Lilyhammer : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Lilyhammer Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 89 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Streamed exclusively on Netflix, the Norwegian black comedy series is about a New York mobster (Steven Van Zandt) who moves to Lillehammer, Norway, under the witness protection program.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Feb 8, 2012
    70
    I wouldn't say Lilyhammer is worth signing up for Netflix to see, but if you're already paying for it and you like Van Zandt--and Norwegian knits--it's certainly worth a look.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Feb 8, 2012
    70
    The Norwegians are the foreigners here, and Norway the foreign land. But that remoteness is part of the show's appeal.
  3. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 13, 2012
    67
    Lilyhammer splits the difference between lightness and the dark. [17 Feb 2012, p.63]
  4. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 8, 2012
    60
    Lilyhammer is an odd little series with potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Feb 8, 2012
    50
    It tries to combine elements of American mob stories and Scandinavian mysteries, seasoned with frequent overt references to "The Sopranos," but the mixture is pretty flat in the first episode.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    For the most watched show on TV in Norwegian history, Lilyhammer has terrific writing and a gorgeous cast which is pleasantly Juxtaposed byFor the most watched show on TV in Norwegian history, Lilyhammer has terrific writing and a gorgeous cast which is pleasantly Juxtaposed by Van Zandts mafioso character. I really enjoyed the fresh idea and hope to see more great original entertainment from netflix in the future. Expand
  2. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    A must watch for anyone who's seen The Sopranos! It's basically Silvio Dante in Norway. Steven Van Zandt deserves an Emmy for his performanceA must watch for anyone who's seen The Sopranos! It's basically Silvio Dante in Norway. Steven Van Zandt deserves an Emmy for his performance in this show. Expand
  3. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Love Van Zandts take on Norway. He moves there as his choice for witness protection and it takes off from there. I would prefer that the characters speak english. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Steven Van Zandt has created a gem here. Say hello to Lilyhammer, say goodbye to Sopranos! The cross-cultural comedic parts mixed with greatSteven Van Zandt has created a gem here. Say hello to Lilyhammer, say goodbye to Sopranos! The cross-cultural comedic parts mixed with great writing and story lines become a new form of the somewhat worn-out NY mobster media. Van Zandt shows real emotions and a complex character that surprises the viewer with sometimes touching moments... mixed with the occasional "fix-it" job in between. All in all, everyone who's anyone should be watching the show! Expand
  5. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    The series gets funnier with each episode. Steve Van Zandt is hilarious. The nods to other mob series and movies adds to the in joke andThe series gets funnier with each episode. Steve Van Zandt is hilarious. The nods to other mob series and movies adds to the in joke and soundtrack that only Van Zandt as "underground garage" DJ could provide. Expand
  6. Jan 5, 2015
    8
    Lilyhammer is such a unique show. There's really nothing like it. It is what it is, and it's pretty fantastic. Each episode you sit thereLilyhammer is such a unique show. There's really nothing like it. It is what it is, and it's pretty fantastic. Each episode you sit there thinking, I can't believe this show really exists. If you've never heard of it, Lilyhammer is a Netflix original series currently with 3 outstanding seasons. Its about a New York Mobster (the really cliche kind) who relocates to Lilyhammer Norway (Where the 1984 olympics were held) as part of WItsec. Here, he tries to blend in as best he can with the peaceful, somewhat dim locals. The show is about Johnny starting a new empire in Norway and turning the quaint town of Lilyhammer into his kingdom, New York Style. Its extremely witty, fun, and has fantastic character writing. Highly recommended. Expand
  7. May 11, 2015
    0
    I'm baffled by any positive reviews of this show. I got through 2 episodes. I think it's the stupidest thing I've seen in a decade. Did heI'm baffled by any positive reviews of this show. I got through 2 episodes. I think it's the stupidest thing I've seen in a decade. Did he learn the language on the flight over? Is there really a woman on planet earth attracted to this guy? Is this supposed to be funny? Seriously, are you people watching a different show than I did? This is horrible. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews