• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 11, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Low Winter Sun Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the American adaption of the British miniseries of the same name, Detroit detectives Frank Agnew (Mark Strong) and Joe Geddes (Lennie James) kill a corrupt cop as IA investigator Simon Boyd (David Costabile) tries to uncover the truth.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 12, 2013
    91
    For those looking for yet another quality show for their Sunday nights, Low Winter Sun soars high.
  2. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Aug 5, 2013
    83
    The drama's just as intense as [Mark] Strong, who's clearly earned his last name. [9 Aug 2013, p.73]
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Aug 12, 2013
    70
    While scenes with a crime crew drag, in part because it's not always clear what's going on with them, anytime the focus shifts to crooked cops Frank Agnew (Mark Strong) and Joe Geddes (Lennie James), Low Winter Sun proves to be a gripping drama with a vibe most reminiscent of "The Wire."
  4. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Aug 8, 2013
    58
    Low on initial appeal and likewise short on originality, it’s a bleak ’n’ grim undertaking that just doesn’t seem built for the long haul.
  5. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    Low Winter Sun too often lingers on Detroit's colorless evil more than its spirited righteousness, resulting in an overwhelmingly bleak narrative that feels as cold and lifeless as a corpse.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Aug 9, 2013
    50
    Sun, a series adaptation of a British miniseries (which also starred Mark Strong) is, after the two episodes I’ve seen, a unremarkable in itself: a paint-by-the-numbers serious-cable series where all the numbers indicate a shade of black.
  7. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 9, 2013
    30
    It tries to make up for what it lacks in originality with unending bleakness--Malick shots of a mangy dog running through the streets with a rat in his maw, characters who never smile--as if being relentlessly somber were proof of quality. The results are beyond claustrophobic. All the characters want out. So did I.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Sep 8, 2013
    10
    This show is awesome. Great writing and solid acting. Its slowly developing and getting better and i am liking the new layers each episode. it may not be to everyones taste but it works like a novel maybe and not a comic book. Expand
  2. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    I just caught this show for because of Mark Strong and I think its a keeper. I wanted to see how he was used, and am really impressed. His character is complex and intense, and I'm sure everything you could ever want to see in a conflicted ,flawed man will be celebrated by this fine actor. The show is wonderfully dark, and the chemistry between him and Lennie James is riveting. If viewers need fast moving scenes, and quick resolutions, this won't be your show...itsa "NOIRLIKE" show for people who want complexity and to be involved in whats going on behind the scenes, with subplots and twists. So here's to its success! Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    9
    It's picking up steam and pulling out of the station, I would say that it's doing a good job, remember Breaking Bad's first season, or for that matter Walking Dead's this will get better if it gets a chance too. Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    8
    (same review in imdb)

    I'm doing this review because I feel most people either have chosen not to watch this show or have made a quick
    judgement. There are so many bad reviews And I would just hate it if this show gets cancelled.

    Dark, gritty, and intriguing. This is everything I love and more. Slow developing character and a slow burning plot with developments in each episode. Yes I am a huge Breaking Bad fan and am sad to see it go but honestly, with this show around I won't even be sad when it ends(breaking bad that is).

    If You watch any the following DRAMAS that I do than you should give this series a try: The Americans, Hannibal, Breaking Bad, American Horror Story, Dexter, Rectify, Shameless, House Of Cards, there's a few others I can't think of at the moment.
    Expand
  5. Aug 11, 2013
    6
    Really nice Pilot episode, and the acting was really solid, especially from Mark Strong and Lennie James. I can see this series turning out really nice. Expand
  6. Sep 14, 2013
    5
    I needed a show to watch after Breaking Bad and the easiest thing to do is simply not change the channel, and that's how I discovered AMC's newest drama, Low Winter Sun. The show is an adaptation of the novel, Low Winter Sun by Simon Donald and if it sounds familiar to you, that because it has already been turned into a movie, back in 2006. While the show has a great time slot and a star who is already familiar with the role he's playing, the ratings for the show have been low and it's because the show has a lot of bark, but it really doesn't have any bite.

    Set in the bankrupt city of Detroit, Low Winter Sun, tells the story of two police detectives, who murdered a third. The dead man, Det. McCann was dirty and was putting the whole department at risk and they did what they had to do. The murder of a cop in Detroit is big news and the Mayor wants it solved by the two best homicide detectives they have, who also happen to be the killers themselves. The men are being watched by internal affairs and the mayor, so they have to make it look like they are really trying to solve the case, but a third party keeps getting in the way. This party who unintentionally keeps popping up, is the mob affiliated group that had McCann on their payroll. Their activities threaten the investigation which could ultimately lead back to the two detectives.

    The story makes for a good movie, but if this show is somehow renewed, which direction does it go it? Much like the Killing, this show is centered on one murder, but here the two main characters are the killers. Either they get caught and the series has to start a new in season two or the same story will just keep repeating itself until nobody cares anymore.

    The lead in the show is Mark Strong, who also played the lead in the 2006 film. The role calls for a smart, yet emotional character with a scared past, and to me the man just doesn't fit the role. Strong is a big tough guy, who is seemingly emotionless, and while he appears to be a smart cop, he just really doesn't fit or appeal to me as the lead detective.

    His partner is played by Lennie James, better know as Robert Hawkins in Jericho. This guy is one of the best law enforcement actor they could have gotten. James has been in a ton of things, always playing some type of law enforcer. He is experience and really terrific in everything he does. If it wasn't for him, I don't know if I'd be watching this show right now.

    The cast is rounded out by Sprauge Grayden who has gained some notoriety from the Paranormal Activity films. She is the missing link, caught in the middle between the mob aspect and the cops, having connections to both sides. She's really playing both sides and could ultimately hold the key to what is going to happen, as the first season comes to a close.

    Overall, Low Winter Sun isn't bad, but not great either. The story is strong and would make a good movie plot, but it seems like there aren't many places to go after they tell the initial story. The intensity they advertise in the commercials has yet to appear, and the show really doesn't have a way of getting people hooked on the story. I've been watching it because I'm a fan of Lennie James and it's on after Breaking Bad. If it wasn't for the time slot, I probably wouldn't have continued after the first episode and I suspect that others feel the same way, as the show has cancelled written all over it.
    Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    0
    It's just boring and uninteresting, I couldn't even last an episode. Just another Cop drama that has piss poor acting and bad writing. It seems like AMC isn't having much luck with creating any new dramas as of late. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews