• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 3, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Longmire Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Walt Longmire (Robert Taylor) is a sheriff in a small Wyoming town in this adaptation of the mystery novels by Craig Johnson.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jun 1, 2012
    80
    It's nicely crafted with a slower pace than the average police "procedural," but more than enough character intrigue to compensate.
  2. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jun 1, 2012
    75
    Longmire, with spacious New Mexico standing in for Wyoming as the series' production base, makes a solid overall first impression without rising to the level of critical huzzahs.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jun 4, 2012
    75
    Longmire isn't a conventional show. The mystery tonight might be slight, but the pilot is a dusty little gem.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    Longmire is an entirely respectable alternative for anyone who'd rather not spend Monday morning rehashing the latest outrage on "Mad Men."
  5. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Jun 1, 2012
    70
    It's an old-fashioned sort of show, working unapologetically toward wisdom rather than cleverness, attempting to depict its setting as neither romantic nor dismal, the local color rising as much from silence as words.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    May 31, 2012
    67
    I'd like to see the mysteries grow more engaging as the series moves along, but Longmire at least starts with a good foundation in Walt, his sidekicks, and the wide, open spaces they travel.
  7. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    May 30, 2012
    25
    Longmire has the look and feel of a show cooked up by a bunch of bored TV industry types while they were waiting for the valet to bring their car to them at the Beverly Hills Chuck E. Cheese.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    Craig Johnson's wonderful novels and their rich characters form the basis for this great show! The way the details about the characters are uncovered in each episode - keeps me intrigued. There's something comforting about Walt Longmire - the stoicism of classic Old West lawmen as memorialized by Clint Eastwood & John Wayne - are embodied in a modern day crime solver who does things in the "old school" way. He doesn't have a squad of forensic experts to rely on, he pulls his own prints, he picks up litter when he sees it and he'll not stop until he finds justice. Some have complained about its slow pace, but to me that is precisely one of the most attractive elements of the show. It gives the viewer time to enjoy the scenery, analyze the characters & to contemplate the dilemmas and their repercussions.

    There's a diverse assortment of supporting cast surrounding Walt - including:

    The big city detective Vic (Katee Sackhoff) - not yet comfortable with the wild west of Wyoming, but she's quickly earned her kudos; The eager deputy - The Ferg (Adam Bartley) - who earnestly questions his own qualifications all the while working diligently to prove he has them;

    The overly ambitious Branch - who's literally gunning for Walt's job while criticizing his "old school" methods (which seem to be working just fine, thank you) and sleeping with his daughter;

    Walt's childhood friend Henry (Lou Diamond Phillips) - who as a Native American - helps Walt navigate the sometimes tense relations between Longmire & tribal police. Just to name a few! I am surprised how quickly I've become invested in the characters. I want to know more about Walt's past, his deceased wife, about Vic's tenuous marriage and his daughter's choices for a romantic relationship. I can't wait for each Sunday and the new episode it brings. I celebrated upon learning that Longmire was picked up for another season! I'm already so infatuated with the cast, I cannot imagine a Sunday without them in it.
    Expand
  2. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love a good western, but this really isn't a "Western" in the sense that you have a COWBOY and he is the Sheriff of the town and rides a horse, keeping the riff raff out of the saloon, but that's not to say those entities do not exist in this show. There is even an Indian reservation that the Sheriff had a hand in taking care of a "crooked" "Indian land" sheriff if you want to call him that, so Walt, the main character isn't really completely loved by those on the the Reservation, but he is respected. I love the show, the way it was set up, kind of like the movie "Unforgiven" where there really are no "good guys" on the show, but for the most part, Walt is as GOOD as one can get these days, and he really cares about ALL the citizens he is the Sheriff of. He even cares about the Indians on the reservation and he isn't so quick to always blame them for anything that may point in their direction. The show is very addicting, and has a lot of ways to draw you in as a viewer. You find yourself caring for each character in their own way. Each one has flaws, but you overlook them for the greater good and I like that about this show, a LOT. I am like others, interested in reading the actual books this show is based on. Season 1 ended last night in the Season 1 finale, and I am so glad they didn't cancel this show, and I pray that A&E extends to Longmire a much longer contract for more shows for Season 2. It definitely warrants it, their ratings, along with the iTunes and other ways to watch the show should count towards it's total viewership. I bought the season pass from iTunes because I love watching commercial free, and I realize that A&E doesn't get ad revenue from that venue, but they do get a portion of the $3 I paid per episode for HD versions, and that's about how much you probably more than you get from the advertisers that pay you on a per person rate most likely. I don't know how all that goes, but I just know I love the show and am willing to pay for it even though I could DVR it, but I like the commercial free part, and it's a show worth every penny.

    Please, order more episodes for Season 2, there are a LOT of questions that need to be answered, but I just love each character on the show, they each have their own qualities, and they need to be explored more. I look forward to really getting to know all these characters and their stories as the next season unfolds. I hope Walt opens up to his daughter about her mother's murder and how he avenged her, which came out in the last episode. We will have to see. I can't wait until the next season, which I hope is this FALL, not waiting until next Summer to bring it out. This show is every bit as good as ANYTHING the Alphabet's are putting out there (their Canned TV shows that mimic each other "Glass House" - "Big Brother"...are you kidding me? Really?
    Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2013
    10
    Yes it starts out at a slower folksy tempo, but great writing, excellent character development and hands down superb casting pulls the intelligent viewer in. Take the time to watch them in order, and, by god, I swear when you get to episode 8 (one of the BEST episodes I've seen from ANY TV series) you will find yourself verbally interacting with the story (it's that good!). For example, I found myself cheering on a character I did not like early on. Interweaving character story lines along with secrets and insights slowly unfolding like peeling back an onion, at a seasonal building arc and tempo make this a finely crafted television series indeed. Expand
  4. Jun 13, 2014
    8
    Longmire is a flawed but righteous sheriff of a Montana town that seems to have more than it's share of murders. It is well cast, well written, and well acted. It is unique in that as a television series it takes its sweet time in introducing characters and situations in a way that draws you in to this world. There is plenty of conflict in this series, between Longmire and his rival deputy, and between the white man and the Native Americans in the community. Solid murder mystery series with a macho soap opera feel. A better than average crime series with flair and grit. Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Sure, Longmire is a procedural, but so what? I like procedurals, and clearly so do millions of other people (btw, CBS says thanks). But I don't like all procedurals, just ones that are interesting and well-done. And Longmire is shaping up to meet that criteria. I like that the sheriff kicks it old school and uses common sense and logic to figure things out. I don't need to see CSI-level forensics on every single cop drama I watch. I like that it is set in a rural western town, with rural western problems. I like that we have some unique and interesting characters and storylines. After just two episodes, it looks like Longmire is shaping up to become one of the shows I look forward to the most this summer. Give it a try. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    7
    Keping this in the country helps it because the endings usually are corny and aren't vetted. Still the characters are interesting; TV trite but better than average. Good to see Starbuck again, and I wish they'd expand her role to more than "sexy side kick." Also good to see LouDiamond Phillips in a "decent guy" role, although I hope he reappears on Southland. If they tightened the plot endings it would be better. What lawman lets a wild bear out of a cage and knows where it's going,a nd what's to stop the bad guy from throwing the meat him? What Lawman approaches a cabin with his arms in the air knowing a maifia hit man is inside? Expand
  7. Jul 16, 2012
    0
    I like the show. But, (there is always a but, isn't there) the character of the female deputy is very weak. She whines a lot, gets out of the way a lot and basically adds nothing to the show Collapse

See all 19 User Reviews