• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8
Mad Men Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The final season of the drama begins, with seven episodes airing in 2014 and the remaining seven scheduled for Spring 2015.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 9, 2014
    100
    The writing, by Weiner, direction by Scott Hornbacher and performances are, of course, top notch.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 8, 2014
    100
    Weiner’s ability to capture “human” set Mad Men apart at the first beginning and shows no sign of faltering at the second.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 10, 2014
    91
    The pace hasn’t quickened. Nor does the storyline congeal. Instead, Sunday’s re-opener builds to a terrifically poignant finish accompanied by music that likewise cries out in pain.
  4. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 11, 2014
    88
    Mad Men has both the greatness of execution and inscrutability of artistic intent, and it won't be until the show actually ends that I'll know which one won out. [21 Apr 2014, p.41]
  5. Reviewed by: Kristi Turnquist
    Jun 24, 2014
    80
    With its signature mixture of tiny details providing texture and easy storytelling flow, Mad Men lures us back into its final season with all the confidence in the world.
  6. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Apr 11, 2014
    80
    In each one [hour] that we do see, there’s a sense of urgency in the face of change, of characters figuring they have maybe one more chance to get themselves where they want to be.
  7. Reviewed by: Mark Dawidziak
    Apr 11, 2014
    50
    In the past, the slower season premieres crackled with energy. You could feel the tension. Traveling through Time Zones, you experience something of a power failure.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    Don't listen to the naysayers who think the only valid criticism is to carp and complain.

    Mad Men continues to be one of the most
    brilliantly written, acted, and directed programs on TV. Anyone who claims that the first episode was predictable and the performances phoned in just does not have the inherent capacity to appreciate what they're watching. Matt Weiner still has the ability to both fullfill and upend viewers' expectations at the same time. It's what makes Mad Men so compelling. Expand
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    The first half of Mad Men season 7 lived up to my high expectations that I set when I heard the final season would be split into two parts. The first two episodes were very good: easily living up to Mad Men standards. Field Trip was the first episode I loved. It was followed by The Monolith, one of my favorite Mad Men episodes to date, an episode packed with symbolism and passionate outbursts. The next episode, The Runaways, is almost certainly the weirdest, most surprising Mad Men episode I've ever seen, but it was still incredible. The last two episodes were consistently excellent, with moments that stand alongside my favorite moments in the whole show. The mid-season finale made me want more, but not in the cheap way of most shows: I am intrigued without feeling like my emotions were manipulated. I am eagerly awaiting the series finale, and I can't wait to see what all the writers will create next! Collapse
  3. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    the ending was the best part of the whole episode. otherwise it doesn't really look too interesting. same old, same old so far. Hopefully the rest of the season improves. Expand
  4. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    A very strong season opener to what I'm sure will be an outstanding final season to one of the greatest TV shows ever made.

    Mad Men is one
    of those rare shows that is able to nail almost everything perfectly. The acting performances are outstanding , the cinematography and the gorgeous production values are stunning, and the rich,intricate writing is as razor-sharp as always. Whatever way you put it, Mad Men is a landmark Television show and one of the prime examples of the so called "TV Golden Age". Its definitely a show in the league of all-time greats like "The Wire", "The Sopranos" and "Mad Men". As always its a joy to watch.

    Its going to be sad to see it go, but all great things have to come to an inevitable end eventually. Cant wait to see the rest of the season. I'm already hooked.
    Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    Mad Men is finally back, and the beginning of the end is off to a great start. The pilot may have been trying to pack a little too much story into it's allotted time, but even with a slightly overstuffed hour, this seems like one of the series better season openers. If the final scene is any indication, we are in for a sullen end. Expand
  6. Apr 14, 2014
    5
    Mad Men really feels like a show that's run a season too long. It started feeling that way towards the in season 6 and, sadly, season 7 follows suit as it limps out of the gate. Whatever connections I felt with these characters from seasons 1-4 have slowly been whittled away by seasons 5 and 6. Now in Season 7, I can't bring myself to really care about them anymore. Don is the same old Don. Peggy is the same old Peggy. Sterling is the same old Sterling, now with 100% more LSD instead of booze. Pete has changed for the (somewhat) better but at the cost of everyone else at SC&P, who have all become jerks.

    Like LamontRaymond said in his review of the pilot, it just feels like we've been here before... Over and over and over again. The suspense and drama of the character interactions ran their course a long time ago. Meanwhile, the promo videos show Pete talking to someone on the phone about breaking away and starting yet another agency? We've seen that plot line once already...
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    0
    A lackluster, been-there-done-that season so far. Season 6 ended poised on the edge of a huge change for Don Draper. This season has been spent backpedaling. Instead of going forward with his new honest attitude, facing his past and identity in an unvarnished way, and facing the consequences of that, which would have provided viewers and writers with plenty of dramatic conflict, Don is simply trying to patch over the honesty and get back to his old tricks. As a result the show is just one big retread of things that were already a retread as it was. Even the shock-of-your-life Sally got last season has been swept under the run almost as if it never happened. SO hugely disappointing. It appears Mad Men will go out with a whimper. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  2. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  3. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  4. Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: June 11, 2012
    What did TV critics think of last night's season-ending episode of "Mad Men," and of the fifth season as a whole? Find out inside.
  5. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  6. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  7. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  8. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  9. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  10. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  11. The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: August 30, 2010
    Our look at last night's Emmy ceremony includes a list of winners, an analysis of the evening's surprises, and a look at what TV critics are saying about the broadcast.
  12. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  13. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.