• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 17, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Legit Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An Australian comic named Jim (Jim Jefferies) seeks to make it in Los Angeles with the support of his best friend Steve (Dan Bakkedahl) and Steve's brother Billy (D.J. Qualls).
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 16, 2013
    91
    It's coarse and sometimes dirty to the touch, but pretty damned hilarious at crunch times. FX just might have the standout new comedy series of this season.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 16, 2013
    83
    It's a charming series that feels like it has a lot of potential for growth, and not just because its main character has nowhere to go but up.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 16, 2013
    80
    The show has a scruffy, adolescent sweetness with a seeming insensitivity to people with physical disabilities that ultimately feels quite sensitive.
  4. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 15, 2013
    75
    Extremely raunchy, and often quite funny.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 17, 2013
    70
    Jefferies' comedy is by turn smart, obvious, thoughtful and irritating, and quite as much may be said of his series--though his stage demeanor (loud, brash and in control) is softened considerably here by dint of his being a character living among other characters.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 16, 2013
    70
    Legit proves periodically funny, and oddly charming. And as elusive as both of those qualities are in primetime, that alone makes it too legit to quit.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Jan 16, 2013
    12
    The series is a nearly unbearable assemblage of recycled sitcom plots that aims to spotlight Jefferies's specific breed of unashamedly mean-spirited witticisms.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Great show! I had been looking forward to seeing this pilot, although it wasn't advertised very much, I just happen to be a Jim Jefferies fan so I was very excited to see his new tv show! It didn't disappoint! Hilarious with a heartwarming sensitive to it. Love the combo of Dan Bakkedahl and Jim and Dj qualls - great chemistry. Looking forward to episode 2 on thursday! Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    What an edgy politically incorrect show on every level. But it's honest with heart and raw emotions. Love Jim. Great supporting cast with Dan, DJ, and Mindy. They bring it all to a level of heart, soul, love and hilarity!!!! Give this show time to grow. Can't wait to see what else Jim's life is all about. Collapse
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    This show is so politically incorrect b/c its so true. The characters speak loud and clear that we are flawed, non perfect creatures that have heart and valid emotions that motivate our existence; This represents all of us. I laughed, was a little embarrassed at times and I was left with a poignant tear at the end. Great job. Great show. Look forward to seeing more. Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Great Pilot Episode! Can't wait to see more from Jim Jefferies. There is nothing like this on TV right now and it's refreshing and risky. FX continues to produce cutting edge comedy that pushes the boundaries of modern day television. Thank you. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    I had to check out Jim Jefferies
  6. Jan 22, 2013
    9
    Very funny,very hip. and very human. Will watch the series to see what kind of situations these three get into and out of. Have recommended it to all my friends. Expand
  7. Jan 19, 2013
    0
    "don't mind him, he's Australian" .... wow.. just wow.. I'm Australian myself and I don't think I personally know anyone who would act like the main character does in this show. The cliché jokes used in the first episode were terrible, it was as if the writer didn't think it was worth trying anything new. The whole show seemed like a bad example of how comedy should be done and anyone thinking this is anything like Louie will be sorely disappointed. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews