• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 21, 2009
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Creator: Samuel Baum
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: May 9, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 90
    Lie to Me seems an unusually meaty, thoughtful and thought-provoking crime drama--another police procedural, yes, but one with a dramatic and mesmerizing difference. The strength of the premise combined with first-class production make this easily one of the season's best new shows.
  2. There is an appealing cheekiness to the show’s insistence on dressing up hunch work as the purview of serious science.
  3. Lie to Me comes out of the box strong, and it's especially encouraging that the cases at hand and the science used in the first hour is compelling enough that Roth's character (based on Paul Ekman, a real-life expert on lying and microexpressions, among other things) can evolve more slowly.
  4. 70
    Lie to Me, based on the real-life lie-detection work of Dr. Paul Ekman, doesn't extend much beyond its genre's borders. But if you're fascinated by the poker-game elements of crime-solving and a man obsessed with "tells," you may connect with this show.
  5. Reviewed by: Misha Davenport
    63
    I’d be lying if I said I thought Lie to Me won’t get old fast.
  6. 50
    Lie to Me offers well-designed (and repeatedly, very white) interiors, utterly formulaic scripting, and familiar characters.
  7. Reviewed by: Len Sousa
    38
    Unless creators can shift Mr. Orange's deception detective into an area viewers won't see coming every week, Lie to Me's science gimmick is sure to wane thin soon into its short first season, a truth that doesn't bode well for a series renewal.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. MaomaoZ
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    This show is awesome! I was drawn to it because of Roth, but actually the rest of the cast is amazing as well. Kelli Williams is such a This show is awesome! I was drawn to it because of Roth, but actually the rest of the cast is amazing as well. Kelli Williams is such a natural. The premise of the show is entertaining, and they've done a really good job of not only creating an entertaining story every time but also drawing the audience into the lives of the characters, something the producers/directors of series like CSI and Law and Order haven't done so well. Overall, great! I gasp and sigh during the whole show everytime! Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    10
    Lie to Me is probably the only TV series (besides Lost) to ever have me waiting for more episodes every time I finish one. Great series. CalLie to Me is probably the only TV series (besides Lost) to ever have me waiting for more episodes every time I finish one. Great series. Cal Lightman is a very likeable character. The way he moves, talks, and acts will have you interested in him easily. The show is not only funny, but it is also intense with drama and action. Expand
  3. LindaM
    Aug 1, 2009
    10
    Tim Roth is an amazing actor, one of the best in the business! I love this show, it's far superior to most. I have watched every episode Tim Roth is an amazing actor, one of the best in the business! I love this show, it's far superior to most. I have watched every episode and the reruns. Now I find myself trying to read everyone's body language and facial expressions! Expand
  4. SharonH
    Jun 16, 2009
    9
    Love it and love the Cal Lightman character!
  5. Nov 26, 2010
    8
    Probably ONE of the best procedurals on t.v. Its not just another predictable cop show like csi or ncis, Lie to me has a unique premise,Probably ONE of the best procedurals on t.v. Its not just another predictable cop show like csi or ncis, Lie to me has a unique premise, outstanding acting, and a small cast of realistic, likable characters. Now in its third season it continues to bring something new to the table every week. Expand
  6. May 28, 2013
    7
    Nearly done with season 1 and I have to say that it has held up well so far. The cast works well together, The stories are interesting. MyNearly done with season 1 and I have to say that it has held up well so far. The cast works well together, The stories are interesting. My only real complaint is lack of back story for the characters. Aside from that, It's an enjoyable show and I will be giving the second season a shot. Collapse
  7. Jul 28, 2012
    2
    I found the show boring , the plot was not at all interesting and I did not like some of the actors.... Also the plot repeats it self after aI found the show boring , the plot was not at all interesting and I did not like some of the actors.... Also the plot repeats it self after a few episodes... Expand

See all 34 User Reviews

Trailers