Looking : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 19, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 17, 2014
    58
    Looking occupies some fuzzy ill-defined middle ground filled with uni-dimensional characters.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 21, 2014
    50
    Looking might be the most provocative series of 2014. It’s just not original or memorable.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2014
    50
    Never as heightened or melodramatic as Queer as Folk (British and Showtime versions), Looking also isn't terribly distinctive and is only sporadically engaging.
  4. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 10, 2014
    50
    Looking has a premium-cable mandate to be daring, and is indeed sexually unbound. But almost everything else, including dialogue, plotting and humor, is muffled.
  5. Reviewed by: Christopher Muther
    Jan 16, 2014
    40
    Looking isn’t just disappointing, it’s infuriating. Looking offers one hopelessly out-of-date idea about gay life after another.... All of that said, Looking is still a unique moment in gay television.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 5 out of 22
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Couldn't believe the authenticity and delicacy of this show. This is the type of television that can save lives. Bravo to the peopleCouldn't believe the authenticity and delicacy of this show. This is the type of television that can save lives. Bravo to the people involved. Can't wait to watch more. Full Review »
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    10
    The series covers various topics experienced in gay communities, dealing with real, without masks. The characters live their dramas becomingThe series covers various topics experienced in gay communities, dealing with real, without masks. The characters live their dramas becoming more real fiction. The pilot of 2014. Full Review »
  3. Feb 24, 2014
    7
    When I first viewed "Looking's" first 2 episodes, I was extremely disappointed by its lack of plot and seemingly cliché characters. However,When I first viewed "Looking's" first 2 episodes, I was extremely disappointed by its lack of plot and seemingly cliché characters. However, I must say that by its third episode, the show found its footing. There is still no plot to talk about, but the characters are now developing into fully realized men, and their interactions with each other ARE the plot. Once I understood that, the show became a lot more accessible, and I learned to appreciate its style. I still believe the show needs a little bit more of a pulse to reach the greatness that it could become, but for now I recommend giving the show a second try (skip the first 2 episodes because they suck). If you do, you will see some of the most frank and intimate conversations about gay life ever portrayed on screen. It's just too bad the pacing almost killed the show for me. Full Review »