• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Legit Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An Australian comic named Jim (Jim Jefferies) seeks to make it in Los Angeles with the support of his best friend Steve (Dan Bakkedahl) and Steve's brother Billy (D.J. Qualls).
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 16, 2013
    91
    It's coarse and sometimes dirty to the touch, but pretty damned hilarious at crunch times. FX just might have the standout new comedy series of this season.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 16, 2013
    83
    It's a charming series that feels like it has a lot of potential for growth, and not just because its main character has nowhere to go but up.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 16, 2013
    80
    The show has a scruffy, adolescent sweetness with a seeming insensitivity to people with physical disabilities that ultimately feels quite sensitive.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 15, 2013
    75
    Extremely raunchy, and often quite funny.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 17, 2013
    70
    Jefferies' comedy is by turn smart, obvious, thoughtful and irritating, and quite as much may be said of his series--though his stage demeanor (loud, brash and in control) is softened considerably here by dint of his being a character living among other characters.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 16, 2013
    70
    Legit proves periodically funny, and oddly charming. And as elusive as both of those qualities are in primetime, that alone makes it too legit to quit.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jan 16, 2013
    12
    The series is a nearly unbearable assemblage of recycled sitcom plots that aims to spotlight Jefferies's specific breed of unashamedly mean-spirited witticisms.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    I had heard about Jim Jeffries from other comics but I have never seen his stand up. He was on a podcast and they talked about his show, Legit of course, and I was willing to give it a try.

    I think it is brilliant. I sure hope he is getting the ratings necessary for the network to sign him for another season or three.
    Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    What an edgy politically incorrect show on every level. But it's honest with heart and raw emotions. Love Jim. Great supporting cast with Dan, DJ, and Mindy. They bring it all to a level of heart, soul, love and hilarity!!!! Give this show time to grow. Can't wait to see what else Jim's life is all about. Expand
  3. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    So yeah, This show is honestly phenomenal. The writing is fantastic and the jokes are right on target. This will be one of those shows people need to watch Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I LOVE THIS SHOW! and I LOVE DJ QUALLS!!! I feel like the first episode Jim was getting his feet wet, but I have seen his stand up (Sweat to God being my favorite) and he is THE BEST STAND UP I HAVE EVER SEEN! IF the show follows the stories in his standup, which I read that it would, than this show is going to be the best ever. In the Pilot DJ was amazing! I think that guy is a great actor, and with him, and Jim's natural ability to be just completely wrong and hilarious, this show is going to be awesome. Not many comedians are story tellers but I think that's what i would classify Jim's stand up as. SO we are in for a funny ride! Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    This show is great fresh,funny, lovable with a titillating edge that makes you want more, I cant wait till next week to see what adventure they will come up with Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2013
    9
    A gross comedy, with a conscience. The show is primarily about Jim Jeffery's helping his 32 year old friends brother with muscular dystrophy. This is definitely the funniest show FX ha done since Wilfred. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    "don't mind him, he's Australian" .... wow.. just wow.. I'm Australian myself and I don't think I personally know anyone who would act like the main character does in this show. The cliché jokes used in the first episode were terrible, it was as if the writer didn't think it was worth trying anything new. The whole show seemed like a bad example of how comedy should be done and anyone thinking this is anything like Louie will be sorely disappointed. Collapse

See all 32 User Reviews