• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 29, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Luck Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The lives of the people involved in horse racing are explored in this drama from David Milch and Michael Mann.

    A sneak peak at the first episode aired 11 December 2011.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jan 27, 2012
    100
    With an impossibly good cast, writing so spot-on it's poetic, and slow-build stories, I, for one, was left wanting more--even after watching the entire season.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Jan 30, 2012
    91
    I suspect Luck will need its own kind of good fortune to persuade HBO Subscribers to get on its wavelength--to go with the undulating rhythm of its storytelling. But it's worth the effort. [3/10 Feb 2012, p.104]
  3. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 19, 2012
    88
    Luck is a true original, a show with a tone like no other. [30 Jan 2012, p.43]
  4. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 30, 2012
    75
    Luck is a sometimes confusing yet fascinating study of the colorful characters--the jockeys, trainers, owners, gamblers and railbirds--who populate horse-racing tracks.
  5. Reviewed by: Ross Langager
    Jan 30, 2012
    70
    For these all-too-brief moments of sheer visceral exhilaration, all of the related backroom machinations, self-destructive manipulation, and blithe dishonesty of the characters seem completely justified.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jan 27, 2012
    70
    The parts that do work possess the doom-laden yet strangely optimistic romanticism of Milch's best work.
  7. Reviewed by: Emily Nussbaum
    Jan 17, 2012
    40
    When it comes to story, unfortunately, Luck is a drag.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Jan 29, 2012
    10
    I don't like horseracing. It's boring, in my opinion. I loved Luck. Brilliant cast, brilliant writing and cinematography. I saw the pilot a while back so that's why I'm reviewing now. I definiely recommend it to everyone. People who like horseracing and to those who don't. Expand
  2. Jan 30, 2012
    10
    Quirky, understated, and original, like nothing else I've seen in a while. I'd watch it just for the gorgeous shots of the horses (and I am not a horse-racing fan at all). This drew me in, in a big way. Collapse
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    It's complex, and it takes a few viewings to figure out just what is going on and to understand the different story lines. In other words, it isn't dumbed down and it doesn't even begin to throw the obvious in your face. The cast is fabulous, the production values are great, and there are truly beautiful scenes at the track. I love it. Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    Okay, here's what we can conclude from the reviews of "Luck." Critics are getting dumber. If a TV series doesn't make every little thing clear at first glance, they get mad and call it "impenetrable." Had they reviewed "Hamlet" in 1601, they would have complained about the "impenetrability" of the ghost. Critics also seem to believe that narrative momentum trumps all other dramatic qualities. If the plot doesn't flat-out gallop like a speed horse running wire to wire (sorry), then the show fails. Alessandra Stanley of the New York Times writes that "Luck," like "Treme" (!) sacrifices excitement to "lofty intentions and a certain snobbery," by which she means the effort to create a rich and vibrant sense of place. If that's snobbery, then call me Thurston P. Howell III, because I enjoy the sense of being immersed in a new culture or subculture, and few shows do that well. As for users, we fall into two categories. Those literate enough to write reviews celebrate "Luck" and understand it much more deeply than the critics. Those who have strong opinions but don't express them in words are much less enthusiastic, putting "Luck" behind "Spartacus: Vengeance" in the user polls. I suspect that the critics and the numbers-only users are more alike than different and that, if Metacritic really wanted to offer viewers a useful index of quality, it would publish three numbers: the critics' average, the user-raters' average, and the user-reviewers' average. A long shot, I know. Anyway, "Luck" is superb, a smoldering masterpiece in which, like gamblers studying their environment for signs, viewers accept that their knowledge will always be partial because the underlying reality is mysterious and immense. That is why many of the characters are so circumspect, their acting so restrained, and it's a good--no, a great--thing. The opening credits tell viewers exactly what to expect and how to approach it, from the banked fire of Massive Attack's theme song to the subtle sequence of images: some partial, some barely focused, many deceptively simple. Pay attention. Be patient. Don't assume a fire is dead just because you don't see flame. Oh, and because everyone else is confessing, I DO love horse-racing and could handicap like a champ when I still had my baby fat. "Luck" doesn't get every detail of racing right, but it gets what matters, and it is one of a very few shows today that rise to the level of art. Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2012
    9
    The beauty of a great drama is it takes at topic I'm not particularly interested in (aka horse racing) and makes it seem fascinating. This show is worth watching for the cinematography alone. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2012
    8
    Too bad the show was cancelled due to to bad luck with three horses dying during production. Otherwise, I thought it was a realistic look into the the sport of horse racing and all the people involved. Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    It's probably pretty good but the dialogue is almost incomprehensible, which is incredibly frustrating and annoying. I've got the volume turned up to deafing- maybe I'll get used to it after watching a couple of episodes. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews