• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Oct 9, 2008
  • Season #: 1
Life On Mars Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Jason O'Mara, Rachelle LeFevre
  • Summary: Sam Tyler (Jason O'Mara) finds himself transported to the 1970s after a car accident in this remake of the award-winning British drama.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense, Science Fiction
  • Creator: Ashley Pharoah, Matthew Graham, Tony Jordan
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Oct 9, 2008
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    100
    The producers ("Alias" alums Josh Appelbaum and Andre Nemec) have created a Dickensian (with a nod to L. Frank Baum) universe, draped in shadows, pastels and mystery, while aurally wrapped in chestnuts from the Sweet, Five Man Electrical Band and the Ramones. This new series has enormous promise.
  2. The premiere episode of Life on Mars, by contrast [to "Kath & Kim"], is strange and exhilarating.
  3. 80
    This vivid series puts an ironic spin on nostalgia.
  4. If the ambition of the pilot continues, American television may get another remake right. We'll have our first hint this next week. In the meantime, enjoy the pilot.
  5. I'm not wholly convinced by the American Life on Mars.
  6. ABC sticks its neck out a bit further with Life on Mars, a pretty good remake of a remarkable series that also appeared on BBC America
  7. 50
    Despite the prestigious presence of stars such as Harvey Keitel, Michael Imperioli, Lisa Bonet and Gretchen Mol, Life on Mars, a new ABC crime drama, comes off as naggingly undistinguished.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 55
  2. Negative: 7 out of 55
  1. BryanB
    Apr 9, 2009
    10
    It took some time in the beginning to hit stride, but the series eventually found its niche and was incredibly strong the second half of the season. Great cast and visuals throughout. The nuanced and multifaceted Sam/Annie love story was the best of the season and one of the strongest in television history, and the surprise twist at the end of the series tied everything together well. The series will be missed. Expand
  2. KathleenE.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this show...the interaction between the attitudes of the 70's and the present are wonderful. I am turning into a huge fan of Sam Tyler and te Loo. Expand
  3. KathryneA.
    Dec 28, 2008
    10
    Absolutely one of the best TV shows put forth in years. As one of the critics so perceptively insinuated, several distinct movie genres are rolled into one to carry out this uniquely successful time-travel/cop show concept. I am an active 56 woman well able to keep up in this 21st Century techno world. I believe I have almost forgotten the days of civil rights marches and intense female subjection. Every episode of 'Life on Mars' extended me a ticket on the time travel continuum between the 70's and present, and because I have already been there the journey is very personal and real. Just as real as the present. Jason O'Mara's acting, especially, is inspired. Expand
  4. JulieF.
    Oct 24, 2008
    9
    I absolutely love this show. I can't wait until the next week! It's the best new show so far.
  5. LucyG.
    Dec 7, 2008
    9
    Actors and characters are outstanding.
  6. DarenL
    Feb 19, 2009
    8
    Good show overall, not accurate on the soundtrack though, some songs weren't released until 75 or later. Realism is a must to get into the show.
  7. TonyG.
    Oct 11, 2008
    0
    When a police detective can't figure out he's in 1973 after all the clues (newspapers, signs, people, even the WTC) and still calls the 'operator' to connect him to a cell phone after walking into his old police precinct and wondering what happened to his desk, you have to figure the writers don't have much of a story to tell. Maybe they should import the original instead of remaking it. Expand

See all 55 User Reviews