Lewis Black's Root of All Evil : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2
User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 49
  2. Negative: 23 out of 49

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 9, 2011
    2
    Lewis Black is a great comedian but this show just wasnt interesting. It was just so boring and most of the times the comedians (used to represent 1 of 2 subjects on the show) were not that funny. A ton of wasted potential if you ask me.
  2. Timma???
    Aug 16, 2009
    8
    No doubt Lewis Black's stand up genius is all but absent in this show, which is a true disappointed. And some of the episodes are flat out terrible. But there are also some hilarious ones. It often depends on the comedian advocates. Greg Giraldo or Patton Oswalt usually mean you can expect a good show. The performance certain others has been... lacking. As another reviewer touched No doubt Lewis Black's stand up genius is all but absent in this show, which is a true disappointed. And some of the episodes are flat out terrible. But there are also some hilarious ones. It often depends on the comedian advocates. Greg Giraldo or Patton Oswalt usually mean you can expect a good show. The performance certain others has been... lacking. As another reviewer touched on, check out the different episodes. You will get a sense very quickly as to whether or not it will be a good one. Collapse
  3. DavidV.
    Jul 22, 2008
    4
    It needs more Lewis. As others have pointed out I too hate how the audience is dead while there is a laughtrack running. Gets cloying but Lewis manages to save the show at the end...barely.
  4. JaredF.
    Jul 2, 2008
    0
    a mostly dull show, it is on at rathr late times and provides alot of dry humor.
  5. ArnieH.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    This show is hilarious---Black, and his two comic advocates put on a trial that is as witty, smart and fearless---thsi stuff goes into Bil Hicks territory and I can give no greater compliment.
  6. x'tt
    Apr 30, 2008
    0
    What a perfect example of packaging ruining what could have been something great. The idea is nice -- arguing and debate, but why do we have to laugh every 10 seconds? I swear I've never seen a show with such stupid over-use of laugh tracks. It would be much more amusing without the fake laugh tracks!
  7. CrimsonwW.
    Apr 28, 2008
    9
    This show is funny!They make a point not scared to say the truth about crap.
  8. TheShade
    Apr 25, 2008
    7
    The material doesn't always work, but when it does it leaves me breathless with laughter. It's well worth checking out each new episode, though I strongly suspect that the whole conceit will wear thin before long, even if it has a decent size audience. Check it out while you can.
  9. CollinK
    Apr 22, 2008
    0
    Not funny at all, the audience has straight faces most of the time even while the laugh track is playing. It feels really fake and i never laughed once. Lewis Black has sold out.
  10. RickT.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    This show is horrible. Great talent wasted on horrible and rehearsed jokes. They need to bring back Tough Crowd w/ Colin Quinn.
  11. Justin
    Apr 14, 2008
    0
    Makes me miss Tough Crowd with Colin Quinn. Over rehearsed and the laugh track is annoying. Seems like the critics will eat up anything related to the Daily Show.
  12. BobB.
    Apr 10, 2008
    3
    This show has it's rare moments, most often in the somewhat better produced video segments, but on the whole it suffers from the feeling that it's all terribly rehearsed. Even Lewis Black, a comedian with a penchant for perfect and genius timing, feels hackneyed and contrived delivering the well-worn and uninspired dialogue. And if we can expect mediocrity and dead-pan from him, This show has it's rare moments, most often in the somewhat better produced video segments, but on the whole it suffers from the feeling that it's all terribly rehearsed. Even Lewis Black, a comedian with a penchant for perfect and genius timing, feels hackneyed and contrived delivering the well-worn and uninspired dialogue. And if we can expect mediocrity and dead-pan from him, the comedians are even more redundant, unfunny, and generally obnoxious and grating, making this show generally a chore to sit through. Not even adequate as a mild diversion, skip it if there's ANYTHING else on. Expand
  13. ScottP
    Apr 9, 2008
    0
    It takes incredibly bone-headed production and horrific stilted writing to mix 3 great comedians (tonight it was Lewis Black, Patton Oswalt, and Greg Giraldo) and end up with a big bowl of crap. The laugh track will set your teeth on edge, the show has an incredibly stiff, anti-spontaneous flow, and Lewis Black just seems tired and old. The best indicator of the lack of comedy in this It takes incredibly bone-headed production and horrific stilted writing to mix 3 great comedians (tonight it was Lewis Black, Patton Oswalt, and Greg Giraldo) and end up with a big bowl of crap. The laugh track will set your teeth on edge, the show has an incredibly stiff, anti-spontaneous flow, and Lewis Black just seems tired and old. The best indicator of the lack of comedy in this 30-minute disaster is the actual (not recorded) studio audience - they barely move, never smile, and rarely clap... all in odd contradistinction to the zany 70's canned laughter. The worst show on Comedy Central since... well, since the last new show, Lil' Bush. Expand
  14. [Anonymous]
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    I give this show a ten only because it deserves better then the 5.3 it is currently rated. people on here either give it a 1 or a ten which is very accurate. I believe this show is a success. While some of the joke are old, they are funny. (unlike comedy centrals latest failure little bush) Lewis black is a great comedian, and this show was not a let down. Which is a good change being as I give this show a ten only because it deserves better then the 5.3 it is currently rated. people on here either give it a 1 or a ten which is very accurate. I believe this show is a success. While some of the joke are old, they are funny. (unlike comedy centrals latest failure little bush) Lewis black is a great comedian, and this show was not a let down. Which is a good change being as they haven't has a success since the Colbert report. overall i would give this show an 8. Expand
  15. MaxW.
    Apr 5, 2008
    1
    I wanted to like this show, but it was anything but expected. The laugh track is annoying, the "comedians" who plead their cases have over-rehearsed and lost their humor, and Lewis Black fails to shine in this format. I'll be surprised if it lasts a whole season. What are the critics thinking? This show stinks.
  16. RonnyR.
    Apr 5, 2008
    10
    This show is Love it or Hate it. I think it's funny
  17. Christina
    Apr 2, 2008
    1
    not funny and it SUCKS
  18. CodyW.
    Mar 31, 2008
    9
    What's with all the 3 or 10 votes!? I think this show is hilarious, and I don't get all the 3 votes. It combines3 funny and vulgar comedians debating on hilarious subject matter. I've watched about 3 or 4 episodes, and every one has been great.
  19. ClaudioC
    Mar 30, 2008
    2
    Very disappointing show. Lewis Black has sold out for another comedy central failure. p.s. The audience isnt laughing half the time.
  20. JasonS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    3
    Lewis Black is a fantastic stand up and his segments on the Daily Show are great. Unfortunately this show is a complete turkey. Oh well, maybe after this is cancelled they'll find a better vehicle for him.
  21. MsGreen
    Mar 24, 2008
    8
    I think the show is hilarious, yeah we've seem some of the material before. But what other programming is coming up with truly orignal ideas? I can't think of one.
  22. MiguelX
    Mar 23, 2008
    6
    Overall pretty funny, but that laugh track is horrible!! I can't believe Black would allow something as cheesy as that to be used.
  23. JGM
    Mar 20, 2008
    2
    A 74 for this clunker makes you wonder what they feed these critics. Painfully unfunny, pointlessly loud, and featuring an obnoxious laugh track, this is a throwback to the bad old days of cable comedy.
  24. MM
    Mar 19, 2008
    2
    Give us more Lewis Black, not these other wiseguys. Not funny!
  25. AnitaD.
    Mar 18, 2008
    3
    So disappointing. I love Lewis Black's comedy, but this was too little Lewis and too much strained comedy. Maybe week 2 will be better; I'll give it another chance.
  26. NeeaghA
    Mar 15, 2008
    10
    Phuni.
  27. Blackie
    Mar 14, 2008
    3
    Pitiful. Not only is it stale material, it is a super obnixous format. The laugh track is just painful, and is also not done well--there were parts where the canned laughter was roaring but if you looked at the audience they sat stone faced. I am a huge Lewis Black fan, but this is just cheap, stupid pandering and it insults the intellegence of Black's usual audience.
  28. AJN.
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    This show is funny as hell, but if you are really sensitive to religious jokes or very rude humor you might not like it.
  29. BryanD.
    Mar 13, 2008
    3
    A simple rehashing of the same material we've seen for years. A novel delivery system that seems to fall short at delivering the witty and insightful commentary I've come to expect from Black.
  30. EvanS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    3
    Extremely disappointing.
  31. BrianK.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    I thought the show was a riot and I'm looking forward to future shows.
  32. johnj.
    Mar 12, 2008
    0
    Horrible will be canceled after the second episode this should be on fox news not comedy central.
  33. Meabarr
    Mar 12, 2008
    4
    The show was mediocre at best, I never laughed out loud, and I found that a lot of the jokes seemed forced or subdued. Plus the audience seemed like it was being forced to laugh or clap.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Staff (Not Credited)
    67
    The debaters make the most of this arbittary contretemps, but Black is a weak link. [14 Mar 2008, p.71]
  2. Black, a thinking-man's blowhard, carries the concept off with shameless aplomb, while his debating helpers are equal parts witty and wise.
  3. Depending on the subjects mocked and viewers' personal sacred cows, Root of All Evil won't appeal to everyone on a weekly basis (future episodes include Donald Trump vs. Viagra, Paris Hilton vs. Dick Cheney and Las Vegas vs. the human body), but it is a successful attempt to re-package stand-up comedy for prime time.