Lost Girl : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 70
  2. Negative: 5 out of 70

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    I got hooked on this show after watching the pilot of season 1. In addition to having an interesting ongoing plot throughout the season, each episode has its own supernatural mystery. A big strength of the first season is the supporting cast and their chemistry with the lead character Bo. The relationship between Bo and Dyson is very compelling, and I love the friendship between Bo andI got hooked on this show after watching the pilot of season 1. In addition to having an interesting ongoing plot throughout the season, each episode has its own supernatural mystery. A big strength of the first season is the supporting cast and their chemistry with the lead character Bo. The relationship between Bo and Dyson is very compelling, and I love the friendship between Bo and Kenzi (Bo's roommate and former con-artist). Kenzi's character is hilarious, and manages to bring out the best in every character. Season 2 was a disappointment as it lacked the awesome camaraderie between Bo, Dyson and Kenzi. I'm hoping that the 3rd season brings back some of the qualities that I loved in the first season. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Smart and funny show with the biggest heart.

    This show is about the characters and i have to say it has an amazing cast and they have fun making this and it really comes through. It deserves least a 9 because it achieves what it tries to, which is to have a good story with characters you love.
  3. Feb 10, 2013
    7
    Overall, this is a good show with interesting and endearing characters as well as a pretty neat mythology. In lost girl, magical beings secretly live in modern society and are all various species of fae. There's succubi, werewolves, sirens, nymphs, and so on. These creatures are split in allegiance to two groups: the Light Fae, and the Dark. Bo, the protagonist, begins as a woman withOverall, this is a good show with interesting and endearing characters as well as a pretty neat mythology. In lost girl, magical beings secretly live in modern society and are all various species of fae. There's succubi, werewolves, sirens, nymphs, and so on. These creatures are split in allegiance to two groups: the Light Fae, and the Dark. Bo, the protagonist, begins as a woman with freaky powers who isn't sure what she is or who her real parents are (she was adopted). Bo comes to discover that she is a lost member of the fae community, but because she was raised apart from them she's unfamiliar with their culture and ways of doing things and becomes determined to continue to live her own life. She pairs up with a few allies and the show becomes a crime drama/fantasy hybrid.

    Where the show excels is definitely in its characters and the intrigue of getting to know the world. Bo is intensely likeable and empathic, despite her somewhat dark past (stemming from her uncontrollable and misunderstood abilities). Her friend and sidekick, a young human thief with street smarts, adds a lot of comedy and energy. Bo's also quickly given a very sexy hunk of a love interest. So between the warmth and budding bonds and the mystery of the Light and Dark that Bo struggles to at once stay away from and side with, it holds your attention. However, it's not perfect. The show's weakest points are when it delves to far into either standalone crime episodes and becomes typical Law Order with a little magic thrown in, or big action mythology arcs that get outlandish to the point of cheese and not being able to connect to it any longer. Additionally, minor pop-up characters are frequently hammy and b-movie to the extreme, which is especially glaring when they're supposed to serve an episodes' antagonist. I recommend it to genre fans looking for a good time and some new characters to get into (as the main cast is solid). It nowhere reaches the masterpiece heights of, say, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but it is comparable to shows like Being Human and Moonlight (although with a much heavier dose of magic). Maybe a better way to phrase it would be to say that it sits comfortably between a A-grade Buffy and a D-grade Charmed.
    Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    I'm a big fan of Scy Fantasy since the days of Poltergeist: The Legacy to the Buffy Era and on. In any areas of the entire Lost Girl Series, any new myths/ fables had become very interesting to me. I started watching the series on Netflix, and now Im hooked. I must say, each episode has left me hanging with more interest, returning for the next. I look forward to each episode as well asI'm a big fan of Scy Fantasy since the days of Poltergeist: The Legacy to the Buffy Era and on. In any areas of the entire Lost Girl Series, any new myths/ fables had become very interesting to me. I started watching the series on Netflix, and now Im hooked. I must say, each episode has left me hanging with more interest, returning for the next. I look forward to each episode as well as any opportunity to see the cast members attendance at local venues. Expand
  5. May 8, 2016
    10
    This is one of the best TV shows I've ever seen. I don't have cable so I only recently found out about it thanks to Netflix. People like me prefer intelligent, creative, and original shows such as Lost Girl. It involves modern topics and is very open about sexuality which our society needs more exposure to. The characters are engaging portrayed by excellent actors and they quickly grab aThis is one of the best TV shows I've ever seen. I don't have cable so I only recently found out about it thanks to Netflix. People like me prefer intelligent, creative, and original shows such as Lost Girl. It involves modern topics and is very open about sexuality which our society needs more exposure to. The characters are engaging portrayed by excellent actors and they quickly grab a hold of your heart. I was disappointed to learn there would not be a sixth season but enjoyed watching all five seasons on Netflix. Each episode engaged my attention and I eagerly awaited the next episode to find out what happened. The relationships between the characters were very realistic and handled with maturity. I loved the lack of drama between the characters as they all grew in depth and grew to love each other. It was refreshing to see the focus be on love and doing the right thing as opposed to what is usually found on TV....drama...lots and lots of drama and immaturity. These characters struggled with their integrity and showed their humanness through their strengths and weaknesses while choosing to do what was right. They showed it's not easy to do what's right but the rewards are priceless. I love this show, wish there were more seasons and more shows like this one. Expand
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Feb 2, 2012
    75
    Girl has a surprisingly casual sense of humor and Anna Silk is physically just right in the lead role. [13 Feb 2012, p.45]
  2. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    With a witty script by series creator Michelle Lovretta, Lost Girl mixes mystery-of-the-week plots and character stories with an overarching mythology in a way that's palatable for fans of serialized and procedural dramas.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 17, 2012
    50
    The action and whimsy help compensate for an overall flatness in the rest of the ensemble casting and low-budget production.