• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Low Winter Sun Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 78 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the American adaption of the British miniseries of the same name, Detroit detectives Frank Agnew (Mark Strong) and Joe Geddes (Lennie James) kill a corrupt cop as IA investigator Simon Boyd (David Costabile) tries to uncover the truth.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 12, 2013
    91
    For those looking for yet another quality show for their Sunday nights, Low Winter Sun soars high.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 5, 2013
    83
    The drama's just as intense as [Mark] Strong, who's clearly earned his last name. [9 Aug 2013, p.73]
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 12, 2013
    70
    While scenes with a crime crew drag, in part because it's not always clear what's going on with them, anytime the focus shifts to crooked cops Frank Agnew (Mark Strong) and Joe Geddes (Lennie James), Low Winter Sun proves to be a gripping drama with a vibe most reminiscent of "The Wire."
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 8, 2013
    58
    Low on initial appeal and likewise short on originality, it’s a bleak ’n’ grim undertaking that just doesn’t seem built for the long haul.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    Low Winter Sun too often lingers on Detroit's colorless evil more than its spirited righteousness, resulting in an overwhelmingly bleak narrative that feels as cold and lifeless as a corpse.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    Sun, a series adaptation of a British miniseries (which also starred Mark Strong) is, after the two episodes I’ve seen, a unremarkable in itself: a paint-by-the-numbers serious-cable series where all the numbers indicate a shade of black.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2013
    30
    It tries to make up for what it lacks in originality with unending bleakness--Malick shots of a mangy dog running through the streets with a rat in his maw, characters who never smile--as if being relentlessly somber were proof of quality. The results are beyond claustrophobic. All the characters want out. So did I.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 29
  2. Negative: 4 out of 29
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    This show is awesome. Great writing and solid acting. Its slowly developing and getting better and i am liking the new layers each episode. it may not be to everyones taste but it works like a novel maybe and not a comic book. Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    I just caught this show for because of Mark Strong and I think its a keeper. I wanted to see how he was used, and am really impressed. His character is complex and intense, and I'm sure everything you could ever want to see in a conflicted ,flawed man will be celebrated by this fine actor. The show is wonderfully dark, and the chemistry between him and Lennie James is riveting. If viewers need fast moving scenes, and quick resolutions, this won't be your show...itsa "NOIRLIKE" show for people who want complexity and to be involved in whats going on behind the scenes, with subplots and twists. So here's to its success! Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    9
    If you're like me and you've never seen the British version then you'll find this to be an interesting cop drama unlike anything you've ever seen. So far there aren't a lot of characters I find myself rooting for which is refreshing to me. It's incredibly dark and gritty. Give it a shot. Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    8
    I've always been an AMC fan. It seems like that I enjoy each AMC's show on TV and that including AMC's latest new crime drama Low Winter Sun. Before I went to watch Low Winter Sun, I never expected anything of it, so that I enjoy every last drop of Low Winter Sun. I find that this show is very intriguing with its character-driven story. The casts are gripping too. All in all, if you enjoy most of AMC's shows like Breaking Bad, The Killing, and The Walking Dead, there is no reason to skip this newest fine crime drama from AMC. Expand
  5. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    Mark Strong and Lennie James are great together, but whenever they're not on screen the show meanders and drags. I hope it gets picked up for a second season just to see if it can work out its flaws. Expand
  6. Sep 16, 2013
    5
    This show focuses too much on using "grim and grimy" as a method of storytelling. The producers even use a bluish-grey film filter to wash out any color (fans of the now-cancelled "the killing" are familiar with this technique). Grim depression is fine, but unsympathetic characters make the grim experience feel more tedious than it should. Everything is grey. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    0
    It's just boring and uninteresting, I couldn't even last an episode. Just another Cop drama that has piss poor acting and bad writing. It seems like AMC isn't having much luck with creating any new dramas as of late. Collapse

See all 29 User Reviews