Life As We Know It : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 7, 2004
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Ann Donahue
    Aug 7, 2014
    90
    A sly, sweet look at high school, “Life as We Know It” is so good that you immediately make room on your shelf for the cult-fave DVD because you know this is the kind of show that gets canceled after five episodes.
  2. Boston Herald
    Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Aug 7, 2014
    75
    Depending on your memories of high school, ABC's new drama... is either one of the most honest or most troubling small-screen depictions of teen angst. [7 Oct 2004]
  3. Dallas Morning News
    Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 7, 2014
    75
    The cast is appealing and the freeze-frame camera tricks mostly are inventive instead of intrusive. [7 Oct 2004]
  4. Detroit Free Press
    Reviewed by: Mike Duffy
    Aug 7, 2014
    75
    Despite its almost giddily provocative tone and the hanky-panky tunnel vision of its teenage protagonists, "life as we know it" displays some real promise with refreshing twists of wit, imagination and an offbeat style. [7 Oct 2004]
  5. Reviewed by: Gillian Flynn
    Aug 7, 2014
    75
    Maybe Dino's immature and occasionally unlikable, but I'm ready for a TV teen who isn't a better, more knowing human being than I am.
  6. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Aug 7, 2014
    75
    Cheeky but likable. [7 Oct 2004]
  7. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Aug 7, 2014
    75
    It's rare to hate a series so thoroughly in the first five minutes and then have your mind changed (and stunned) by the creative comeback it mounts in the remaining hour. ... In fact, there's enormous potential to this series if the storytelling and writing stay strong.
  8. Boston Globe
    Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 7, 2014
    70
    A try at a male "My So-Called Life," with a heaping helping of "Dawson's Creek" on top. [7 Oct 2004]
  9. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Aug 7, 2014
    70
    I was resistant to "life as we know it" at first, but it won me over (or wore me down). What seems prurience for prurience's sake turns out to be a good bit richer, kind of like "My So- Called Sex Life." [7 Oct 2004]
  10. San Jose Mercury News/Contra Costa Times
    Reviewed by: Charlie McCollum
    Aug 7, 2014
    70
    There are some bumpy spots in the first two episodes, but "Life" is worth sampling. [7 Oct 2004]
  11. Reviewed by: Scott D. Pierce
    Aug 7, 2014
    60
    If all teenage boys think about is sex, sex and more sex, then the producers and writers of "life as we know it" have captured the teenage boy perfectly.
  12. Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
    Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 7, 2014
    60
    The pilot episode for "life" is really interesting; unfortunately two subsequent episodes are not as commendable. ... The direct address to the camera begins to grate, and the whole show is not different enough from teen shows of the past. [3 Oct 2004]
  13. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Phil Rosenthal
    Aug 7, 2014
    50
    This should be -- pardon the expression -- a fertile area for drama. Yet it fails to bear fruit. Instead we get a string of old cliches aimed at an audience young enough that it might not notice they're old cliches. [7 Oct 2004]
  14. Reviewed by: Hal Boedeker
    Aug 7, 2014
    40
    All the actors do well. They can't do good, however, because they're in service of an obnoxious show. The surfaces look inviting in life as we know it, but there isn't a lot of show there.
  15. New York Daily News
    Reviewed by: David Bianculli
    Aug 7, 2014
    37
    Feels like a cross between a Hollywood writing assignment ("Write a version of 'The O.C.' in 80 pages or less, and don't forget to use a carnival as a backdrop like that show did") and a preachy "ABC Afterschool Special: The Next Generation." [7 Oct 2004]
  16. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Aug 7, 2014
    37
    It makes one of the worst first impressions in TV history. Seldom has a show worked so diligently to make you hate its characters so quickly.
  17. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Aug 7, 2014
    30
    Problem is, all the supposed 16-year-olds look like they're 25 (actors playing the sexy lead couple are both actually 24). Maybe it could be called Well-Muscled Smarmy Young Adults Try to Talk Dirty. [7 Oct 2004]
  18. Washington Post
    Reviewed by: Tom Shales
    Aug 7, 2014
    30
    [A] gimmicked-up adolescent soap opera that's faux sensitive, faux funny and, most of the time, even faux faux. [7 Oct 2004]

Awards & Rankings

There are no user reviews yet.