Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Lost Girl Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Originally aired in Canada in 2010, Bo (Anna Silk) learns she is not human but Fae, specifically a succubus. With the help of new friend Kenzi (Ksenia Solo) and homicide detective Dyson (Kris Holden-Reed), she seeks more information about her Fae birth parents.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Fantasy, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 13, 2012
    80
    What a light, yet satisfying treat this show turned out to be.
  2. Reviewed by: Jean Bentley
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    It's not exactly groundbreaking TV, but it's fun, sexy and filled with "Degrassi" alums--easy to watch and incredibly addictive.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 17, 2012
    80
    With a witty script by series creator Michelle Lovretta, Lost Girl mixes mystery-of-the-week plots and character stories with an overarching mythology in a way that's palatable for fans of serialized and procedural dramas.
  4. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    Jan 17, 2012
    75
    The mythology is intriguing and so are the characters, who are as full of witty one-liners as their closets are bursting with black leather.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 13, 2012
    70
    It's a respectable addition to their genre menu, if not likely to become many people's fae-vorite.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael Abernethy
    Jan 17, 2012
    60
    Structural laziness detracts from what's good about Lost Girl, its witty dialogue and evolving relationships among Bo and her new friends.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 13, 2012
    50
    It offers the minor pleasures of formulaic fantasy and weekly puzzle solving, though in a cheaper-looking and less original package than usual.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Mar 7, 2015
    10
    I'm a big fan of Scy Fantasy since the days of Poltergeist: The Legacy to the Buffy Era and on. In any areas of the entire Lost Girl Series,I'm a big fan of Scy Fantasy since the days of Poltergeist: The Legacy to the Buffy Era and on. In any areas of the entire Lost Girl Series, any new myths/ fables had become very interesting to me. I started watching the series on Netflix, and now Im hooked. I must say, each episode has left me hanging with more interest, returning for the next. I look forward to each episode as well as any opportunity to see the cast members attendance at local venues. Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    9
    Smart and funny show with the biggest heart.

    This show is about the characters and i have to say it has an amazing cast and they have fun
    Smart and funny show with the biggest heart.

    This show is about the characters and i have to say it has an amazing cast and they have fun making this and it really comes through. It deserves least a 9 because it achieves what it tries to, which is to have a good story with characters you love.
    Expand
  3. Jul 27, 2012
    7
    I got hooked on this show after watching the pilot of season 1. In addition to having an interesting ongoing plot throughout the season, eachI got hooked on this show after watching the pilot of season 1. In addition to having an interesting ongoing plot throughout the season, each episode has its own supernatural mystery. A big strength of the first season is the supporting cast and their chemistry with the lead character Bo. The relationship between Bo and Dyson is very compelling, and I love the friendship between Bo and Kenzi (Bo's roommate and former con-artist). Kenzi's character is hilarious, and manages to bring out the best in every character. Season 2 was a disappointment as it lacked the awesome camaraderie between Bo, Dyson and Kenzi. I'm hoping that the 3rd season brings back some of the qualities that I loved in the first season. Expand
  4. Feb 9, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I cant stand the starting of the show, for the pilot it was ok, not for the second season anymore. And the cheesy one-liners just do not work, they should give it up already. I did like the 1 season a lot, but im getting more and more annoyed with the show. Yes, we know the wolf-boy doesn't want the succubus anymore. Everybody knows that, besides the succubus. I never felt so neutral about a main character before. She is supposed to ge so important, with prophecies and all that, but when she actually does something in the show, she always gets her ass kicked first, while acting like a bad ass. Also this dragged out lesbian thing going on with the blond doctor? Never though seeing two women kiss could be so boring. The main character never uses her powers for anything, besides calming people down, which has to be the cheapest of all the tricks a succubus can do. I would like to just keep watching the show without her in it. Love the sidekick and the dwarf/bar owner/blood king though. I hope they start focusing more on all the creatures and magic. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2015
    4
    What started out as a fun, humorous and oftentimes cool show with mythology and lore as gotten worse and worse to the point where you watch itWhat started out as a fun, humorous and oftentimes cool show with mythology and lore as gotten worse and worse to the point where you watch it thinking, "Why......" Just ... why?!

    The show has a budget of 500 dollars and throws lame jokes at you every second they can. The plots get less and less innovative each week until its nauseating. The First Season was pretty decent, and the second alright. But don't bother watching it after then.
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2014
    4
    I have made it all the way to season 3, but is still a bit of a struggle, I find myself losing interest or skipping through scene's and when II have made it all the way to season 3, but is still a bit of a struggle, I find myself losing interest or skipping through scene's and when I do, I can see I haven't missed much.
    It is very same same, dark fae, light fae, I don't really see the difference. I found the only episode to be any different was when Bo was in Prison for a short time, because it felt like they were doing something different as the series was progressing outside the bar and the shack, but within the same episode, it was back to fighting the dark fae, her back in her shack and me losing interest again.
    Dyson, a boring mundane character, Hale who really is a pointless character in the whole series with whistling skills (whoop) that he barely ever uses (because they are pointless) Trick who just is an encyclopedia of fae's and pulls the odd pint. Kenzi is the only one of the characters who makes the show a little more entertaining with her craic and obviously Bo, well she is the eye candy that makes it worth watching.
    The only good thing they did mange with this show is to get good looking characters...all besides Lauren, who basically is just a block of wood that does not excud any sexual attraction whatsoever who should be fae...the robot fae.
    I don't know how this managed to pull off 5 seasons, but hopefully it will get better, but so far, it's pretty stuck in its ways and has no imagination for a good plot.
    Expand
  7. Jan 21, 2012
    1
    Disclaimer: I only watched the first episode. It was so bad that I was unable to watch any more.

    I gave this show a shot based on the
    Disclaimer: I only watched the first episode. It was so bad that I was unable to watch any more.

    I gave this show a shot based on the Metacritic plot summary; seemed interesting enough. The show turned out to be what I'd term as "very TV" meaning that the directing, acting, writing, and design are all corny and far below the level of quality that you would expect from a movie.

    The costume and scenic design are both over the top and completely unbelievable. Not "unrealistic" in a clever way that makes any type of comment, but in an empty Hollywood way where every piece looks as though worked great as a standalone sketch on the drawing board. Somehow the elements don't come together as a whole.

    The worst travesties begin with the writing. The initial concept had something going for it; the execution was more or less unimaginative beyond that point. The dialogue is full of cheesy one-liners that lack any real wit, and it is all delivered by actors who are by all means..."acting." I'm not sure there was even a director present who did anything more than tell the editor when to cut camera.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews