Longmire : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Longmire Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 1, 2012
    80
    It's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Longmire, with spacious New Mexico standing in for Wyoming as the series' production base, makes a solid overall first impression without rising to the level of critical huzzahs.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 4, 2012
    75
    Longmire isn't a conventional show. The mystery tonight might be slight, but the pilot is a dusty little gem.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Longmire is an entirely respectable alternative for anyone who'd rather not spend Monday morning rehashing the latest outrage on "Mad Men."
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It's an old-fashioned sort of show, working unapologetically toward wisdom rather than cleverness, attempting to depict its setting as neither romantic nor dismal, the local color rising as much from silence as words.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 31, 2012
    67
    I'd like to see the mysteries grow more engaging as the series moves along, but Longmire at least starts with a good foundation in Walt, his sidekicks, and the wide, open spaces they travel.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 30, 2012
    25
    Longmire has the look and feel of a show cooked up by a bunch of bored TV industry types while they were waiting for the valet to bring their car to them at the Beverly Hills Chuck E. Cheese.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 46
  2. Negative: 3 out of 46
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    Our family can't get enough of this show. Very well written, fabulous cast. The sheriff does a great job and I can't wait to figure out theOur family can't get enough of this show. Very well written, fabulous cast. The sheriff does a great job and I can't wait to figure out the story behind all the flashbacks. If you haven't seen the show yet, I recommend you at least check out an episode or two. Expand
  2. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    Craig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters areCraig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters are uncovered in each episode - keeps me intrigued. There's something comforting about Walt Longmire - the stoicism of classic Old West lawmen as memorialized by Clint Eastwood & John Wayne - are embodied in a modern day crime solver who does things in the "old school" way. He doesn't have a squad of forensic experts to rely on, he pulls his own prints, he picks up litter when he sees it and he'll not stop until he finds justice. Some have complained about its slow pace, but to me that is precisely one of the most attractive elements of the show. It gives the viewer time to enjoy the scenery, analyze the characters & to contemplate the dilemmas and their repercussions.

    There's a diverse assortment of supporting cast surrounding Walt - including:

    The big city detective Vic (Katee Sackhoff) - not yet comfortable with the wild west of Wyoming, but she's quickly earned her kudos; The eager deputy - The Ferg (Adam Bartley) - who earnestly questions his own qualifications all the while working diligently to prove he has them;

    The overly ambitious Branch - who's literally gunning for Walt's job while criticizing his "old school" methods (which seem to be working just fine, thank you) and sleeping with his daughter;

    Walt's childhood friend Henry (Lou Diamond Phillips) - who as a Native American - helps Walt navigate the sometimes tense relations between Longmire & tribal police. Just to name a few! I am surprised how quickly I've become invested in the characters. I want to know more about Walt's past, his deceased wife, about Vic's tenuous marriage and his daughter's choices for a romantic relationship. I can't wait for each Sunday and the new episode it brings. I celebrated upon learning that Longmire was picked up for another season! I'm already so infatuated with the cast, I cannot imagine a Sunday without them in it.
    Expand
  3. Oct 6, 2014
    10
    Few tv series are decent, even fewer great and Longmire is definitely great. Of course, in today's world it's all about the ADVERTISEMENTFew tv series are decent, even fewer great and Longmire is definitely great. Of course, in today's world it's all about the ADVERTISEMENT which is the reason A&E did the most moronic thing ever on their channel (isn't A&E suppose to stand for Arts and Entertainment...not Advertisement and Egomaniac?) and cancelled the series...all due because they wanted a younger viewing audience. How utterly pathetic and sad.

    Anyway, Longmire, one of the best series (hopefully soon on a smarter channel, A&E is dead to me from this point onward) on tv.
    Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2015
    10
    This is the best show I've seen to date. There's never been better. Very well done in every aspect. The actors and writers are amazing.This is the best show I've seen to date. There's never been better. Very well done in every aspect. The actors and writers are amazing. Have and would recommend to anyone/everyone. Completely entertaining and you hang on every word. It seems like a slow death just waiting for the next episode or season. Am waiting quite impatiently for the 5th season. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2016
    10
    I am in love with all of the wonderful characters, the scenery, the spell binding story lines, I love this show! Its about time we got aI am in love with all of the wonderful characters, the scenery, the spell binding story lines, I love this show! Its about time we got a rugged, desert scene drama/cop show. I am so glad to have Netflix so that I am able to watch the upcoming 5th season when it is posted soon. I havent read any of the books yet, but I deff would love to check them out! Expand
  6. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    t's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate. said Davidt's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate. said David Hinkley. I absolutely agree. Good to see Katie Sackhoff again. I miss Battlestar Galactica Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    I like the show. But, (there is always a but, isn't there) the character of the female deputy is very weak. She whines a lot, gets out of theI like the show. But, (there is always a but, isn't there) the character of the female deputy is very weak. She whines a lot, gets out of the way a lot and basically adds nothing to the show Expand

See all 46 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.