Lilyhammer : Season 2

  • Network: Netflix
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    I just love this "fish out of water" series. Bring in a bona-fide actor/singer Steven Van Zandt with the most beautiful ugly face on any screen and put him in the gorgeous Norway countryside and watch the sparks fly. Incredibly unbelievable, but I just love watching the two clashes of cultures evolve over the two seasons. The comedy could be a bit sharper, but the Norwegian wrinkles andI just love this "fish out of water" series. Bring in a bona-fide actor/singer Steven Van Zandt with the most beautiful ugly face on any screen and put him in the gorgeous Norway countryside and watch the sparks fly. Incredibly unbelievable, but I just love watching the two clashes of cultures evolve over the two seasons. The comedy could be a bit sharper, but the Norwegian wrinkles and all honesty, combined with genuine characters and great acting make this series a joy to watch...even inn the very dark moments. Not very many black comedies are being produced nowadays and this is one of the very best IMHO. Expand
  2. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Funny, and the characters are really likable. There's always a delightfully odd twist to each scene. I hated to see this quirky season end after only right episodes. I've been left wanting more.
  3. Dec 15, 2013
    1
    I loved season one but season two is terrible! It's 70% subtitles and you can't read half of them fast enough before they change. TV is about watching not reading subs unless you are hearing impaired. After two episodes I pulled the plug on this mess!
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    After such a great first season, Lilyhammer Season 2 looks like a student film project! The writing is awful, the sets are a joke, editing and audio mix are amateurish maybe this is what passes for good TV in Norway. I'd be willing to bet that the "contract" with Norway TV stipulated heavy American involvement during Season 1 that is now phasing out in subsequent seasons. It might get aAfter such a great first season, Lilyhammer Season 2 looks like a student film project! The writing is awful, the sets are a joke, editing and audio mix are amateurish maybe this is what passes for good TV in Norway. I'd be willing to bet that the "contract" with Norway TV stipulated heavy American involvement during Season 1 that is now phasing out in subsequent seasons. It might get a third season as already part of the original agreement, but I can't believe Steve Van Zandt would allow himself to be seen in such poor production once the current contract ends. I'm really disappointed I thought it was a great show during season 1. Expand
  5. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    If you like dark comedies, fish out of water stories and/or Steve Van Zandt, this show is for you. always funny, very fast paced and well written. Never a let down. The only real problem is it is a short 8 episodes. If you liked season 1, you will love season 2.
  6. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    More action in season 2 and as hard and bad things happen to people. They happen very quickly. One of the strengths of the show is that it presents a plot and quickly deals with it. Nothing drags on. Very clever writing and solutions. Impressed with Norway and their actors. Beautiful scenery and great performances. Very funny and when there is drama, it is not the kind that isMore action in season 2 and as hard and bad things happen to people. They happen very quickly. One of the strengths of the show is that it presents a plot and quickly deals with it. Nothing drags on. Very clever writing and solutions. Impressed with Norway and their actors. Beautiful scenery and great performances. Very funny and when there is drama, it is not the kind that is vile or disturbing like on Sopranos at times. Not the caliber of Sopranos, but this is more of a comedy. Leaves you smiling all the time. Expand
  7. ACR
    Jan 2, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We loved Season 1. Season 2 has taken a darker turn. It's still an interesting show, and different than anything on TV, but the characters are not as like-able and the themes are more depressing, even grotesque at times. Some characters that were were like-able from Season 1 have been eliminated and the dialogue seems to be going more and more to subtitles which does make it difficult to watch and keep up. Last night's episode must have set a record for F-bombs by Van Zandt, who, learning of the latest mess his entourage has gotten into, longs for the easier days of Brooklyn. There must have been a change in writers as each new episode seems to seek a more shocking gag-reflex moment. I'm still hopeful that the show will return to the roundness of plot and character development as well as the revelations of the uniqueness and oddities of Norwegian culture, which added another element of interest to Season 1. Now the series could have been shot at just about any seedy bar in a snow-bound foreign city. Expand
  8. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Getting more interesting in season 2. Getting rid of same main characters I think will help it in season 3. I liked season one better but I am getting more interested in the side players this season. The addition of the mob and other criminals is great. But wow, the last episode of the season will bring you back to the good old soprano days. I really like the music on the last episode. Season 3 looks to be a good one but now that Johnny is in the drivers seat and the police are pacified, I hope they can think of some good plot lines Expand
  9. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Never thought to watch this until hearing Little Stevie on Stern. I'm hooked. Sopranos meets Fargo. Funny and smart. Occasional subtitles require you not look away, but after the first episode I was no longer distracted. I understand the show is popular in Norway, but wonder how the folks there feel about how they are portrayed. Not particularly flattering to the homefolk, save forNever thought to watch this until hearing Little Stevie on Stern. I'm hooked. Sopranos meets Fargo. Funny and smart. Occasional subtitles require you not look away, but after the first episode I was no longer distracted. I understand the show is popular in Norway, but wonder how the folks there feel about how they are portrayed. Not particularly flattering to the homefolk, save for the dramatic scenery showcased for the audience. Very eager for season 3. Wonderful surprise in last episode of season 2. Can't stop laughing. Enjoy. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 2 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Dec 12, 2013
    70
    Only one thing is certain now--the season that begins Friday has a lot to live up to.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 12, 2013
    75
    "Johnny's" back to corrupt the locals, and if you liked last season, there's no apparent reason not to go along for this ride.