Mad Men : Season 4

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 355 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Season four continues with Don Draper's divorce from his wife while the new agency Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce begins business.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. 100
    The final scene is a moment of pure TV story-telling mastery straight through to the sounding of "Tobacco Road." And you can feel the surge of energy it releases in Draper's psyche--and the series--practically radiating off the screen.
  2. 100
    To paraphrase one of the great ads from the glory days: Between love and Mad Men lies obsession.
  3. 100
    Don has shed some secrets, but the more he puts himself on the line, the bigger chance there is for failure. And when it comes to showing how complicated people fare under pressure, the sterling Mad Men has few peers.
  4. Sunday night's opening episode, Public Relations, delivers some jaw-dropping moments.
  5. 90
    The writing remains remarkable, as it toggles between the rhythms and cliches of 1950s movies and the timeless resonance of mid-20th-century theater. You rarely find such economical and evocative scripting on TV.
  6. Matthew Weiner's stylish soap opera continues to be both stylish and sudsy in about equal parts, and, as always, I'd be happy to spend most of my time at the office with Don, learning the secrets of advertising and ignoring his mess of a personal life, if not for Don's precocious daughter, the inimitable Sally Draper (Kiernan Shipka).
  7. 70
    The events of that Season 3 finale have rebounded to the good of the Season 4 premiere. And Season 4 gets off to a very promising start on Sunday.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    Easily the most intelligent and addicting show on television. I had my doubts when this show first started and i kept seeing it win all of theEasily the most intelligent and addicting show on television. I had my doubts when this show first started and i kept seeing it win all of the awards year after year and i got tired of it, so this past year i figured, lets try it out. I did and i've been absolutely hooked since, and i cannot wait for season five on the 25th. This show deserves any kind of praise it gets. I've never seen a show so realistic and intelligent and beautiful ever in my life...until Mad Men. Best show EVER! Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Astonishing. Mad Men excels on every level. It achieves what hitherto I've only experienced in opera... questioning my very existence andAstonishing. Mad Men excels on every level. It achieves what hitherto I've only experienced in opera... questioning my very existence and shaking me to my very core. Expand
  3. LauraP.
    Jul 27, 2010
    10
    Mad Men is back, and while there are drastic changes for Don Draper and Co., the show seems fresh and familiar at the same time. No cuts of Mad Men is back, and while there are drastic changes for Don Draper and Co., the show seems fresh and familiar at the same time. No cuts of awesomeness here! Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    though the season ended on a sour note for me with don not acting very much like don, i still loved the season and as always it captured thethough the season ended on a sour note for me with don not acting very much like don, i still loved the season and as always it captured the time period and characters very well Expand
  5. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    The first three seasons were fantastic and this is the best season yet. So entertaining and great story lines! Great show! Love watching itThe first three seasons were fantastic and this is the best season yet. So entertaining and great story lines! Great show! Love watching it and my husband loves it too. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Mad Men is one of those rare shows that just continues to get better with every new season. Season four focuses heavily on Don Draper (Hamm)Mad Men is one of those rare shows that just continues to get better with every new season. Season four focuses heavily on Don Draper (Hamm) as, having seen his marriage collapse, we begin to truly see the man behind the mask for the first time. The writers do a brilliant job of showing us a dark time in Don’s life was also reminding us what a smart and talented man he can be when he sets his mind to it. John Hamm is quite frankly superb throughout and it is to the credit of the supporting cast that they are not completely overshadowed by his performance.

    In an age full of reality nonsense and programmes dumbed down to ‘appeal to everyone’ it is a delight to watch a show with such intelligence that rewards it viewers with drama of the highest order.
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    This season really just does not work for me & the actors & writers need to show more expression like the first & second season that deservedThis season really just does not work for me & the actors & writers need to show more expression like the first & second season that deserved there Emmy nominations Expand

See all 37 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Episode Review: Mad Men Series Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Series Finale Image
    Published: May 17, 2015
    Find out what critics are saying about the final episode of AMC's "Mad Men."
  2. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  4. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  5. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  6. Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: June 11, 2012
    What did TV critics think of last night's season-ending episode of "Mad Men," and of the fifth season as a whole? Find out inside.
  7. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  8. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  9. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  10. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  11. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  12. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  13. The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: August 30, 2010
    Our look at last night's Emmy ceremony includes a list of winners, an analysis of the evening's surprises, and a look at what TV critics are saying about the broadcast.
  14. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  15. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.