• Network: A&E
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 55
  2. Negative: 2 out of 55

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Sure, Longmire is a procedural, but so what? I like procedurals, and clearly so do millions of other people (btw, CBS says thanks). But I don't like all procedurals, just ones that are interesting and well-done. And Longmire is shaping up to meet that criteria. I like that the sheriff kicks it old school and uses common sense and logic to figure things out. I don't need to see CSI-level forensics on every single cop drama I watch. I like that it is set in a rural western town, with rural western problems. I like that we have some unique and interesting characters and storylines. After just two episodes, it looks like Longmire is shaping up to become one of the shows I look forward to the most this summer. Give it a try. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    Craig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters are uncovered in each episode - keeps me intrigued. There's something comforting about Walt Longmire - the stoicism of classic Old West lawmen as memorialized by Clint Eastwood & John Wayne - are embodied in a modern day crime solver who does things in the "old school" way. He doesn't have a squad of forensic experts to rely on, he pulls his own prints, he picks up litter when he sees it and he'll not stop until he finds justice. Some have complained about its slow pace, but to me that is precisely one of the most attractive elements of the show. It gives the viewer time to enjoy the scenery, analyze the characters & to contemplate the dilemmas and their repercussions.

    There's a diverse assortment of supporting cast surrounding Walt - including:

    The big city detective Vic (Katee Sackhoff) - not yet comfortable with the wild west of Wyoming, but she's quickly earned her kudos; The eager deputy - The Ferg (Adam Bartley) - who earnestly questions his own qualifications all the while working diligently to prove he has them;

    The overly ambitious Branch - who's literally gunning for Walt's job while criticizing his "old school" methods (which seem to be working just fine, thank you) and sleeping with his daughter;

    Walt's childhood friend Henry (Lou Diamond Phillips) - who as a Native American - helps Walt navigate the sometimes tense relations between Longmire & tribal police. Just to name a few! I am surprised how quickly I've become invested in the characters. I want to know more about Walt's past, his deceased wife, about Vic's tenuous marriage and his daughter's choices for a romantic relationship. I can't wait for each Sunday and the new episode it brings. I celebrated upon learning that Longmire was picked up for another season! I'm already so infatuated with the cast, I cannot imagine a Sunday without them in it.
    Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    t's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate. said David Hinkley. I absolutely agree. Good to see Katie Sackhoff again. I miss Battlestar Galactica
  4. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    Keping this in the country helps it because the endings usually are corny and aren't vetted. Still the characters are interesting; TV trite but better than average. Good to see Starbuck again, and I wish they'd expand her role to more than "sexy side kick." Also good to see LouDiamond Phillips in a "decent guy" role, although I hope he reappears on Southland. If they tightened the plot endings it would be better. What lawman lets a wild bear out of a cage and knows where it's going,a nd what's to stop the bad guy from throwing the meat him? What Lawman approaches a cabin with his arms in the air knowing a maifia hit man is inside? Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2012
    8
    I happened on this series by pure chance, and now I'm a big fan. It is sort of like "Gunsmoke" got updated to the 21st Century, and it is done well. The stories are well-written and produced, even though it's a little hard to believe that there is so much murder ad mayhem out there in the wilds of Wyoming. It's great to see Katee Sackhoff and Lou Diamond Phillips back on series TV, and Robert Taylor is a very pleasant surprise (where has he been hiding?). I'm looking forward to the final two episodes of the season and am glad to hear that the series has already been renewed for a second year. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    Rural Wyoming criminal investigation without the genre-typical CSI technology from the thirty-fifth century. So far the characters are mostly convincing and the setting keeps things interesting. It is a bit disappointing that it is always about murder, but on the other hand the actual cases are refreshingly ordinary.
  7. May 30, 2013
    5
    This is rugged-individualism-frontier porn, clothed in a procedural. The cast are good, but the writing isn't very tight. If you can drink the Kool-Aid you may like this.
  8. Jun 5, 2012
    2
    S L O W and ultra-formulaic. Don't bother. There are so many recent examples of police procedurals that aren't predictable that one wonders why this was even made.
  9. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Yes it starts out at a slower folksy tempo, but great writing, excellent character development and hands down superb casting pulls the intelligent viewer in. Take the time to watch them in order, and, by god, I swear when you get to episode 8 (one of the BEST episodes I've seen from ANY TV series) you will find yourself verbally interacting with the story (it's that good!). For example, I found myself cheering on a character I did not like early on. Interweaving character story lines along with secrets and insights slowly unfolding like peeling back an onion, at a seasonal building arc and tempo make this a finely crafted television series indeed. Expand
  10. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    Our family can't get enough of this show. Very well written, fabulous cast. The sheriff does a great job and I can't wait to figure out the story behind all the flashbacks. If you haven't seen the show yet, I recommend you at least check out an episode or two.
  11. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    I like the show. But, (there is always a but, isn't there) the character of the female deputy is very weak. She whines a lot, gets out of the way a lot and basically adds nothing to the show
  12. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    I love this show. It's extremely well acted. It's real. It doesn't constantly shove homosexuality down your throat!! SO REFRESHING!!! And I love that part of the country. I lived out in Wyoming for 5 years and worked in Yellowstone and people out there are practical, matter of fact and non pretentious a lot like your show. The sheriff is the Matt Dillon (Gunsmoke) of my generation and I just love him Expand
  13. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    Longmire is one of those shows that doesn't come along too often. It is believable (unlike many of the others cop shows I watch. A lot of the politics that are portrayed on Longmire are very real in law enforcement and the Longmire character is almost too real. I really love the show and its characters. I hope it remains and comes back next season
  14. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love a good western, but this really isn't a "Western" in the sense that you have a COWBOY and he is the Sheriff of the town and rides a horse, keeping the riff raff out of the saloon, but that's not to say those entities do not exist in this show. There is even an Indian reservation that the Sheriff had a hand in taking care of a "crooked" "Indian land" sheriff if you want to call him that, so Walt, the main character isn't really completely loved by those on the the Reservation, but he is respected. I love the show, the way it was set up, kind of like the movie "Unforgiven" where there really are no "good guys" on the show, but for the most part, Walt is as GOOD as one can get these days, and he really cares about ALL the citizens he is the Sheriff of. He even cares about the Indians on the reservation and he isn't so quick to always blame them for anything that may point in their direction. The show is very addicting, and has a lot of ways to draw you in as a viewer. You find yourself caring for each character in their own way. Each one has flaws, but you overlook them for the greater good and I like that about this show, a LOT. I am like others, interested in reading the actual books this show is based on. Season 1 ended last night in the Season 1 finale, and I am so glad they didn't cancel this show, and I pray that A&E extends to Longmire a much longer contract for more shows for Season 2. It definitely warrants it, their ratings, along with the iTunes and other ways to watch the show should count towards it's total viewership. I bought the season pass from iTunes because I love watching commercial free, and I realize that A&E doesn't get ad revenue from that venue, but they do get a portion of the $3 I paid per episode for HD versions, and that's about how much you probably more than you get from the advertisers that pay you on a per person rate most likely. I don't know how all that goes, but I just know I love the show and am willing to pay for it even though I could DVR it, but I like the commercial free part, and it's a show worth every penny.

    Please, order more episodes for Season 2, there are a LOT of questions that need to be answered, but I just love each character on the show, they each have their own qualities, and they need to be explored more. I look forward to really getting to know all these characters and their stories as the next season unfolds. I hope Walt opens up to his daughter about her mother's murder and how he avenged her, which came out in the last episode. We will have to see. I can't wait until the next season, which I hope is this FALL, not waiting until next Summer to bring it out. This show is every bit as good as ANYTHING the Alphabet's are putting out there (their Canned TV shows that mimic each other "Glass House" - "Big Brother"...are you kidding me? Really?
    Expand
  15. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. What character development! This may be the best written police show on TV right now. It is also set in some of the most beautiful part of America. Like so may interesting characters, Walt Longmire has plenty of problems. He has a election to win and his wife just died. He also likes his "Ranier" beer a little too much. Give this a watch. Expand
  16. Sep 6, 2013
    6
    I have tried to start watching Longmire 3 times. It is interesting enough for me to know I will try yet again at some point, but I am hoping that the momentum builds beyond the first few episodes.
  17. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    I am only on episode 2 of the series, but this is unbelieveable! There are so may civil rights violations and incorrect firearms facts that just make me want to skip this series altogether. I will continue watching, but at episode 2, I am finding many holes in the boat. If we keep sailing with no repair, we are going to sink. Read up, producers! Do your homework! Let's make this show work.
  18. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    Longmire is captivating and draws you leaving you wanting more. I only wish they could air it all year long! I love Katee Sackhoff and Robert Taylor (who I hadn't heard of before but he's a renowned Australian actor) and of course Lou Diamond Phillips. I, too, have read all of Craig Johnson's books and was thrilled when the TV series debuted and it has not let me down. Cowboy meets CSI with native American shamanism thrown in. The casting is bang on, the producers have brought Craig Johnson's characters to life. Robert Taylor plays Walt Longmire flawlessly and Katee Sackhoff plays Vick with just as much sass and provocation as the books. This show is definitely in my top 5 shows. Expand
  19. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Few tv series are decent, even fewer great and Longmire is definitely great. Of course, in today's world it's all about the ADVERTISEMENT which is the reason A&E did the most moronic thing ever on their channel (isn't A&E suppose to stand for Arts and Entertainment...not Advertisement and Egomaniac?) and cancelled the series...all due because they wanted a younger viewing audience. How utterly pathetic and sad.

    Anyway, Longmire, one of the best series (hopefully soon on a smarter channel, A&E is dead to me from this point onward) on tv.
    Expand
  20. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Not the best show in the world,but it's by no means bad.Its a lot like Mon,one,if not the,best cop show to date.Sucks that it got cancelled,though. Anyway,you should watch this,if you're into that kind of thing.
  21. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Longmire is a flawed but righteous sheriff of a Montana town that seems to have more than it's share of murders. It is well cast, well written, and well acted. It is unique in that as a television series it takes its sweet time in introducing characters and situations in a way that draws you in to this world. There is plenty of conflict in this series, between Longmire and his rival deputy, and between the white man and the Native Americans in the community. Solid murder mystery series with a macho soap opera feel. A better than average crime series with flair and grit. Expand
  22. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    The most exceptional TV show in many years. Outstanding scripts, cast & incredible cinematography combine to make intelligent entertainment, something which is sorely lacking on TV today. Robert Taylor was perfect casting! That actor can speak volumes, while hardly speaking at all. Lou Diamond Phillips is the perfect Henry Standing Bear. Even the character of the somewhat bumbling deputy known as the Ferg, is played with such charm by Adam Bartley, it is a delight to watch him.

    The only American episodic drama ever - that shows American Indian culture with reverence and respect-while depicting issues that face Native with honesty and integrity.

    The scenery is simply - epic. Magical environs, invcredible vistas - shot on location, not on a green screen. The kind of cinematography normally found in major motion pictures - not normally on the small screen.

    There is a spirit to this show, that is obviously felt by the writers, directors, cast and crew. It permeates every episode.

    I highly recommend this show for any viewer who seeks intelligent and exceptional TV entertainment - amongst the sea of ever increasing reality show drivel being served up by networks today.
    Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jun 5, 2012
    70
    As with any pilot, Longmire barely scratches the surface of the possible directions it could go but the premiere does an excellent job establishing a sense of place and character. It's enough to make a viewer want to return for more.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 4, 2012
    75
    Longmire isn't a conventional show. The mystery tonight might be slight, but the pilot is a dusty little gem.
  3. Reviewed by: Maysa Hattab
    Jun 4, 2012
    60
    Despite its early dependence on Western and Gender War clich├ęs, Longmire shows potential.