• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 22, 2004
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 585 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: After Oceanic Air Flight 815 tears apart in mid-air and crashes on a Pacific island on September 22nd 2004, its survivors are forced to find inner strength they never knew they had in order to survive. But they discover that the island holds many secrets, including a mysterious smokeAfter Oceanic Air Flight 815 tears apart in mid-air and crashes on a Pacific island on September 22nd 2004, its survivors are forced to find inner strength they never knew they had in order to survive. But they discover that the island holds many secrets, including a mysterious smoke monster, polar bears, housing with electricity and hot & cold running water, a group of island residents known as "The Others," and a mysterious man named Jacob. The survivors also find signs of those who came to the island before them, including a 19th century sailing ship called The Black Rock and the ruins of an ancient statue, as well as bunkers belonging to the DHARMA Initiative -- a group of scientific researchers who inhabited the island in the recent past. Lost has won a Golden Globe, 9 Saturn Awards and 8 Emmy awards. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Suspense, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Feb 16, 2013
    100
    Abrams and Lindelof have created one of only two new shows this season at the end of which I was yearning to see a second hour right away. (The other is ABC's "Desperate Housewives": It could be hoot heaven, could be labored camp.) I was tempted to hedge on my final grade, because Lost is the kind of show that could go anywhere. Then I realized that's exactly why I should commit to the ride.
  2. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Feb 16, 2013
    100
    Lost is a sci-fi soap opera adventure -- with humor, mystery and interesting characters galore...It's "Survivor" with the one thing "Survivor" lacks -- a terrific script.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Feb 26, 2013
    100
    An intense, intriguing and exciting mix of action and horror. [22 Sept 2004, p.E1]
  4. Reviewed by: Sid Smith
    Feb 16, 2013
    90
    Abrams and Lindelof have crammed this one with so many chills and cliffhanging plot twists that it's all about sitting back, tossing credulity out the window and waiting for what happens next. The classy look and feel of the opener (the series is shot in Hawaii) also help make Lost a feast for the young and young at heart, even if you find yourself a little embarrassed, in the dead of a dark Wednesday night, to be so seduced by Saturday matinee fare. [22 Sept 2004, p.C1]
  5. Reviewed by: Aaron Barnhart
    Feb 26, 2013
    80
    It's safe to say you've not seen anything like it on network television. And not to put too fine a point on it, but the shock does wear off after a few minutes. [22 Sept 2004, p.F3]
  6. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 16, 2013
    80
    Lost itself has a certain intriguing quality that makes it worth coming back for more. [19 Sept 2005, p.TV-5]
  7. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    Feb 26, 2013
    40
    Abrams and his co-creator Damon Lindelof ("Crossing Jordan") do a terrific job of piling on the plot twists, but they neglect to provide a believably textured world, or any time for the characters to interact between crises. As a result, Lost is at once heart-stopping and strangely dull.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 76
  2. Negative: 2 out of 76
  1. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    If you never watch it , what are you waiting for ? . It's simple, is the best tv show I had ever seen, WATCH IT . You would have a great time,If you never watch it , what are you waiting for ? . It's simple, is the best tv show I had ever seen, WATCH IT . You would have a great time, and it is really amazing- Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    LOST is simply one of the best show there has ever been on television.
    Gripping stories, intriguing mysteries and compelling characters, and
    LOST is simply one of the best show there has ever been on television.
    Gripping stories, intriguing mysteries and compelling characters, and all of this is summed up with one of the best technical compartment that television has ever seen.
    Great writing, great directing and excellent editing, this and the astonishing level of the cast, is what makes LOST a piece of History.
    Despite some little weak episode once in a while, it manage to make you forget those little lacks, when it hits you very hard with one of the many epic episodes that are equally spread throughout the six seasons.
    Expand
  3. Aug 30, 2013
    10
    I could not have watched this show in a more ideal setting than I did. I never saw it when it aired on television, I saw it when it came onI could not have watched this show in a more ideal setting than I did. I never saw it when it aired on television, I saw it when it came on Netflix, I knew absolutely nothing about the show other than that it polarized it's audience. But over the course of two weeks, I marathoned through the show and was so moved by the experience that I had that it easily moved into my favorite show of all-time. Masterpiece. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    The coolest show i have ever seen. A plane crashes on and island, and throughout the series u learn about each character and why they wereThe coolest show i have ever seen. A plane crashes on and island, and throughout the series u learn about each character and why they were each on that plane. Really cool action and story Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    The explosive start to the greatest television show of all time. The combination of drama, action, romance, and sci-fi come together to createThe explosive start to the greatest television show of all time. The combination of drama, action, romance, and sci-fi come together to create something like no other. Expand
  6. PHJ
    Mar 7, 2014
    9
    Outstanding start for a really big TV show, outstanding actors, performance, scenaries, musics, effects, just perfect for this type of genre.Outstanding start for a really big TV show, outstanding actors, performance, scenaries, musics, effects, just perfect for this type of genre.

    The week point is that sometimes you get a little bit confused to discern what is the real and the fiction in the show, witch is a bit silly.
    Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    0
    just plain terrible..like come on the whole show is a bunch of bogus bs.....i could have pulled a better show out of my rear end...funny howjust plain terrible..like come on the whole show is a bunch of bogus bs.....i could have pulled a better show out of my rear end...funny how it gets a better score than house of cards, at least house of cards is interesting and has a freaking plot... Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  2. Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards

    Television Critics Announce 2010 Awards Image
    Published: August 1, 2010
    The Television Critics Association announced its 2010 award winners on Saturday night. We have the full list of winners, which includes multiple awards for the new series "Glee."
  3. Episode Review: "Lost" Series Finale

    Episode Review:
    Published: May 24, 2010
    "Lost" is finally over. What did critics think of the finale? We survey an expanded group of reviewers for our look at the concluding episode of the series, "The End."
  4. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: May 19, 2010
    What are critics saying about "What They Died For," this week's next-to-last episode of "Lost"? Check our roundup of reviews.
  5. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: May 12, 2010
    This week's episode, "Across the Sea," was a huge departure for a series already filled with such detours. Critics and "Lost" fans are divided over the results.
  6. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: May 5, 2010
    Well, that happened. This week's action-packed episode, "The Candidate," reinforced the notion that "Lost" is indeed nearing its end. What did the critics think?
  7. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: April 21, 2010
    "The Last Recruit," this week's episode of
  8. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: April 14, 2010
    This week's "Lost" episode, "Everybody Loves Hugo," reunited Hurley with a long-lost love, while throwing in a few explosive twists. What did the critics think?
  9. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: April 7, 2010
    What did the critics think about last night's Desmond-centric episode of "Lost," "Happily Ever After"? They loved it.
  10. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 31, 2010
    How are critics responding to
  11. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 24, 2010
    "Ab Aeterno" is a rare Richard Alpert-centered episode of "Lost" without any alternate timelines or diversions. It is also the highest-scoring episode of the season.
  12. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 17, 2010
    What did critics think about
  13. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 10, 2010
    What did critics think about "Dr. Linus," this week
  14. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: March 3, 2010
    What did critics think about
  15. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 24, 2010
    Did this week's episode, "Lighthouse," have what it takes? We check in with the critics for their weekly analysis of Lost.
  16. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 17, 2010
    What did critics think about
  17. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 10, 2010
    Find out what critics are saying about
  18. Episode Review: Last Night's "Lost"

    Episode Review: Last Night's
    Published: February 3, 2010
    Find out what critics are saying about "LA X," last night's premiere episode of Lost.
  19. Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows

    Midseason TV Preview: A Look at New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: January 5, 2010
    Read about the biggest and best new series debuting in the coming months, find out when your favorite programs are returning, and watch trailers for over two dozen shows.
  20. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.