Lewis Black's Root of All Evil : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 49
  2. Negative: 23 out of 49

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. ClaudioC
    Mar 30, 2008
    2
    Very disappointing show. Lewis Black has sold out for another comedy central failure. p.s. The audience isnt laughing half the time.
  2. BobB.
    Apr 10, 2008
    3
    This show has it's rare moments, most often in the somewhat better produced video segments, but on the whole it suffers from the feeling that it's all terribly rehearsed. Even Lewis Black, a comedian with a penchant for perfect and genius timing, feels hackneyed and contrived delivering the well-worn and uninspired dialogue. And if we can expect mediocrity and dead-pan from him, This show has it's rare moments, most often in the somewhat better produced video segments, but on the whole it suffers from the feeling that it's all terribly rehearsed. Even Lewis Black, a comedian with a penchant for perfect and genius timing, feels hackneyed and contrived delivering the well-worn and uninspired dialogue. And if we can expect mediocrity and dead-pan from him, the comedians are even more redundant, unfunny, and generally obnoxious and grating, making this show generally a chore to sit through. Not even adequate as a mild diversion, skip it if there's ANYTHING else on. Expand
  3. BryanD.
    Mar 13, 2008
    3
    A simple rehashing of the same material we've seen for years. A novel delivery system that seems to fall short at delivering the witty and insightful commentary I've come to expect from Black.
  4. Christina
    Apr 2, 2008
    1
    not funny and it SUCKS
  5. MaxW.
    Apr 5, 2008
    1
    I wanted to like this show, but it was anything but expected. The laugh track is annoying, the "comedians" who plead their cases have over-rehearsed and lost their humor, and Lewis Black fails to shine in this format. I'll be surprised if it lasts a whole season. What are the critics thinking? This show stinks.
  6. ScottP
    Apr 9, 2008
    0
    It takes incredibly bone-headed production and horrific stilted writing to mix 3 great comedians (tonight it was Lewis Black, Patton Oswalt, and Greg Giraldo) and end up with a big bowl of crap. The laugh track will set your teeth on edge, the show has an incredibly stiff, anti-spontaneous flow, and Lewis Black just seems tired and old. The best indicator of the lack of comedy in this It takes incredibly bone-headed production and horrific stilted writing to mix 3 great comedians (tonight it was Lewis Black, Patton Oswalt, and Greg Giraldo) and end up with a big bowl of crap. The laugh track will set your teeth on edge, the show has an incredibly stiff, anti-spontaneous flow, and Lewis Black just seems tired and old. The best indicator of the lack of comedy in this 30-minute disaster is the actual (not recorded) studio audience - they barely move, never smile, and rarely clap... all in odd contradistinction to the zany 70's canned laughter. The worst show on Comedy Central since... well, since the last new show, Lil' Bush. Expand
  7. JaredF.
    Jul 2, 2008
    0
    a mostly dull show, it is on at rathr late times and provides alot of dry humor.
  8. Blackie
    Mar 14, 2008
    3
    Pitiful. Not only is it stale material, it is a super obnixous format. The laugh track is just painful, and is also not done well--there were parts where the canned laughter was roaring but if you looked at the audience they sat stone faced. I am a huge Lewis Black fan, but this is just cheap, stupid pandering and it insults the intellegence of Black's usual audience.
  9. AnitaD.
    Mar 18, 2008
    3
    So disappointing. I love Lewis Black's comedy, but this was too little Lewis and too much strained comedy. Maybe week 2 will be better; I'll give it another chance.
  10. JGM
    Mar 20, 2008
    2
    A 74 for this clunker makes you wonder what they feed these critics. Painfully unfunny, pointlessly loud, and featuring an obnoxious laugh track, this is a throwback to the bad old days of cable comedy.
  11. Justin
    Apr 14, 2008
    0
    Makes me miss Tough Crowd with Colin Quinn. Over rehearsed and the laugh track is annoying. Seems like the critics will eat up anything related to the Daily Show.
  12. CollinK
    Apr 22, 2008
    0
    Not funny at all, the audience has straight faces most of the time even while the laugh track is playing. It feels really fake and i never laughed once. Lewis Black has sold out.
  13. x'tt
    Apr 30, 2008
    0
    What a perfect example of packaging ruining what could have been something great. The idea is nice -- arguing and debate, but why do we have to laugh every 10 seconds? I swear I've never seen a show with such stupid over-use of laugh tracks. It would be much more amusing without the fake laugh tracks!
  14. johnj.
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    Horrible will be canceled after the second episode this should be on fox news not comedy central.
  15. EvanS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    3
    Extremely disappointing.
  16. MM
    Mar 19, 2008
    2
    Give us more Lewis Black, not these other wiseguys. Not funny!
  17. JasonS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    3
    Lewis Black is a fantastic stand up and his segments on the Daily Show are great. Unfortunately this show is a complete turkey. Oh well, maybe after this is cancelled they'll find a better vehicle for him.
  18. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    Lewis Black is a great comedian but this show just wasnt interesting. It was just so boring and most of the times the comedians (used to represent 1 of 2 subjects on the show) were not that funny. A ton of wasted potential if you ask me.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    67
    The debaters make the most of this arbittary contretemps, but Black is a weak link. [14 Mar 2008, p.71]
  2. Black, a thinking-man's blowhard, carries the concept off with shameless aplomb, while his debating helpers are equal parts witty and wise.
  3. Depending on the subjects mocked and viewers' personal sacred cows, Root of All Evil won't appeal to everyone on a weekly basis (future episodes include Donald Trump vs. Viagra, Paris Hilton vs. Dick Cheney and Las Vegas vs. the human body), but it is a successful attempt to re-package stand-up comedy for prime time.