Luther : Season 1

Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Luther Image
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 255 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: DCI John Luther (Idris Elba) returns to work after being suspended in another case, but soon finds his personal and professional lives becoming precarious yet again.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Suspense

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 100
    This bold British import is among the best TV I've seen in a mediocre (on network TV, anyway) fall season. Fast-paced, constantly surprising and darkly entertaining, Luther is about as far as you can get from a cookie-cutter procedural.
  2. With the tormented Luther, it's sometimes tough even to identify who is the cat and who is the mouse. Writing and acting come together to produce characters, more than stories, who are powerful, surprising, ambiguous, and all that other stuff.
  3. Luther avoids some genre cliches--we know the killer's identity from the get-go, which sidesteps the time-stamp predictability of a Law & Order episode--but plunges headfirst into others.
  4. 80
    Summon your patience and settle in for the long haul. By its end, the series' exploration of how ordinary human fallibility is transformed into shocking human depravity is compellingly inventive.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    There's also a procedural element in the middle hours, with Luther focusing on individual cases in each installment, that doesn't hold up quite as well. Even those installments, however, have their chilling moments, before the final two episodes take off and regain the premiere's momentum.
  6. Luther, the story of an impulsive, very intelligent London cop, manages to be an excellent showcase for Idris Elba (The Wire) and an increasingly impressive character drama that goes to some dark and absorbing places.
  7. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    70
    So long as Elba's on the screen, I'm interested, and even more when he and Wilson are sharing it. But ultimately, Luther turned out to be more average than I thought at first, regardless of its country of origin.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Oct 25, 2010
    10
    Fantastic show. Idris Elba is obviously fantastic, as usual, but the writing is top-notch, and the sense of urgency in each episode isFantastic show. Idris Elba is obviously fantastic, as usual, but the writing is top-notch, and the sense of urgency in each episode is palpable. It's good to know that it's a "min-series" and not an open-ended serial. Expand
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Brilliant acting, brilliant writing, brilliant show. Think of it as Sherlock's darker, grittier, more realistic cousin. Quite possibly theBrilliant acting, brilliant writing, brilliant show. Think of it as Sherlock's darker, grittier, more realistic cousin. Quite possibly the best British drama ever made. Expand
  3. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    one of the best individual seasons of television, i think ive ever seen. its not a wire type show, its more of a dexter meets the killing typeone of the best individual seasons of television, i think ive ever seen. its not a wire type show, its more of a dexter meets the killing type show. the backdrop is the city of london, and the realisation is incredible.

    the season starts pretty episodic, but rolls into an insane conclusion.

    this show has had some criticism with regards to plausibility and cliches, but the thing is a painting of depravity on a backdrop of londons neverending cultural lava lamp. its not so much about good v evil, as it is about the thirst to understand vs the need to kill whatever gets in your way.

    this season is mentally ill, deranged, poetic, and beautiful.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    I am not normally one for cop series, but this one really rocks. According to latest fashion, the series is a bit of a freak show: all copsI am not normally one for cop series, but this one really rocks. According to latest fashion, the series is a bit of a freak show: all cops are crooked, all villains are utter monsters. The main twist is in figuring out who is the biggest monstrosity out there. The plot is somewhat unrealistic, but it doesn't spoil the fun. Definitely worth watching.

    And Alice Morgan is the single hottest cold-blooded killer ever.
    Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    For me, this is one of the best english shows (Dark Mirror is the other) in emission actually.
    Elba is awesome, so as the other actors. The
    For me, this is one of the best english shows (Dark Mirror is the other) in emission actually.
    Elba is awesome, so as the other actors. The writing is extremely deep and smart and the tension in every case is quite well implemented.
    Expand
  6. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    One of the best written shows on t.v. With emmy worthy acting by Idris Elba and the supporting cast, Luther never fails to surprise. EveryOne of the best written shows on t.v. With emmy worthy acting by Idris Elba and the supporting cast, Luther never fails to surprise. Every episode ends with a shocking plot twist that leaves you begging for more. DCI John Luthger is one of the most dynamic, interesting characters on t.v. One minute youlove him, and the next you hate him. Its part of what makes Luther such a top notch show. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2016
    1
    Horrible series, I love the main actor but boy the writing and director sucked, it's predictable and Hokie and just doesn't work, the main guyHorrible series, I love the main actor but boy the writing and director sucked, it's predictable and Hokie and just doesn't work, the main guy just figures everything out and he's always right.....so poorly written, I stopped watching after two of them, can't deal with how bad it was. Lots of holes in the story as well. Just bad Expand

See all 31 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows

    2013 Fall TV Preview: Our Comprehensive Guide to the Season's New and Returning Shows Image
    Published: August 28, 2013
    Get a detailed look at every new and returning show coming to broadcast and cable networks this fall, including Marvel's Agents of SHIELD, Sleepy Hollow, The Crazy Ones, Homeland, Boardwalk Empire, The Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, and much more.
  2. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  3. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.