Lucky Louie : Season 1

  • Network: HBO
  • Series Premiere Date: Jun 11, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 155

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. andyd
    Feb 2, 2007
    6
    Extremely funny standup guy who doesn't seem to translate into sitcom laughs. Once you get beyond the cursing that adds to the comedy, the show lacks any real substance.
  2. JasonT
    Aug 20, 2006
    5
    Come on. Good acting? You have to be a real idiot (and I say that truthfully) to think this has good acting. And to the guy who thinks this show is BETTER than curb your enthusiasm? You must be some kind of child. Otherwise, you should be thrown in an asylum. This show can be funny, but it has bad acting, disgusting subjects (that just are not funny at all) and the stories can be too Come on. Good acting? You have to be a real idiot (and I say that truthfully) to think this has good acting. And to the guy who thinks this show is BETTER than curb your enthusiasm? You must be some kind of child. Otherwise, you should be thrown in an asylum. This show can be funny, but it has bad acting, disgusting subjects (that just are not funny at all) and the stories can be too stupid and unrealistic. I'm sorry, but this is far away from being the best tv comedy. If you disagree with me, I would highly consider that you stop smoking crack. Expand
  3. DelmarS
    Aug 16, 2006
    5
    Good News: A great cast all the way around. Bad News: The writing mostly sucks, probably because there are too many people with pens in the soup. Even on the funniest episodes, the "adult" humor - which, let's face it, is really "adolescent" humor - is forced and awkward. This show *could* be a winner if the writers would just stop trying so hard to shock the audience at every turn, Good News: A great cast all the way around. Bad News: The writing mostly sucks, probably because there are too many people with pens in the soup. Even on the funniest episodes, the "adult" humor - which, let's face it, is really "adolescent" humor - is forced and awkward. This show *could* be a winner if the writers would just stop trying so hard to shock the audience at every turn, and abandon their burning desire to be visceral. It's getting in the way of being FUNNY. Expand
  4. DevonH
    Aug 8, 2006
    4
    This show is clearly geared towards half-witted teens, much like its forebear, Married With Children. Not much to like here.
  5. ginam
    Jul 31, 2006
    6
    First four were good, and the quality dropped from there. Episode 8, I didn't laugh once. I think they'd have something decent if they cut out a few side characters, especially Jim Norton, who's the least convincing stoner I've ever met. The manic tall guy is funny as hell, though.
  6. jeffh
    Jul 3, 2006
    5
    I had high hopes for this show because I have always liked Louis CK's standup. However, this show has been mediocre at best. I honestly don't understand why it's soooo focused on really foul material. The foul stuff would have so much more impact if they used it sparingly--not all the time. I was dismayed to see that Louis CK wasn't even listed as a writer on the 2nd I had high hopes for this show because I have always liked Louis CK's standup. However, this show has been mediocre at best. I honestly don't understand why it's soooo focused on really foul material. The foul stuff would have so much more impact if they used it sparingly--not all the time. I was dismayed to see that Louis CK wasn't even listed as a writer on the 2nd episode. His talent is writing--not acting. Unfortunately, this show is less interesting that (for example) the latest season of South Park. Why would I devote 30 minutes of my life to a show that just isn't as good as something that's been around for many years? Louis CK should focus on standup. HBO should remember that they bankrolled a show put together by the mind behind PootyTang. Expand
  7. S.L.O'Robot
    Jun 19, 2006
    4
    Very, very disappointing, chiefly because I find Louis C.K.'s stand-up work to be some of the best currently available. There were a few funny moments, but damned few. I appreciate "grit" and irreverence as much as the next guy, but this seems forced and, often, awkward. "Lucky Louie" is almost as bad as C.K.'s other effort, "Pootie Tang."
  8. stevex
    Jun 10, 2006
    5
    It's average. Norton rules though.
Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    50
    Wildly uneven.
  2. It feels as if you've happened across a British sitcom or a rerun of "MADtv."