous. A good change for those of you who are bored of your current shows. Actors are pretty good, and by that I mean in looks and makeup, I wouldn't know about acting as i am not an actor, If u like the story of a man chosen to destroy evil in medieval lands, facing a new evil every episode, you would like this show, the story doesn't get stretchy neither are the episodes monotonous. A good change for those of you who are bored of your current shows. Actors are pretty good, and by that I mean in looks and makeup, I wouldn't know about acting as i am not an actor, but if you still ask me, not bad! Expand
  8. kessc
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    The season got better and darker towards the mid-season.
  9. PS
    Dec 6, 2009
    8
    Solid show, good acting/effects/storyline. Gets better as it goes along, looking forward to where the show is headed
  10. DavidPace
    Jan 4, 2009
    10
    This is a great show. I hope you keep it on.
  11. MattH
    Feb 2, 2009
    8
    After having watched the first 11 episodes of the season so far, i have to admit that the characters are really beginning to develop. The philosophy that Goodkind includes throughout the story is extremely deep and really brings to life the story. I have read every book and although this might make me biased, i am extremely happy to see the chemistry that Craig and Bridget have on film. After having watched the first 11 episodes of the season so far, i have to admit that the characters are really beginning to develop. The philosophy that Goodkind includes throughout the story is extremely deep and really brings to life the story. I have read every book and although this might make me biased, i am extremely happy to see the chemistry that Craig and Bridget have on film. Both of them read the Wizards First Rule and in my opinion are bringing the story to life with their impossible love story. I agree that at first i was very tentative about liking the show because the pilot deviated so far from the books. But once you let that go and really delve into the deeper substance of the show, you can see Goodkind's work very clearly. 11 Episodes in and i can't wait for the rest. Sure it has its ups and downs, but i think that anyone who loves the books, loves a good love story, or simply enjoys a great epic fantasy will like the show. These characters will always stick with me and i'm happy that Craig, Bridget, and Bruce are bringing them to life. I also agree with Matt B that the characters will develop and mature as the show continues. Most of these posts were simply after the pilot, and i'm curious to see how people react now that the season is mid way through. I'm loving it and i hope you are too. Take Care. Expand
  12. MikkoP
    Jan 14, 2010
    8
    Compared to Xena and Hercules - it have continuous background story, more realistic shades of gray consequences and moral choices - and it is not comedy show (big plus). Actors are doing good work inside story / scripts limits
  13. FishFishman
    Nov 11, 2008
    10
    Somewhat disappointing that it doesn't follow the books very close, but wonderful in its own right. I'm enjoying the fact that it don't know how the episodes are going to end because they are different from the books. Props all around.
  14. AnthonyB.
    Nov 15, 2008
    9
    Ok, the critics are comparing this to LOTR? What about comparing it to Sword of Truth? I am biased, because I love the books. A hero that stands for what is righteous and just, in a sword and sorcery setting, if you enjoy that kind of story, then you will love this show.
  15. BrettT.
    Nov 2, 2008
    10
    I have read every book and am a committed fan of this series. The show exceeded my expectations completely. It was amazingly written and casted. Believe me those of you who are new to the story, follow along, it is the greatest story I have ever read. For those of you who do not know, this story has is a 12 book series with about 10,000 pages of intensity, creativity, love, romance, I have read every book and am a committed fan of this series. The show exceeded my expectations completely. It was amazingly written and casted. Believe me those of you who are new to the story, follow along, it is the greatest story I have ever read. For those of you who do not know, this story has is a 12 book series with about 10,000 pages of intensity, creativity, love, romance, passion, fear, violence, hatred, devastation and redemption. Watch this series and it will be rewarding to say the least. Legend of the seeker went a bit off track from the book but kept the overall direction. Due to the length of this book, the story will have to be altered bit, but the changes were necessary and captivating. Kudos to all the creators of this show I am a huge fan. Expand
  16. CharF
    Dec 1, 2008
    10
    I am a long time fan of the Sword of Truth books, and really love the series, so far.
  17. tomM
    Dec 17, 2008
    8
    I'm definately bias, the books where phenominal. The characters and messages alone were more than what is offered here in life. But the show has to many changes, not enough novel bulk. Not to mention the pace was sacraficed for anything but quality. The actors have the potential to grow into thier parts. But, without trying they may not fill those honerable, vast shoes. As far as a I'm definately bias, the books where phenominal. The characters and messages alone were more than what is offered here in life. But the show has to many changes, not enough novel bulk. Not to mention the pace was sacraficed for anything but quality. The actors have the potential to grow into thier parts. But, without trying they may not fill those honerable, vast shoes. As far as a comparison goes, LOTR was garbage by the third movie. The oppisite is true about the Sword of truth. It progressively expands to an amazing, rich story. Sure to be apart of genrations for years to come. It's a good read compared to a good movie. Lotr has already became a tabletop or vidoe game. With that being it's peek. At least with this the novels are superior to the screen value, not vice verca. It has a chance and we should give it one. Besides, what's that leave us with..? A terrible flock of reality shows. Or one of the hundred, god-aweful c.s.i.'s. How about repeats of something half way older than most of it's viewers. At the very least keep an open mind. Let's see where it goes. Expand
  18. DavidW
    Jan 13, 2009
    10
    The series starts off slow, like the books - but as of episode 7 & 8 - it really has started to get into the meat of the first book and can't wait for the next episodes! This is by FAR the best fantasy series on TV right now and in my opinion quickly becoming my favorite and best fantasy TV show in the past 30 years. If you haven't seen it, watch it on HULU as all the episodes The series starts off slow, like the books - but as of episode 7 & 8 - it really has started to get into the meat of the first book and can't wait for the next episodes! This is by FAR the best fantasy series on TV right now and in my opinion quickly becoming my favorite and best fantasy TV show in the past 30 years. If you haven't seen it, watch it on HULU as all the episodes are currently available for free to watch - you owe it to yourself if you enjoyed the novels or fantasy in general. If you don't believe it follows the books closely enough or at all (then you must have also stopped watching the show), read what Terry Goodkind has to say about it as it put all my worries to rest. If this show dies, it will be seen as the next "Firefly" for us Sci-Fi lovers. Expand
  19. RobertD
    Jan 19, 2009
    8
    Terry Goodkind's books are one of few series that i was always eagerly waiting for the next book...sometimes impatiently. The tv series...while not exactly to the books are very enjoyable and have tried to capture some of the philosophy Mr. Goodkind's work portrayed. If they build upon those lines i think the series has a future. Stay true to the story as written.
  20. JayB
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    i have read majority of the books, and c'mon, this series is awesome. so what if it doesnt stay true with the books, if it did it would have become very predictable in every episode and very dry in creativity. If your a fan of the scifi/fantasy genre, and you are somewhat intrested in watching it, go for it....i would personally recommend watching the entire season within a time span i have read majority of the books, and c'mon, this series is awesome. so what if it doesnt stay true with the books, if it did it would have become very predictable in every episode and very dry in creativity. If your a fan of the scifi/fantasy genre, and you are somewhat intrested in watching it, go for it....i would personally recommend watching the entire season within a time span of no longer then one week though, since only watching one show per week would have been like eating only one cheese it out of the cheese it box...hehe Expand
  21. ZH
    May 24, 2009
    9
    Very entertaining show. Although it is different than the books in MANY ways, I feel the show is a good watch. The only 3 things I would even attempt to watch besides this are Fox Saturday Afternoon Baseball or Iron Chef America. This show is much more entertaining than either of them. I will admit that the show started off extremely weak. But after watching more episodes it picked up Very entertaining show. Although it is different than the books in MANY ways, I feel the show is a good watch. The only 3 things I would even attempt to watch besides this are Fox Saturday Afternoon Baseball or Iron Chef America. This show is much more entertaining than either of them. I will admit that the show started off extremely weak. But after watching more episodes it picked up speed. It ended on a high point, and the entire season as a whole was quite good. Expand
  22. ElginW.
    Nov 12, 2008
    7
    I'm a fan of Xena and Hercules, this show doesn't live up to them yet, but it's still a pretty good show.
  23. MattB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    9
    I for one am a huge fan of the series Sword of Truth and "truth" be told I appreciate the written work right next to Tokien and G. Martin. The show has GREAT production value and the acting is a little amateurish at parts but so was this first book "Wizards First Rule" in the series. I know that the actors will mature into their parts since the writing did, besides there is no indication I for one am a huge fan of the series Sword of Truth and "truth" be told I appreciate the written work right next to Tokien and G. Martin. The show has GREAT production value and the acting is a little amateurish at parts but so was this first book "Wizards First Rule" in the series. I know that the actors will mature into their parts since the writing did, besides there is no indication that they are incompetent just unpracticed. The jump between the first book and the second, "The Stone of Tears" was enormous as far as emotional ties and entertainment go. Goodkind puts in most cases, the philosophy first in his books. That is probably by far why I find them so valuable. This first season is based entirely upon a screen adaptation of the first book Goodkind wrote but it is far from his best. I truly hope this show gets the credit and attention it deserves later on because I already know the material and Im sure most critics haven't read deeper into the storyline than I have. Its a beautiful tale with REAL characters who make decisions based on thought out and meaningful philosophy. There are messages littered all over Goodkinds work and they are the best parts of it. The object/name "Sword of Truth" itself screams placement for purpose. I just hope that the screen adaptation carries that philosophy far enough to matter and make an impact. There is nothing in it that someone who is paying attention shouldn't find valuable. Wait for the story and characters to mature people don't just blatantly give a show a 5 out of 10 especially if you watch one episode and don't even read the material its based on... lol I just cant help but laugh at that, I have no respect for those people. Expand
  24. BrandonS.
    Nov 3, 2008
    7
    I thought this was pretty good, actually. I'm a fan of Hercules and Xena, and even more so of Raime's Evil Dead movies. Being very much a "fantasy genre" show, it does fall into a lot of goofy fantasy cliches, but I think we're in for a pretty cool adventure show.
  25. dawnw
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    I have read all the books and love them, (read them several times). And yes I love the show, as the, powers that be, put it the show is based on the books and was meant to go in a slightly different direction. Which makes the I wonder what would happen if Richard, Kalan, or Zedd followed this fork. The start of season 2 was great!
  26. KS
    Jan 13, 2009
    9
    Extremely entertaining, and fun. Good action scenes.
  27. SethG
    Jan 16, 2009
    8
    I was actually disgusted when I watched the pilot because I said "how could they mess up such a great story", but once I told myself that this a TV show BASED on the books, and let me self relax into the characters, I found the experience to be very enjoying. Being broadcast in HD and great production definitely doesn't hurt either. Is it what I envisioned when I read the Sword of I was actually disgusted when I watched the pilot because I said "how could they mess up such a great story", but once I told myself that this a TV show BASED on the books, and let me self relax into the characters, I found the experience to be very enjoying. Being broadcast in HD and great production definitely doesn't hurt either. Is it what I envisioned when I read the Sword of Truth, no. Is it a fun show to watch, you bet! Besides, I can always go read the books for a 3rd or fourth time! Expand
  28. Warlok
    Nov 7, 2009
    10
    Great show in the producers version which most people donot seem to understand here. As for you critics... DUH! Quit watching something yo donot like. I find the so-called professional critics to be dumber than what they are criticizing. Anyways, a very entertaining show. Beats the heck out of Harry Potter that so many like. The only misclassed wizard that flies on a broom. Thats a kids Great show in the producers version which most people donot seem to understand here. As for you critics... DUH! Quit watching something yo donot like. I find the so-called professional critics to be dumber than what they are criticizing. Anyways, a very entertaining show. Beats the heck out of Harry Potter that so many like. The only misclassed wizard that flies on a broom. Thats a kids show anyways. Highly recommend Legend of the Seekr and its great entertainment for those that understand these types of films. ~Warlok~ Expand
  29. RichS
    Jan 31, 2009
    9
    I think the series is underrated by both critics and people. I personally feel this series is great, and that people must surpass their rigid feelings of how it should be exactly like the book and realize that it's never the case. The series from what I have seen, has a good story and although is not like the book, it still has its own quality to it. The scenery is fitting and I think the series is underrated by both critics and people. I personally feel this series is great, and that people must surpass their rigid feelings of how it should be exactly like the book and realize that it's never the case. The series from what I have seen, has a good story and although is not like the book, it still has its own quality to it. The scenery is fitting and beautiful, the cast seems to be getting better every episode, and fleshing out their characters more as time goes on. When something is supposed to follow a story, the beginning of the series is basically the underlying concept of what to expect things in the future, therefore it's hard to rate a show by the first couple of episodes. I will say that you should keep watching the show before judging it from the first couple of episodes and see how it comes along, you may be in for a surprise, I know that it's very enjoyable, and since the turn of the century there hasn't been a show similar to it. Expand
  30. RC
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    Having not read the books on which the series is based, I can't say whether the show is faithful/not faithful to the characters, plot, etc. That said, this is probably my new favorite show. Yes, the pilot and the first few episodes were a little rough, but as the series progressed, the character interactions and plot deepened. I'm on episode 12 right now (watching online), but I Having not read the books on which the series is based, I can't say whether the show is faithful/not faithful to the characters, plot, etc. That said, this is probably my new favorite show. Yes, the pilot and the first few episodes were a little rough, but as the series progressed, the character interactions and plot deepened. I'm on episode 12 right now (watching online), but I can't wait to see the rest of season 1 (and start season 2 this November!!). Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Big on style but more challenged in terms of substance, Seeker demonstrates much production savvy but at the same time too little provocative/evocative interaction aside from the ultra-violent kind.
  2. 50
    A new syndicated series that is like the illegitimate love child of "Lord of the Rings" and a weekend role player.
  3. The premise is pretty standard Joseph Campbell, journey of the hero stuff, but the execution is poor.