• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Lilyhammer Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 23 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Frank, a former New York mobster living under the name Johnny Henriksen (Steven Van Zandt), is now a father of twins in season. He works some of his old tricks in his new town and trouble soon finds him.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Dec 12, 2013
    75
    "Johnny's" back to corrupt the locals, and if you liked last season, there's no apparent reason not to go along for this ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Dec 12, 2013
    70
    Only one thing is certain now--the season that begins Friday has a lot to live up to.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jan 11, 2014
    10
    More action in season 2 and as hard and bad things happen to people. They happen very quickly. One of the strengths of the show is that itMore action in season 2 and as hard and bad things happen to people. They happen very quickly. One of the strengths of the show is that it presents a plot and quickly deals with it. Nothing drags on. Very clever writing and solutions. Impressed with Norway and their actors. Beautiful scenery and great performances. Very funny and when there is drama, it is not the kind that is vile or disturbing like on Sopranos at times. Not the caliber of Sopranos, but this is more of a comedy. Leaves you smiling all the time. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    Never thought to watch this until hearing Little Stevie on Stern. I'm hooked. Sopranos meets Fargo. Funny and smart. Occasional subtitlesNever thought to watch this until hearing Little Stevie on Stern. I'm hooked. Sopranos meets Fargo. Funny and smart. Occasional subtitles require you not look away, but after the first episode I was no longer distracted. I understand the show is popular in Norway, but wonder how the folks there feel about how they are portrayed. Not particularly flattering to the homefolk, save for the dramatic scenery showcased for the audience. Very eager for season 3. Wonderful surprise in last episode of season 2. Can't stop laughing. Enjoy. Expand
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    9
    If you like dark comedies, fish out of water stories and/or Steve Van Zandt, this show is for you. always funny, very fast paced and wellIf you like dark comedies, fish out of water stories and/or Steve Van Zandt, this show is for you. always funny, very fast paced and well written. Never a let down. The only real problem is it is a short 8 episodes. If you liked season 1, you will love season 2. Expand
  4. Dec 14, 2013
    9
    I just love this "fish out of water" series. Bring in a bona-fide actor/singer Steven Van Zandt with the most beautiful ugly face on anyI just love this "fish out of water" series. Bring in a bona-fide actor/singer Steven Van Zandt with the most beautiful ugly face on any screen and put him in the gorgeous Norway countryside and watch the sparks fly. Incredibly unbelievable, but I just love watching the two clashes of cultures evolve over the two seasons. The comedy could be a bit sharper, but the Norwegian wrinkles and all honesty, combined with genuine characters and great acting make this series a joy to watch...even inn the very dark moments. Not very many black comedies are being produced nowadays and this is one of the very best IMHO. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Funny, and the characters are really likable. There's always a delightfully odd twist to each scene. I hated to see this quirky season endFunny, and the characters are really likable. There's always a delightfully odd twist to each scene. I hated to see this quirky season end after only right episodes. I've been left wanting more. Expand
  6. ACR
    Jan 2, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. We loved Season 1. Season 2 has taken a darker turn. It's still an interesting show, and different than anything on TV, but the characters are not as like-able and the themes are more depressing, even grotesque at times. Some characters that were were like-able from Season 1 have been eliminated and the dialogue seems to be going more and more to subtitles which does make it difficult to watch and keep up. Last night's episode must have set a record for F-bombs by Van Zandt, who, learning of the latest mess his entourage has gotten into, longs for the easier days of Brooklyn. There must have been a change in writers as each new episode seems to seek a more shocking gag-reflex moment. I'm still hopeful that the show will return to the roundness of plot and character development as well as the revelations of the uniqueness and oddities of Norwegian culture, which added another element of interest to Season 1. Now the series could have been shot at just about any seedy bar in a snow-bound foreign city. Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2014
    0
    After such a great first season, Lilyhammer Season 2 looks like a student film project! The writing is awful, the sets are a joke, editing andAfter such a great first season, Lilyhammer Season 2 looks like a student film project! The writing is awful, the sets are a joke, editing and audio mix are amateurish maybe this is what passes for good TV in Norway. I'd be willing to bet that the "contract" with Norway TV stipulated heavy American involvement during Season 1 that is now phasing out in subsequent seasons. It might get a third season as already part of the original agreement, but I can't believe Steve Van Zandt would allow himself to be seen in such poor production once the current contract ends. I'm really disappointed I thought it was a great show during season 1. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews