Little Britain USA : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2008
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 38
  2. Negative: 9 out of 38

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sep 8, 2011
    7
    I was pleasantly surprised at how actually funny the US translation of the show was. New characters, mostly amusing ones too, and the audiences seemed to find the show enjoyable, instead of there being an awkward transatlantic tension where they don't understand the jokes.
  2. PeterR.
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    Fabulous show. It really hits the spot when it comes to entertaining.
  3. AndyB.
    Sep 29, 2008
    10
    Pushes the boundaries - which is exactly what good comedy should do.
  4. KarlJ.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Comic Genius, Satirical send ups. Certainly not boring and i could not stop laughing. Some of the reviewers who rated below 7 need to be questioned if they are capable of understanding this. They go for drol, boring, non-risque comedies, middle of the road, the same thing time and again. That's fine, but these guys are clearly comic genius and i'm glad it's come to the USA!
  5. SimonJ
    Oct 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely hilarious. Some people won't get it or be offended by the content but if thats the case then don't watch it ffs. The only shame is that there are only 6 episodes. Would like to see David, Matt and the team do some more!
  6. DavidO.
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    It's crude and at times completely off the wall, but at the heart of each character is something or someone we've all seen before, just massively exaggerated. It's this grain of truth that makes it satirical, and brilliant. Loved it!
  7. EK.
    Sep 30, 2008
    10
    Very funny and sick. I love it.
  8. MarjorieH
    Mar 1, 2009
    10
    I loved the British version so had low expectations for this but I was surprised to find that it was great--actually more crude in a way than the British version, but really as wonderful and creative.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 4 out of 17
  1. 40
    Though there are exceptions and a few bits work, the skits that weren’t funny in one episode don’t become funny when they are repeated, with minor alterations, in the next.
  2. The material's solid, but it won't convince the newbies.
  3. It's not that Americans can't master the outlandish sketch comedy exemplified by Little Britain USA. It's just that, from Monty Python to Borat to Eddie Izzard, the British invariably do it so much better.