Longmire : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Longmire Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 1, 2012
    80
    It's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Longmire, with spacious New Mexico standing in for Wyoming as the series' production base, makes a solid overall first impression without rising to the level of critical huzzahs.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 4, 2012
    75
    Longmire isn't a conventional show. The mystery tonight might be slight, but the pilot is a dusty little gem.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Longmire is an entirely respectable alternative for anyone who'd rather not spend Monday morning rehashing the latest outrage on "Mad Men."
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It's an old-fashioned sort of show, working unapologetically toward wisdom rather than cleverness, attempting to depict its setting as neither romantic nor dismal, the local color rising as much from silence as words.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 31, 2012
    67
    I'd like to see the mysteries grow more engaging as the series moves along, but Longmire at least starts with a good foundation in Walt, his sidekicks, and the wide, open spaces they travel.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 30, 2012
    25
    Longmire has the look and feel of a show cooked up by a bunch of bored TV industry types while they were waiting for the valet to bring their car to them at the Beverly Hills Chuck E. Cheese.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 43
  2. Negative: 3 out of 43
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    Craig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters areCraig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters are uncovered in each episode - keeps me intrigued. There's something comforting about Walt Longmire - the stoicism of classic Old West lawmen as memorialized by Clint Eastwood & John Wayne - are embodied in a modern day crime solver who does things in the "old school" way. He doesn't have a squad of forensic experts to rely on, he pulls his own prints, he picks up litter when he sees it and he'll not stop until he finds justice. Some have complained about its slow pace, but to me that is precisely one of the most attractive elements of the show. It gives the viewer time to enjoy the scenery, analyze the characters & to contemplate the dilemmas and their repercussions.

    There's a diverse assortment of supporting cast surrounding Walt - including:

    The big city detective Vic (Katee Sackhoff) - not yet comfortable with the wild west of Wyoming, but she's quickly earned her kudos; The eager deputy - The Ferg (Adam Bartley) - who earnestly questions his own qualifications all the while working diligently to prove he has them;

    The overly ambitious Branch - who's literally gunning for Walt's job while criticizing his "old school" methods (which seem to be working just fine, thank you) and sleeping with his daughter;

    Walt's childhood friend Henry (Lou Diamond Phillips) - who as a Native American - helps Walt navigate the sometimes tense relations between Longmire & tribal police. Just to name a few! I am surprised how quickly I've become invested in the characters. I want to know more about Walt's past, his deceased wife, about Vic's tenuous marriage and his daughter's choices for a romantic relationship. I can't wait for each Sunday and the new episode it brings. I celebrated upon learning that Longmire was picked up for another season! I'm already so infatuated with the cast, I cannot imagine a Sunday without them in it.
    Collapse
  2. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    I get a Western in a modern setting with awesome scenes of nature in the back round. The actors have grown into their rolls and the writersI get a Western in a modern setting with awesome scenes of nature in the back round. The actors have grown into their rolls and the writers give issues in the episodes different views of impact and solution.It's my Cowboy show. Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Yes it starts out at a slower folksy tempo, but great writing, excellent character development and hands down superb casting pulls theYes it starts out at a slower folksy tempo, but great writing, excellent character development and hands down superb casting pulls the intelligent viewer in. Take the time to watch them in order, and, by god, I swear when you get to episode 8 (one of the BEST episodes I've seen from ANY TV series) you will find yourself verbally interacting with the story (it's that good!). For example, I found myself cheering on a character I did not like early on. Interweaving character story lines along with secrets and insights slowly unfolding like peeling back an onion, at a seasonal building arc and tempo make this a finely crafted television series indeed. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2015
    10
    This show is one of those that has captured the delicate combination of character depth, thought-provoking mystery, and colorfulThis show is one of those that has captured the delicate combination of character depth, thought-provoking mystery, and colorful settings."Longmire" ( Robert Taylor ) is a flawed hero you embrace and root for, "Henry" (Lou Diamond Philips), straddles good and evil, Native American and White Man lifestyles, and bears a heavy burden. The rest of the cast are top-notch, with even minor parts believable and solid. I love this show! Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2015
    9
    A wonderful show that got me hooked after the first episode. Cant wait for season too. Walt and his team make watching tv interesting againA wonderful show that got me hooked after the first episode. Cant wait for season too. Walt and his team make watching tv interesting again for us middle age folks Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2014
    8
    Not the best show in the world,but it's by no means bad.Its a lot like Mon,one,if not the,best cop show to date.Sucks that it gotNot the best show in the world,but it's by no means bad.Its a lot like Mon,one,if not the,best cop show to date.Sucks that it got cancelled,though. Anyway,you should watch this,if you're into that kind of thing. Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    I like the show. But, (there is always a but, isn't there) the character of the female deputy is very weak. She whines a lot, gets out of theI like the show. But, (there is always a but, isn't there) the character of the female deputy is very weak. She whines a lot, gets out of the way a lot and basically adds nothing to the show Expand

See all 43 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows

    Fall TV Preview: Details on This Season's Top Returning Shows Image
    Published: September 2, 2015
    Get the latest details on your favorite TV shows returning this fall, including Fargo, Transparent, Empire, American Horror Story, The Leftovers, The Affair, The Returned, Arrow, and The Knick.