Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Feb 16, 2012
    80
    That uncomfortable flash of shame even as we smile at his antics is what makes Life's Too Short so oddly engaging.
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 21, 2012
    60
    The show conjures the most laughs when Mr. Gervais is on screen, but his presence doesn't mesh naturally with Warwick's world.
  3. Reviewed by: Phillip Maciak
    Feb 21, 2012
    25
    Life's Too Short is occupied with nonsensical and barely developed sketch ideas as well as Extras-style celebrity cameos, Gervais and Merchant among them.
  4. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Feb 21, 2012
    40
    Too often Life's Too Short feels like two shows stuck together with a bit of chewing gum.
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Feb 21, 2012
    91
    Life may be short, but this comedy is not long enough.
  6. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Feb 21, 2012
    70
    Comedy isn't pretty, but in the Short run, it can be painfully hilarious, even when it feels like Gervais is retreading some awfully familiar material here.
  7. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Feb 17, 2012
    83
    Life's Too Short is an acquired taste worth acquiring.
  8. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Feb 17, 2012
    40
    Almost everything about Life's Too Short somehow echoes pieces of all of Gervais's previous TV work, which makes this show seem particularly limp.
  9. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 17, 2012
    58
    Though there are some good jokes here and there about the humiliations a little person actor has to endure on your average movie set, for the most part, the biggest laughs have little to do with Davis and everything to do with the celebrity guests.
  10. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 17, 2012
    80
    The real Messrs. Gervais and Merchant haven't lost their touch with self-humiliating characters.
  11. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Feb 17, 2012
    50
    Life's Too Short can be uncomfortably funny in a familiar way, and if you're OK with the familiarity, you might like it well enough. But the problem with the humor of discomfort, which Gervais pioneered with distinction, is that it doesn't last long when it becomes a comfort zone.
  12. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Feb 17, 2012
    75
    Either you'll laugh out loud, knowing that Davis helped create this, or call for Gervais' head--probably in a garbage pail.
  13. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 16, 2012
    80
    With Life's Too Short, he [Ricky Gervais] again delivers.
  14. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 16, 2012
    70
    What's different about Life's Too Short, and what makes it watchable, is that Mr. Davis--who portrayed Filius Flitwick in the "Harry Potter" films, as well as multiple "Star Wars" Ewoks--is so good at playing Mr. Gervais's stock character.
  15. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 16, 2012
    50
    Measured against the yardstick of their own lofty standards, the show comes up a little short.
  16. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 16, 2012
    75
    Odd...make that very odd, and not for all tastes--probably very few. But there are some funny bits.
  17. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Feb 16, 2012
    30
    There is awkwardness and idiocy on display in Life's Too Short, which stars actor Warwick Davis as a hopefully inaccurate version of himself, but almost none of it is funny, much of it is off-putting and all of it is pointless.
  18. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Feb 15, 2012
    75
    The truth is, it takes a very big man to laugh at himself, and a very good actor to get us laughing along with him as well.
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Feb 20, 2012
    2
    In the brilliant Office, Brent quipped that Alton Towers was his biggest disappointment. Watching this show I felt like I knew exactly what heIn the brilliant Office, Brent quipped that Alton Towers was his biggest disappointment. Watching this show I felt like I knew exactly what he meant. Boring, predictable, self plagurisation (so many scenes from the Office re-hashed), far fetched, ridiculous are just some of the words to describe this effort of a show. I'm huge fans of Gervais and Merchant. The Office is perfect, Extras not so but still very good. Life's Too Short is an insult to the fans and viewers. Lazy and moronic. Most of the actors acting like Gervais. If you found Maggie's unbelievable stupidity irritating in Extras then Warricks assistant sinks to even lower levels, not to mention his accountant. Where are the real 3 dimensional characters, Tim and Dawn, everyone in this is a wanker. Each episode needs to be saved by a cameo appearance or by Merchant & Gervais popping up who are undoubtedly funny. I really hope its not the case but this might be the start of the decline of Gervais and to a lesser extent Merchant who has taken off in Hollywood recently Full Review »
  2. May 2, 2013
    5
    Life's Too Short was extremely disappointing to me, having been a huge fan of The Office and Extras, I had high hopes for their third outing.Life's Too Short was extremely disappointing to me, having been a huge fan of The Office and Extras, I had high hopes for their third outing. What I was left with was weird mixture of the two shows which didn't have the hilarious scenes from The Office and didn't have the fascinating commentary of the obsession with fame from Extras. Warwick Davis does deliver a good performance but, its the whole package that left a bitter, disappointing taste in my mouth. Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Very funny series and hilarious plots. People who critic negatively this show must have personal issues and don't need to share theirVery funny series and hilarious plots. People who critic negatively this show must have personal issues and don't need to share their comments. Well written, and the cast is great! Keep the show on for more years, as your fan base will continue with their support. Full Review »