• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 25, 2012
  • Season #: 1
Liz & Dick Image
Metascore
26

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Lifetime TV movie follows the love affair between Elizabeth Taylor (Lindsay Lohan) and Richard Burton (Grant Bowler) that began during the filming of Cleopatra to their two marriages and divorces.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Movie/Mini-Series
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 27
  2. Negative: 21 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Nov 16, 2012
    75
    There are so many things in this movie that are just so damned juicy that it is sure is more fun to watch than the exploits of today's orchestrated star pairings.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Nov 20, 2012
    42
    Taylor and Burton deserved better, and Lohan should have shed her protective shell and stepped up her game.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Nov 26, 2012
    38
    [Liz & Dick] isn't offensively bad. But it is by no means good.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Nov 26, 2012
    25
    Calling this a train wreck makes the movie sound more fascinating than it is.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Nov 26, 2012
    20
    Bowler and Lohan never approach the kind of magnetism that a movie about Burton and Taylor must conjure in order to be convincing.
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Nov 26, 2012
    10
    Liz & Dick alternates between imbecile fatuity (particularly in its device of intercutting scenes of a black-clad Taylor and Burton musing on their relationship like characters who've wandered in from an East German experimental film) and stupefying literalness.
  7. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Nov 21, 2012
    0
    An epic of stunningly cynical and pathetic miscasting, a TV-movie so laughably inept it doesn't deserve to be on a first-name basis with anything resembling humanity.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 6 out of 10
  1. Dec 2, 2012
    10
    one the best movies Lifetime has made this year. Lindsay Lohan does her best as Elizabeth Taylor and gives it her all. she is ready to come back to the screen and this was the perfect way for her comeback. Expand
  2. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Haters gonna hate, everything Lindsay Lohan is such a great actress and go find out something to do in your life, because we're all tired of rumours starting Collapse
  3. Dec 6, 2012
    5
    Liz And Dick is a peculiar TV movie
  4. Nov 25, 2012
    2
    Dear Liz or Lohan, whatever your name is, I can't believe Liz & Dick is gonna be a Lifetime movie right now. It's too bad that I don't care and I don't wanna watch it because Lindsay Lohan is still a trainwreck. Wasn't she aware that she's on probation for some kind of burglary? I wonder if she's still high while shooting the movie. Anyway, how dare Lindsay to portray the late great Elizabeth Taylor and re-do the scandal that shocked Hollywood about 50 something years ago along with her ex-husband Richard Burton since their Cleopatra days. That was one of the greatest and most controversial love affairs turned scandals of all time. And now Lifetime is responsible to air Liz & Dick? Bring back America's Most Wanted for pete's sake. I got two words to describe Liz & Dick the movie: Craplicous and filth. And that's the reason you must avoid watching this trash. Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2012
    0
    Holy cow. Everyone knew this would be bad, but this was beyond that. Lindsay, this should be the final nail in your career. If we're all lucky. But somehow I doubt this will be the last we see of you. You'll keep booking yourself on shows like Leno to discuss nothing to keep yourself in the spotlight (or your mom running from network to network) and taking Z-list projects thrown your way. More on "Liz & Dick", everything about it was terrible. The acting, writing, directing, score. Hell, even the graphics sucked "Richard Burton's last day", "Rome, Italy". What a colossal turkey this was. Expand
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    I don't know why Lindsey Lohan is still famous. Stop giving her things to do so she'll stop having money to pay for drugs and booze with. Seriously, why is she still famous?! Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2013
    0
    Lifetime dissapointment. Just a terrible TV Show and the title is nothing to do with the characters. And using a bad record actor as a beautiful ( exaggerating) actor like Lindsay Lohan is the wrong sort of entertainment. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews