• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 253 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 253

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PaulZ.
    Aug 7, 2008
    10
    Cast and writers are quite simply the most talented on TV. Mad Men is one of those shows you just don't want to end and which you anticipate with true pleasure each week. Makes the medium a true art form.
  2. ChrisC
    Aug 2, 2008
    5
    Yet another HBO-mimicking overrated show that just tries to be cynical for cynicism's sake, politically incorrect for political incorrectness' sake, and amoral for amorality's sake. A formulaic cluster-f that gets called 'honest' and 'groundbreaking' because it's particular formula flatters the hipster worldview.
  3. AnitaD.
    Aug 6, 2008
    5
    I don't get all the hype about this show. Does it look good? yes. Is it well acted? Yes. However, I don't think the writing is all that good; it's simply soap opera. I watched Season 1 in a Marathon; caught the first 2 episodes of Season 2. Won't be back for episode 3.
  4. SonjaS.
    Jul 26, 2008
    3
    Don't like it. Would prefer it should have been in B&W, to create '50-'60 atmosphere. Too much sex parts which means how '50-'60 are seen now, with new Millennium eyes, rather then from those days view.
  5. Oct 8, 2010
    0
    Mad Men is poorly written, it spews continually lackluster dialogue, and it struggles with one boring plot line after another. The show boasts quite the cast, but this only underscores how poorly the writers have done in utilizing the talent at their disposal. When it first came out I was intrigued, and subsequently watched several episodes, but it didn't take long to come to theMad Men is poorly written, it spews continually lackluster dialogue, and it struggles with one boring plot line after another. The show boasts quite the cast, but this only underscores how poorly the writers have done in utilizing the talent at their disposal. When it first came out I was intrigued, and subsequently watched several episodes, but it didn't take long to come to the realization that there is simply no "there" there. Short of the somewhat unique premise of the series, there is absolutely nothing about this show that warrants the attention it is getting. Are people really so shallow that they fall for this sophomoric, gimmicky drivel? When I heard that it was actually winning awards I couldn't even believe by ears. Mad Men is every bit as trite and pathetic as our modern movies and music. Style over substance, nothing more. Expand
  6. MichaelB.
    Sep 9, 2008
    9
    Brilliantly crafted down the the last detail. I was born in 1958 and the interaction between the children and the Draper parents has given me significant goose bumps more than once. This show is spot on.
  7. RobbotheYobbo
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I don't understand the reviews that suggest nothing happens on this show. Folks, this is a dramatic series about everything, or perhaps better put, about the crucial thing. It's not just an excuse to titter at the -isms of a bygone era. It's about the human being's constant sense of solitude, and hir desperation, and ultimate inability, to escape it. And yeah, the I don't understand the reviews that suggest nothing happens on this show. Folks, this is a dramatic series about everything, or perhaps better put, about the crucial thing. It's not just an excuse to titter at the -isms of a bygone era. It's about the human being's constant sense of solitude, and hir desperation, and ultimate inability, to escape it. And yeah, the furniture and retro design is boss awesome, too! Expand
  8. BrianG
    Oct 27, 2008
    10
    Finally, one of the few television shows in recent years where the second season not improved over an already very good to great show; it is clearly one of the best dramas to arrive in the past 10-15 years. What an ending last night to the second season. If Elizabeth Moss or Januray Jones don't get nominated next year for Emmys, it will be extremely disappointing.
  9. [Anonymous]
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Best dramatic show of the summer. Praise well deserved.
  10. JoeD.
    Jul 29, 2008
    10
    Almost a perfect show... Scary and superb.
  11. NickD
    Aug 14, 2008
    10
    Awesome! I learned about the show late so I watched the entire first season in a week. I am already loving Season 2. The writing is excellent and heartbreaking. I can almost taste the smoke that fills the screen and I feel like coughing every time I see the actors light up. It's nostalgic without be corny. It's hard to believe that people used to smoke on elevators. I could go Awesome! I learned about the show late so I watched the entire first season in a week. I am already loving Season 2. The writing is excellent and heartbreaking. I can almost taste the smoke that fills the screen and I feel like coughing every time I see the actors light up. It's nostalgic without be corny. It's hard to believe that people used to smoke on elevators. I could go on for days. Excellent show! Expand
  12. DomoR.
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    Damn Brilliant!!!!!!!
  13. MattA.
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    The show deserves a ten because it is the best drama on TV. You have to praise AMC for taking a chance on this show, and boy did it work out for their benefit. The writing is flawless and the acting is pretty close as well. And the way the second episode ended with Don in a Japanese restaurant with Sakamoto Ryu's classis "Sukiyaki" playing in the background was so good it gave me The show deserves a ten because it is the best drama on TV. You have to praise AMC for taking a chance on this show, and boy did it work out for their benefit. The writing is flawless and the acting is pretty close as well. And the way the second episode ended with Don in a Japanese restaurant with Sakamoto Ryu's classis "Sukiyaki" playing in the background was so good it gave me goosebumps. Great stuff that deserves a wider audience. Expand
  14. ec
    Aug 12, 2008
    9
    Easily the greatest show on TV right now. I have a great uncle that was in advertising in nyc in the 60's and he said this show is 90% accurate as far as dialogue/tone/design. Reviewer Chris C writes: "politically incorrect for political incorrectness' sake, and amoral for amorality's sake." were you in advertising in the 1960's? no? then how do you know this is for Easily the greatest show on TV right now. I have a great uncle that was in advertising in nyc in the 60's and he said this show is 90% accurate as far as dialogue/tone/design. Reviewer Chris C writes: "politically incorrect for political incorrectness' sake, and amoral for amorality's sake." were you in advertising in the 1960's? no? then how do you know this is for the sake of those things and not an accurate account of what this world was like? sure, it may be slightly exaggerated, but chauvinism/excessive smoking/drinking was prevalent during this time. PC wasn't even a term. also, hipsters are out at local (bad) noise-rock shows on Sunday nights. hoping to be seen with a PBR in hand. they're definitely not watching this show. Collapse
  15. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Bigger, better and brilliant as ever. Mad Men proves that it's staying. The storyline is ever so more interesting than ever, I did like the first season but now things are more interesting. The time has moved from 1960 to 1962. Jon Hamm is bolder and striking as Don but his female co-stars are stealing his spotlight especially Elizabeth Moss as Peggy who is joining the boys in the bigBigger, better and brilliant as ever. Mad Men proves that it's staying. The storyline is ever so more interesting than ever, I did like the first season but now things are more interesting. The time has moved from 1960 to 1962. Jon Hamm is bolder and striking as Don but his female co-stars are stealing his spotlight especially Elizabeth Moss as Peggy who is joining the boys in the big leagues and January Jones whose role as housewife is becoming more frayed than ever. What you see more is the change of scenery and how in depth it seems to go. Still the greatest TV show of the moment? You bet your f#&@ing ass it is. Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2011
    8
    Far and a way better than te first season. **** anyone that says it's boring. Just watch it. Not as good as Breaking Bad, but a worthy contender. ****ing brilliant! Live on Don Draper!!
  17. Apr 2, 2013
    8
    Set about a year after the first season the 1960's are well and truly up and swinging (Free love, the cold war etc) and we return to the lives of the men and women of Sterling Cooper advertising and their families. As with the first season there are periods where it appears as if very little is happening meaning some may find their attention wandering but with every role played toSet about a year after the first season the 1960's are well and truly up and swinging (Free love, the cold war etc) and we return to the lives of the men and women of Sterling Cooper advertising and their families. As with the first season there are periods where it appears as if very little is happening meaning some may find their attention wandering but with every role played to perfection the subtle scripting will ensure that most are drawn back episode after episode. If anything this is a slight improvement on the first season, which did take a few episodes to really develop the characters. Expand
  18. Jan 16, 2012
    9
    Still numeral uno! You gel with the characters even when they're whiny pompous spoiled brats. Pampered! Sometimes Mad Men can turn into Cry Babies and go thru any lengths to get what they want. Super egos!
  19. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    Probably my most favorite season from the entire series simply because its interesting and tense in the same time. There is really not much to say i absolutely liked every episode and the season finally was amazing as well, great series, great actors!!
  20. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Great in every possible way, specially the show's great acting and writing. It is an honorable representative of the advent of the Golden Age of Television.
  21. May 19, 2014
    7
    This season suffers the same faith that season one did. In fact, season one was far more entertaining. This season was just dry. It is not very difficult to get into the minds of these characters but they are just not very interesting people (most of them). It does have its moments. John Slattery makes this show. The entire idea is great and the show looks great but Draper is just not veryThis season suffers the same faith that season one did. In fact, season one was far more entertaining. This season was just dry. It is not very difficult to get into the minds of these characters but they are just not very interesting people (most of them). It does have its moments. John Slattery makes this show. The entire idea is great and the show looks great but Draper is just not very interesting a man. Expand
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. 90
    Mad Men returns for season 2 in excellent form: There's a rich and active subtext in this series, you just have to discover it.
  2. The premiere jumps the series from 1960 to 1962, but it plays coy with most of last season's cliff-hangers, including the whereabouts of Peggy's son with married exec Pete Campbell (played with oily brilliance by Vincent Kartheiser). It's quite a tease, but the debut proves Mad Men is as smart as ever
  3. Far from devolving into soapy Madison Avenue pablum, Mad Men is painstakingly building its way to genuine greatness.