Louie : Season 4

  • Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 29, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 227 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 227

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    As much as I just love Louis CK and really value and respect his work, I really have mixed feeling about this new season. The Elevator arc, which is almost half of the season had its moments, but the few last episodes with the reintroduction of pamela pretty much kills everything, it's boring and awkward, the character played by pamela adlon is unlikeable, unfunny and weird., a really badAs much as I just love Louis CK and really value and respect his work, I really have mixed feeling about this new season. The Elevator arc, which is almost half of the season had its moments, but the few last episodes with the reintroduction of pamela pretty much kills everything, it's boring and awkward, the character played by pamela adlon is unlikeable, unfunny and weird., a really bad ending to season 4. The first sign that something was wrong with the show was "So Did The Fat Lady" with it's insufferable patronizing monologue, the whole marijuana arc also did not work well. Overall this season of the show falls short of expectation :( Expand
  2. May 30, 2014
    6
    This show has always been pretty loose, but in this series Louis CK spends a short twenty minutes riffing around a subject and then bye bye roll credits. It just feels so much less substantial than earlier series. My highlight so far was Pamela Adlon's reappearance, which inexplicably lasted for all of two minutes. I have to agree with the more negative reviewer who said if this was theThis show has always been pretty loose, but in this series Louis CK spends a short twenty minutes riffing around a subject and then bye bye roll credits. It just feels so much less substantial than earlier series. My highlight so far was Pamela Adlon's reappearance, which inexplicably lasted for all of two minutes. I have to agree with the more negative reviewer who said if this was the first series, no one would watch it. I feel Louis CK is slightly taking his audience for granted here. And where have the opening credits gone? Expand
  3. May 15, 2014
    5
    The worst TV show worth watching. Random story-lines, pathetic characters, no point, but I am seeing it. hmhmhmhmhmhmhmhmhmhmmhmhmhmhmhmmhmhmhmhmhmhmh
  4. Aug 17, 2015
    4
    As the seasons progress, the character put into situations that are less dynamic, simply 2-D scenarios of disappointment, sadness, frustration, and they're rarely resolved. Louie's death grip on the making of his show is suffocating it's production. It's exhausting putting out a television show when you are the lead actor, director, only writer, and editor. And the quality is definitelyAs the seasons progress, the character put into situations that are less dynamic, simply 2-D scenarios of disappointment, sadness, frustration, and they're rarely resolved. Louie's death grip on the making of his show is suffocating it's production. It's exhausting putting out a television show when you are the lead actor, director, only writer, and editor. And the quality is definitely being affected. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Aug 7, 2014
    80
    It’s not that the season was bad--it was daring and often beautiful, emphasizing serial storytelling over episodic one-offs, with many indelible moments, especially those involving Louie’s daughters.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    May 7, 2014
    100
    Its main purpose is to confront the taboo, and whether that means exploring just how far Louie will go into the "experimental" side of masturbation in the season premiere or simply digging into his ugliest prejudices about overweight women, the show can be revelatory.
  3. Reviewed by: Lori Rackl
    May 5, 2014
    88
    It’s clear that C.K. made good use of the time off to recharge his creative batteries. The season’s third episode, “So Did the Fat Lady,” is his best yet.