• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2013
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 4 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 23, 2013
    75
    For now, Lucky 7 is a grabber with strong potential for further viewer investment.
  2. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 13, 2013
    75
    I’m immediately impressed with Lucky 7's ensemble cast and how quickly the story drew me in and hinted at some further mysteries.
  3. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    There’s also plenty of good writing and acting in the drama Lucky 7, though to exactly what purpose is difficult to say.
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Sep 23, 2013
    67
    Lucky 7 might offer more to like than authentic texture of place, race, personality and workplace emotions.
  5. Reviewed by: Cody Ray Shafer
    Sep 26, 2013
    60
    The concept is predictable, but not tired. The cast is relatable, and the dilemmas are thought-provoking without being heavy-handed.
  6. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 24, 2013
    60
    Lucky 7 tries to cram a lot of diverse drama into one show. Its challenge will be doing story lines clearly and well rather than zipping all over the map.
  7. Reviewed by: Brandon Nowalk
    Sep 23, 2013
    58
    In spite of the undercooked ideas, there’s reason to hope.
  8. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    It's hardly the worst show of the fall, but it never really lands.
  9. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    There’s a well-intentioned flatness to the money-changes-everything stories so far.
  10. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 24, 2013
    50
    I found the characters forgettable, and the pilot as a whole--which mostly focuses on the characters' depressing, overwhelmed everyday lives pre-jackpot, along with flashforwards suggesting what a pain the money will turn out to be--weirdly stressful.
  11. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 23, 2013
    50
    While there are some things to recommend about Lucky 7--the fresh faces in a cast of mostly unknown, diverse actors--the show is also one of those frustrating series where every character is desperate and too many of them make bad choices.
  12. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    40
    Lucky 7 is a soap opera, and it’s not a very well-crafted one.
  13. Reviewed by: Mary McNamara
    Sep 24, 2013
    40
    It would have been much more promising if creators David Zabel and Jason Richman had chosen subtlety, which they did not. Instead, we have the disparate and desperate characters that always seem to fuel this sort of show.
  14. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Sep 23, 2013
    40
    An annoyingly manipulative drama.
  15. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 19, 2013
    40
    For a show like this to work, ultimately, the characters have to take hold and be able to move viewers beyond the initial set-up. But if the pilot is any indication, these folks don’t fill the bill.
  16. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Sep 23, 2013
    37
    Ineptness reigns, starting with the jumpy, shaky, hideously annoying camerawork and the show's enough-already flashback structure, and carrying through to the tediousness of its characters and concept.
  17. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Sep 24, 2013
    30
    Lucky 7 fails to loosen up these sentimentalized working stiffs into anything resembling fully rounded characters, and wish fulfillment soon turned into a wish that I was watching something else.
  18. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 24, 2013
    25
    There are few surprises here and even fewer reasons to tune in.
  19. Reviewed by: David Hiltbrand
    Sep 24, 2013
    20
    Suffice it to say that I predict Lucky 7 will be the season's first cancellation.
User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Oct 5, 2013
    7
    I was looking forward to getting to know the characters and finding out how the money messed with them. I thought there was a lot of potential and expected it to take a while to really get going, since there were so many characters to develop. Oh, well, guess we'll never know. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2013
    3
    Looks like Lucky 7 ain't so lucky after all. I heard about it today and man, does this show sucked or what. Lucky 7 is the first new fall show to get the boot after low ratings came tumbling down with just 2 episodes and it seems like Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D might be the only ones who crushed Tuesday with a mighty cast and a soon-to-be renewal that ABC didn't even noticed. I certainly don't get it on Lucky 7. The script is laggy, the cast is sorta frustrating, and even though I thought it was going to air on Sunday nights. Unfortunately, it's a big letdown. R.I.P. Lucky 7 (2013-well... 2013). Full Review »