• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2004
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a peek at the future last year, season four aims to show how our lost passengers find their way off the island.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 100
    The [first two episodes] are filled with mystery, suspense, action and the lush greenery of Hawaii, where the show is filmed. Be there. Aloha.
  2. 100
    Let Lost remind you of how spectacular scripted network programming can be.
  3. Three more words: Oh. My. God.
  4. I still don't know where it's headed, but it feels, finally, as if we could be getting somewhere.
  5. The show is crazy, man, now more than ever, and I mean that in the best possible way.
  6. 80
    So much of the pleasure of Lost is in the way surprise twists arrive completely out of the blue.
  7. ABC's dense, unblinking and occasionally surreal tale of plane-crash survivors on a strange tropical island moves into its fourth season Thursday with its compass still in good working order.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 87
  2. Negative: 7 out of 87
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    Best show ever made! Absolutely amazing, best acting, storyline, or plot ever. I don't know one thing wrong with the show because it is the best ever.
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    The fourth season of Lost lives up to the critically-acclaimed spirit of Season 1, improving its character development, emotional brutality, and suspense thrills into a huge level of appreciation. It contains many of the best episodes and many of the shocking twists/turns in the whole series, and it expands its emotional connection to its protagonists, better than ever. Its flash-forward section is yet another new addition to the season, as the current events reveals the group of survivors, who is now split into two, as they confront a new bigger threat, than just the Others or the black smoke monster, and it also reveals how some of the survivors get off the island and come back into real society, but can't manage to cope with it, after the disastrous events, foreshadowing a couple of hints that shock me, until at the end of the season finale. From the promising events of the season premiere to the shocking moments of the season finale, I was hungry for more by watching the last two seasons of Lost. The fourth season is what you expect: expanded, impressive, and a complete riot. Expand
  3. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    Awesome t.v. series! The best I have ever seen. Great acting from an enormous ensemble, interesting characters with plenty of character development, cool mysteries, and intense action all add up to a great show that beats the hell out of Breaking Bad. Expand
  4. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    Season 4 is an anomaly. It turns you every which way without offering a true north and yet it's great. Yes there are more questions, but at least they're worth getting in to. The pulse of this show remains strong and the story engaging. It's as good as any previous season of Lost and is wonderful to watch with Netflix as you can just pound out each episode without commercials. The new characters aren't immediately valuable from a viewers standpoint, but given a little time you'll take to them like they were part of the original crash survivors. There's no reason to stop watching Lost in its fourth season. Expand
  5. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Season 4 of Lost is my favourite Season since the first. Its tighter narrative means less filler, and each scene seems to be of the utmost impotence. The story of the Oceanic Six and the people they've left behind is perhaps Lost's best arc ever.

    The off-island flash-forwards change the way the story is told. It's surprising to learn that the Oceanic Six's lives off the island aren't as good as they've hoped. Last Season, Ben asked Jack why he wanted to leave the island so badly. After losing Kate, it turned out Ben was right as Jack develops a pill addiction, feeling morally unsteady since he left so many behind.

    Life's not going so well with Hurley, Sayid, and Sun either. Believing that he's dead, he's locked away in a mental institution once again. After reuniting with Nadia, Sayid loses her and finds himself working with an unlikely accomplice, Ben Linus. And Sun had her baby, but is still mourning Jin's death.

    The non-linear structure brilliantly sets up the Season finale. We knew where the pieces would be when the Season ended. However, learning how we got there was the fun. I think this is fantastic storytelling and not many shows are bold enough to play their hand right from the outset.

    I think "The Constant" is an episode that hugely benefited from the shortened Season. Usually, a big new concept in Lost would be revealed at one point and explained later down the line. Instead, this episode introduces time travel, and it explains exactly how it works with little questions asked. Also, how sweet was the moment when Desmond called Penny? Aw...

    This Season also introduces some great new characters whose goal is to hunt down Ben Linus. The stand out from the new recruits has to be Jeremy Davies as Daniel Faraday. He's a physicist who's the only one that isn't absolutely clueless about the island's secrets. He's hilariously awkward, but it's clear he has a good heart, as he actually cares about the survivors, unlike most of his comrades.

    The only flaw I can think of this Season is the lack of Jack. He's probably the most instantly likeable and important member, and he's oddly not given a whole lot to do. The only Jack episode of the Season was "Something Nice Back Home", where his appendicitis didn't allow him to do much of anything. Juliet's surgery went fine and the episode didn't amount to a whole lot since Jack was up and running by the Season finale.

    Like in Season 3, Season 4 is capped off with a masterful, action-packed two hours of television. "There's No Place Like Home Part 2" was so full of great moments that it's hard to pinpoint them all. After The Others, teamed up with Sayid and Kate, stymie Widmore's gang in an awesome action scene, Ben actually moves the island, causing some odd events to transpire, leading into Season 5.

    We also learn exactly why everyone was lying to the press about their rescue. And how sad was Jin's death? Kim Yoon-jin rally sold her performance as an emotionally destroyed Sun. The sadness is later contrasted by Desmond and Penny's touching reunion.

    And the Jeremy Bentham mystery is resolved in the final seconds of this phenomenal episode. Richard saying John Locke had to die seemed to be unfortunately true. Though, any fan can probably guess that this isn't Locke's last scene.

    Season 4 of Lost is the first Season to benefit from a clear vision and a leaner narrative. Unlike previous Seasons, it's hard to feel frustrated at any point during this run. With the final two chapters coming up, let's hope Lost continues at this outstanding pace.
    Expand
  6. May 25, 2013
    8
    Following the cracking season three finale expectations were high for this slightly shortened season four, fortunately it mostly delivered.

    Throughout the season new characters were introduced as Lost's universe is expanded outside of life on the island and the 'flash-forward' technique gradually revealed the ultimate fates of some of the original survivors. With the end goal now firmly insight Lost yet again made for compulsive viewing and watching the show on DVD certainly makes it easier to comprehend the complex plot. Now if only we could find out the answers to some of those long lingering questions!
    Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    Absolutely fantastic first season. The premise was unique and fascinating, and the ensemble cast was wonderful. I honestly couldn't believe how good this show was. I was hooked, but then their best writer left after season 1, and they proceeded to make those OTHER seasons. The fact is that the remaining writers never even came close to recapturing the clever storytelling of season 1. The additions to the cast starting in season 2 were all disasters, and from that season onward the writers just seemed to have no solid direction whatsoever for the story. By the end of the series, it established itself as one of the greatest disappointments in television history. Expand

See all 87 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  2. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  3. Episode Review: "Lost" Series Finale

    Episode Review:
    Published: May 24, 2010
    "Lost" is finally over. What did critics think of the finale? We survey an expanded group of reviewers for our look at the concluding episode of the series, "The End."
  4. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: May 19, 2010
    What are critics saying about "What They Died For," this week's next-to-last episode of "Lost"? Check our roundup of reviews.
  5. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: May 12, 2010
    This week's episode, "Across the Sea," was a huge departure for a series already filled with such detours. Critics and "Lost" fans are divided over the results.
  6. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: May 5, 2010
    Well, that happened. This week's action-packed episode, "The Candidate," reinforced the notion that "Lost" is indeed nearing its end. What did the critics think?
  7. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: April 21, 2010
    "The Last Recruit," this week's episode of
  8. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: April 14, 2010
    This week's "Lost" episode, "Everybody Loves Hugo," reunited Hurley with a long-lost love, while throwing in a few explosive twists. What did the critics think?
  9. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: April 7, 2010
    What did the critics think about last night's Desmond-centric episode of "Lost," "Happily Ever After"? They loved it.
  10. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 31, 2010
    How are critics responding to
  11. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 24, 2010
    "Ab Aeterno" is a rare Richard Alpert-centered episode of "Lost" without any alternate timelines or diversions. It is also the highest-scoring episode of the season.
  12. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 17, 2010
    What did critics think about
  13. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 10, 2010
    What did critics think about "Dr. Linus," this week
  14. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 3, 2010
    What did critics think about
  15. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 24, 2010
    Did this week's episode, "Lighthouse," have what it takes? We check in with the critics for their weekly analysis of Lost.
  16. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 17, 2010
    What did critics think about
  17. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 10, 2010
    Find out what critics are saying about
  18. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 3, 2010
    Find out what critics are saying about "LA X," last night's premiere episode of Lost.
  19. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  20. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.