Luther Image
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DCI John Luther (Idris Elba) returns to work after being suspended in another case, but soon finds his personal and professional lives becoming precarious yet again.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. With the tormented Luther, it's sometimes tough even to identify who is the cat and who is the mouse. Writing and acting come together to produce characters, more than stories, who are powerful, surprising, ambiguous, and all that other stuff.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    100
    This bold British import is among the best TV I've seen in a mediocre (on network TV, anyway) fall season. Fast-paced, constantly surprising and darkly entertaining, Luther is about as far as you can get from a cookie-cutter procedural.
  3. Luther avoids some genre cliches--we know the killer's identity from the get-go, which sidesteps the time-stamp predictability of a Law & Order episode--but plunges headfirst into others.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Timberg
    80
    Finally! A cop show devoted fully to the investigation and to the characters doing the investigating. It's not just all about the lab work.
  5. 80
    Summon your patience and settle in for the long haul. By its end, the series' exploration of how ordinary human fallibility is transformed into shocking human depravity is compellingly inventive.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    There's also a procedural element in the middle hours, with Luther focusing on individual cases in each installment, that doesn't hold up quite as well. Even those installments, however, have their chilling moments, before the final two episodes take off and regain the premiere's momentum.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    70
    So long as Elba's on the screen, I'm interested, and even more when he and Wilson are sharing it. But ultimately, Luther turned out to be more average than I thought at first, regardless of its country of origin.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Fantastic show. Idris Elba is obviously fantastic, as usual, but the writing is top-notch, and the sense of urgency in each episode is palpable. It's good to know that it's a "min-series" and not an open-ended serial. Expand
  2. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    I haven't had much time for British cop dramas since my father religiously watched The Bill when I was in high school. But thanks to Luther and Red Riding I feel like I'm finding something that is at least good viewing. The basis for most of the stories are ridiculous, Americanised, csi criminal profiling **** but there are some good characters. The real redeeming feature for me is the juxtaposition of Luther's work live and home life. While most film and tv shows regarding cops or FBI agents, people heavily involved in their work etc. reference an inability to relate with loved ones and breakdown of relationships due to this overpowering tide of work, Luther lives it. I love watching Zoe getting all fraught about some emotional trash while Luther is out there the saving lives of real people. Expand
  3. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    After a bit of a dodgy start with episode 1, the show picks up with its rogues gallery and the first series builds from simmering to boiling over and has a great finale. Series 2 was (ridiculously) cut short by the Beeb (and further short sightedness also means no blu ray release) and moves things on with new characters and settings and focuses on two arcs rather than the first series more episodic nature Expand
  4. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Brilliant acting, brilliant writing, brilliant show. Think of it as Sherlock's darker, grittier, more realistic cousin. Quite possibly the best British drama ever made. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    For me, this is one of the best english shows (Dark Mirror is the other) in emission actually.
    Elba is awesome, so as the other actors. The
    writing is extremely deep and smart and the tension in every case is quite well implemented. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    With the release of Luther i was a bit skeptical. Sure, the BBC is on of the world's best detective-series makers if you look at their history, they made classics like 'A Touch of Frost' and the still playing 'Midsommer Murders', shortly after the release of Luther's season 1 another outstanding and great detective was released by the name of Sherlock, with this release the press and the viewers all stumbled upon this new and very great series, but what a lot of people tend to forget is that in that year another great series premiered; Luther. I'm not gonna say it's better than sherlock, simply because it's not, but it's different from Sherlock in many ways. One simple reason is the episode length, which is only for about an hour with Luther. Then there's the whole sphere in Luther, Luther seems to be more of a darker, rougher, in some episodes even sadistic series. That does not take away the fact that this series is very clever and very realistic. A series as Luther stand of falls with the acting, because the series is quite personality driven, for such a strong personality as DCI Luther, an outstanding actor is necessary, but even the less important roles have their own characteristics in this series, and thus needs a good actor. And that's where this series becomes outstanding, though the sphere and the script are good, it are the actors which makes this series so damn good. Idris Alba never loses it's charm as DCI Luther though Luther seems to be out of control, somehow he keeps it's charms. Definitely worth the Golden Globe he won this year. But it's not only Idris Alba, Warren Brown as DCI Ripley and Ruth Wilson as Alice Morgen both keep Luther, and thus the outstanding Idris Alba, on the right track and that is a real achievement. After 2 seasons, with only 10 episodes, i can't wait for the third season. I hope the BBC can keep the script makers and the actors on the right track, and this series may even become an instant detective classic. Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    3
    I watched the first two episodes of this in the UK then gave up as it was completely devoid of realism. I loved The Wire but if you tune into this merely because it stars Idris Elba you should be very disappointed unless you accept it for its unrealistic content and because its British made and offers views of London which you don't normally get to see in the US. The Luther character is constantly bubbling under the surface and is barely able to exercise control of his anger, often resorting to physical violence. The reality is if he was a serving British police officer he would be sacked a long time before reaching the status of a DCI. If you want to see gritty, realistic crime drama I wouldn't place much faith in this show. I'm very surprised to see the BBC has commissioned 2 x two hour episodes in 2011. I wanton waste of taxpayers money. Collapse

See all 25 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  2. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  3. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.