• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 11, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 24, 2011
    100
    Beneath the grit, this is a tale of chivalry. [31 Jan 2011, p.40]
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 10, 2011
    91
    A particularly fine new FX drama marred only by a tepid pace in the pilot. But pace and story pick up in subsequent episodes.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 10, 2011
    91
    It sometimes lapses into the abundant cliches of its genre. Pound for pound, though, you won't see many better dramas this season. Gloves on or off, it keeps scoring points.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Personally, I have even less interest in boxing than I do in those other worlds, so when I say I swallowed most of the 13-episode first season of FX's new boxing drama, Lights Out in a couple of marathon gulps, it's saying something.
  5. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Thanks to the sharp writing of Warren Leight and a revelatory lead performance by obscure journeyman actor Holt McCallany, Lights Out is a reminder of why Hollywood keeps making boxing stories. Because when they're done well, they're irresistible.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Beyond the superb pilot, Lights Out begins to get wonderfully nuanced and more interesting with each episode. And though the series avoids most boxing cliches while keeping true to the inescapable elements of "the sweet science," the real key to its success is McCallan.
  7. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 7, 2011
    90
    It's quickly clear that this skillfully sustained, sharply plotted series is a fighter saga you'll want to follow to the final bell.
  8. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 12, 2011
    83
    At its strongest, it freshens those themes without melodrama, opting instead for slow-boil tension. The challenge for this artful series is whether that boiling point is too slow for viewers raised on WWE Raw and mixed martial arts.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 1 out of 12
  1. Mar 31, 2011
    10
    I love this show . it's way better then a lot of the stuff FX shows or has shown. I think this show is right up their with Sons of anarchyI love this show . it's way better then a lot of the stuff FX shows or has shown. I think this show is right up their with Sons of anarchy ,and the shield . Full Review »
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    10
    Being a avid boxing fan this show has it all. Very witty with a lot of insight to the boxing world. Very true to a real experience of aBeing a avid boxing fan this show has it all. Very witty with a lot of insight to the boxing world. Very true to a real experience of a boxer and everything around him. One of my favorite shows of all time. Teddy Atlas is an advisor to the show and that says a lot. Full Review »
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    6
    That metascore just seems way too high. I had high expectations for this, maybe because FX has debuted such amazing shows over the last fewThat metascore just seems way too high. I had high expectations for this, maybe because FX has debuted such amazing shows over the last few years. But the lead actor is not extremely watchable, the brother is not as interesting as he was on season 2 of "The Wire", Stacy Keach is a poor fit , and the pilot just didn't jump out at me like it should have. Even the scenes from the rest of the season don't seem to offer much to hope for. I'll give it at least one more episode. Full Review »