Life's Too Short

Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 16, 2012
    50
    Measured against the yardstick of their own lofty standards, the show comes up a little short.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 21, 2012
    60
    The show conjures the most laughs when Mr. Gervais is on screen, but his presence doesn't mesh naturally with Warwick's world.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 17, 2012
    58
    Though there are some good jokes here and there about the humiliations a little person actor has to endure on your average movie set, for the most part, the biggest laughs have little to do with Davis and everything to do with the celebrity guests.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 17, 2012
    40
    Almost everything about Life's Too Short somehow echoes pieces of all of Gervais's previous TV work, which makes this show seem particularly limp.
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 21, 2012
    40
    Too often Life's Too Short feels like two shows stuck together with a bit of chewing gum.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Life's Too Short can be uncomfortably funny in a familiar way, and if you're OK with the familiarity, you might like it well enough. But the problem with the humor of discomfort, which Gervais pioneered with distinction, is that it doesn't last long when it becomes a comfort zone.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    2
    In the brilliant Office, Brent quipped that Alton Towers was his biggest disappointment. Watching this show I felt like I knew exactly what heIn the brilliant Office, Brent quipped that Alton Towers was his biggest disappointment. Watching this show I felt like I knew exactly what he meant. Boring, predictable, self plagurisation (so many scenes from the Office re-hashed), far fetched, ridiculous are just some of the words to describe this effort of a show. I'm huge fans of Gervais and Merchant. The Office is perfect, Extras not so but still very good. Life's Too Short is an insult to the fans and viewers. Lazy and moronic. Most of the actors acting like Gervais. If you found Maggie's unbelievable stupidity irritating in Extras then Warricks assistant sinks to even lower levels, not to mention his accountant. Where are the real 3 dimensional characters, Tim and Dawn, everyone in this is a wanker. Each episode needs to be saved by a cameo appearance or by Merchant & Gervais popping up who are undoubtedly funny. I really hope its not the case but this might be the start of the decline of Gervais and to a lesser extent Merchant who has taken off in Hollywood recently Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2013
    5
    Life's Too Short was extremely disappointing to me, having been a huge fan of The Office and Extras, I had high hopes for their third outing.Life's Too Short was extremely disappointing to me, having been a huge fan of The Office and Extras, I had high hopes for their third outing. What I was left with was weird mixture of the two shows which didn't have the hilarious scenes from The Office and didn't have the fascinating commentary of the obsession with fame from Extras. Warwick Davis does deliver a good performance but, its the whole package that left a bitter, disappointing taste in my mouth. Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Very funny series and hilarious plots. People who critic negatively this show must have personal issues and don't need to share theirVery funny series and hilarious plots. People who critic negatively this show must have personal issues and don't need to share their comments. Well written, and the cast is great! Keep the show on for more years, as your fan base will continue with their support. Full Review »