Lucky 7 : Season 1

  • Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The concept is predictable, but not tired. The cast is relatable, and the dilemmas are thought-provoking without being heavy-handed.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 24, 2013
    60
    Lucky 7 tries to cram a lot of diverse drama into one show. Its challenge will be doing story lines clearly and well rather than zipping all over the map.
  3. Reviewed by: Brandon Nowalk
    Sep 23, 2013
    58
    In spite of the undercooked ideas, there’s reason to hope.
  4. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    It's hardly the worst show of the fall, but it never really lands.
  5. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    There’s a well-intentioned flatness to the money-changes-everything stories so far.
  6. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    I found the characters forgettable, and the pilot as a whole--which mostly focuses on the characters' depressing, overwhelmed everyday lives pre-jackpot, along with flashforwards suggesting what a pain the money will turn out to be--weirdly stressful.
  7. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 23, 2013
    50
    While there are some things to recommend about Lucky 7--the fresh faces in a cast of mostly unknown, diverse actors--the show is also one of those frustrating series where every character is desperate and too many of them make bad choices.
  8. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    40
    Lucky 7 is a soap opera, and it’s not a very well-crafted one.
  9. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    It would have been much more promising if creators David Zabel and Jason Richman had chosen subtlety, which they did not. Instead, we have the disparate and desperate characters that always seem to fuel this sort of show.
  10. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 23, 2013
    40
    An annoyingly manipulative drama.
  11. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2013
    40
    For a show like this to work, ultimately, the characters have to take hold and be able to move viewers beyond the initial set-up. But if the pilot is any indication, these folks don’t fill the bill.
User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    I was looking forward to getting to know the characters and finding out how the money messed with them. I thought there was a lot ofI was looking forward to getting to know the characters and finding out how the money messed with them. I thought there was a lot of potential and expected it to take a while to really get going, since there were so many characters to develop. Oh, well, guess we'll never know. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Looks like Lucky 7 ain't so lucky after all. I heard about it today and man, does this show sucked or what. Lucky 7 is the first new fall showLooks like Lucky 7 ain't so lucky after all. I heard about it today and man, does this show sucked or what. Lucky 7 is the first new fall show to get the boot after low ratings came tumbling down with just 2 episodes and it seems like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D might be the only ones who crushed Tuesday with a mighty cast and a soon-to-be renewal that ABC didn't even noticed. I certainly don't get it on Lucky 7. The script is laggy, the cast is sorta frustrating, and even though I thought it was going to air on Sunday nights. Unfortunately, it's a big letdown. R.I.P. Lucky 7 (2013-well... 2013). Full Review »