• Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 514 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 514

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GabrielA
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    Excellent, amazing show. Well done.
  2. PeterC
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    How refreshing to have a meaningful, well-written show to watch, with interesting characters, settings, and storylines. I am really excitied about seeing where the series leads. Beautifully shot, costumed, and acted.
  3. JaneM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the best drama on TV in 2007!
  4. JoanL.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I had given up on watching TV until I started on this program. Here's hoping it continues.
  5. William
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Superb! Simply the best writing, acting and production on TV today. Astounding and subtle detail on the Way We Were in the early 1960s. WOW !
  6. DuncanB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is certainly the best drama since the first season of the Sopranos. Mature, elegant, exquisite writing and art direction. And compelling, voluptuously braided story lines.
  7. JJ.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    My husband and I are hard to please TV watchers--we don't like foul language but we like good drama and mystery and visually interesting scenes and dialogue with "sparks". We look forward to each new episode.
  8. petera.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Clearly the best show on TV, every week is funny, twisted and touching.
  9. Crystal
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    I love this show. It's very entertaining and witty. I really look forward to watching it and really hope it will be back on AMC for more of the same next season. I'm addicted to the show!
  10. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Mad Men is along with Breaking Bad the best show on TV. If you have not seen the show you are missing out. This is a show you have to watch from the beginning. The show is so subtle and nuanced. I can't even begin to describe how much I love this show. WATCH IT.
  11. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Though it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, andThough it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, and every performance, particularly by Jon Hamm and January Jones, give it a sense of power that most TV shows beg for. Expand
  12. EliasC
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    It has taken me awhile to get around to this series, and I have only watched the first 3 episodes, but my initial impression is that this will be a great series. I originally thought that this show was a boring time piece on 1950/60's advertising. Instead I watched 3 episodes that expertly captured the cultural mores and human interactions of that period of history. This is a show It has taken me awhile to get around to this series, and I have only watched the first 3 episodes, but my initial impression is that this will be a great series. I originally thought that this show was a boring time piece on 1950/60's advertising. Instead I watched 3 episodes that expertly captured the cultural mores and human interactions of that period of history. This is a show for those who remember those times. Some people may wax woefully about the good old days of the early 60's, but for most of us THIS was the reality. The actors behave as if they stepped out of 1960 complete with their cynicism, twisted morality, sexism, and racism. Thankfully most of us have matured beyond the behavior portrayed in 'Mad Men'. For the rest, this show will be a painful reminder. Expand
  13. EmilyW
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Stunning.
  14. May 5, 2011
    10
    This was the gem that got away (from HBO)...but gratefully, a show made all the more accessible to viewers on AMC. The music and strategic placement of the era songs, fashion and advertising campaigns make the ad family of Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce (formerly Sterling Cooper) very alluring from a social-cultural perspective. That most of the cast are virtually new to many of us viewersThis was the gem that got away (from HBO)...but gratefully, a show made all the more accessible to viewers on AMC. The music and strategic placement of the era songs, fashion and advertising campaigns make the ad family of Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce (formerly Sterling Cooper) very alluring from a social-cultural perspective. That most of the cast are virtually new to many of us viewers (except those of us who fondly remember Robert Morse back in the day) compels us to keep our eye on the script and story driven developments. The stylish look, the visual and audio nuances and the political and cultural backdrop are enticements to keep us all watching from Season to Season. Many of us had hoped to see MAD MEN go off into the hemisphere....moving through the Camelot years of the 60s, through the roaring turbulence of the 70s....incorporating some of the Disco era....to the Morning in America, when our long national nightmare would really be over. Yet, negotiations appear to deprive us from this so there remains only 3 seasons left. What to do....what to do?? Expand
  15. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    The hype around this show was killing me and I really wanted to watch it, so I did and i did not regret wasting my time on it. Mad Men is awesome the era in which the show takes place is awesome the events that occur during each episode are interesting, the Actors are great and the backstory is great nonetheless. Big fan of the series so far !!
  16. IndiaS
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    Great Show the best I have seem in a long time.
  17. RobL.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    This is one of thebest written shows I've ever seen. Great acting, great art direction. I was just a little kid in the late 50's and early 60's but more correctly than any film or TV show I have ever seen, "Mad Men" captures the look, the feel, the mores and the manners of that time period.
  18. JoanneG
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    I am stunned by the realistic complexity of the characters and plot. I'm addicted.
  19. robr.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Perfect television.
  20. HollieW.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful and captivating.
  21. LibD.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome! couldn't love this show more.
  22. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Boring..season 4 shows that the writers are losing interest and certainly we feel the same. I watched this show from day one and always looked forward to to the next one. It is hard enough to keep up since there are only 13 shows a year but the writers are flying through the 60's missing many opportunities for good stories. This season is nothing more than Don sleeping with everyone andBoring..season 4 shows that the writers are losing interest and certainly we feel the same. I watched this show from day one and always looked forward to to the next one. It is hard enough to keep up since there are only 13 shows a year but the writers are flying through the 60's missing many opportunities for good stories. This season is nothing more than Don sleeping with everyone and drinking. Alright already, we got that in the first season. Betty's marriage was not written about at all...I wondered if I had missed a show...This season is tedious to watch. I was a huge fan this past 3 years. This season I am sorry I spent $20 on Itunes to get the show at a better time than 10 pm sunday nights...Bcoooooo MadMen Expand
  23. guyd.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    The series started off with charm, wit and sophistication -- and actually got even better with each episode. But... was everyone so handsome and beautiful in 1960?
  24. CrisiK.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Mad Men is a refreshing realistic dose of what life was once like not too long ago. It's a way to feel comfortable and guilt-free about the lives our parents lived and it helps us to understand why life today is so different. The show is smart, funny and relevant. There are still so many issues in the home, workplace, and city-life that we still face today, just in a different Mad Men is a refreshing realistic dose of what life was once like not too long ago. It's a way to feel comfortable and guilt-free about the lives our parents lived and it helps us to understand why life today is so different. The show is smart, funny and relevant. There are still so many issues in the home, workplace, and city-life that we still face today, just in a different atmosphere. It's brilliant and well thought out. Expand
  25. E-Man
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    The tension of what the future holds is palpably daunting amid superb characterizations in this peeled back look at a time when people struggled to cope with what was perceived as the cutting edge of social progress. Cinematic in feel, rich in portrayal, half the fun is in anticipating which incredibly politically incorrect taboo the cast will violate next. No Darrin Stevens in this up The tension of what the future holds is palpably daunting amid superb characterizations in this peeled back look at a time when people struggled to cope with what was perceived as the cutting edge of social progress. Cinematic in feel, rich in portrayal, half the fun is in anticipating which incredibly politically incorrect taboo the cast will violate next. No Darrin Stevens in this up and coming Madison Avenue advertising firm that focuses on a philandering husband Don Draper, a re-chiseled man with a past who's one of the best at what he does. Office hussies either work or become victims to ogling men, co-workers enjoy morning shots at their desks, divorcees are neighborhood pariahs, picnickers litter openly, partiers drink and drive, kids not only romp over seats in moving cars, but they also play under dry cleaner plastic and prep their daddies Expand
  26. TimH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Better than just about everything on the broadcast channels - the acting and writing in this show is great. The schlocky "look at the 1960's technology" that was present in early episodes faded into the background, most likely because the you are completely absorbed by the characters. One of the best shows on television right now, and one of the best shows in the last decade. If you Better than just about everything on the broadcast channels - the acting and writing in this show is great. The schlocky "look at the 1960's technology" that was present in early episodes faded into the background, most likely because the you are completely absorbed by the characters. One of the best shows on television right now, and one of the best shows in the last decade. If you haven't checked it out, you are missing out. Expand
  27. WilliamM
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    The writing is superb in this drama. It captures the underside of this period exceptionally well. It reminds us how much things have actually change - for the better, for once.
  28. susans
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Love it, it is spot on. I've lived this!!!! Great well written and acted show. Please give it a chance and keep it on the air!!!!
  29. GinnyW
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Love this show. Love the subtle, restrained, conflicted characterization & the generational and gender juxtapositioning. Kudos to the writers & actors - Intelligent, artful drama on TV - What a concept!!
  30. DaveC
    Aug 22, 2007
    9
    Great humor in looking at how you used to live as a kid. Did we really survive playing with BB guns and dry cleaning bags? Oh yeah, we used to call the neighbors Mr. and Mrs. not by their first names. At minimum, Mad Men allows us to chuckle at ourselves. Beyond that, a deep look into the way the office used to operate -- good or bad -- makes us see how far we have come. However, the Great humor in looking at how you used to live as a kid. Did we really survive playing with BB guns and dry cleaning bags? Oh yeah, we used to call the neighbors Mr. and Mrs. not by their first names. At minimum, Mad Men allows us to chuckle at ourselves. Beyond that, a deep look into the way the office used to operate -- good or bad -- makes us see how far we have come. However, the personal issues we never seem to figure out. Fifty years later, we still can't get that straight. Expand
  31. DebbieS.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    I am fascinated by how the show recreates this era. It is good for young people today to see what it was like in the days before feminism, when attitudes about race, religion, and sexual harrassment in the workplace stagnated opportunities for women, minorities, and gays. Things aren't perfect now, but at least there isn't a smoky haze creating a smug fictional perfection over I am fascinated by how the show recreates this era. It is good for young people today to see what it was like in the days before feminism, when attitudes about race, religion, and sexual harrassment in the workplace stagnated opportunities for women, minorities, and gays. Things aren't perfect now, but at least there isn't a smoky haze creating a smug fictional perfection over American life. Expand
  32. SteveA.
    Aug 9, 2007
    9
    Doctors have ER. Lifeguards have Baywatch. Now Salesman/women now have Mad Men. Suite up, Smile, Shake hands and SELL IT! Close the big deal, tell the spouse you will be late and in your spare time watch Mad Men becuase it will bring sanity to your Sales career.
  33. JeanM.
    Sep 17, 2007
    10
    Finally----a good one!
  34. BarbaraS.
    Sep 2, 2007
    10
    I have been watching this show since it began and look forward to every episode. While I was not in the business until the late '70's, even in that era I can still recall the similarities that still existed in 1978. In fact, my Aunt tells me that employment applications in 1960 asked for your religious persuasion, and friends have told me that their relatives married their I have been watching this show since it began and look forward to every episode. While I was not in the business until the late '70's, even in that era I can still recall the similarities that still existed in 1978. In fact, my Aunt tells me that employment applications in 1960 asked for your religious persuasion, and friends have told me that their relatives married their bosses. The episode that shows the junior executive keeping his position because of his family connections is right on! It is so true... Also entertaining is the tidbits about the sponsors' ad history. Lots of things I did not know. My son, who is a sophomore in college is addicted to this show. Great writing. Keep it up. I hope that AMC does not pull this show. In comparison to AMC's average rating, this show is really way ahead in viewership. Expand
  35. RowenaC.
    May 18, 2008
    10
    This is the best TV I have ever seen, as was 6 feet under. Beats anything that the BBC or other UK channels offer. Please don't stop making it.
  36. EvaR.
    Aug 18, 2009
    10
    This series is marvelous. I would only point out to the writers that back in 1960/63, people had not yet started to talk in the absurd way they do now, using "they" all the time instead of "he" (or "she" in appropriate places). I heard, "Of course it's possible someone could distinguish THEMSELVES..." spoken by a BRITISH member of the cast! NOT in 1963!
  37. MartinS.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    I couldn't take my eyes off of this show.
  38. samk
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    I love this show. It is a gift, a real treasure. I never thought television would ever be this mature, enlightened even. This show's first season is on par with the best in cinema as far as I can tell. Very smart writing, perfect execution, enigmatic tone. From the opening titles and their terrifying sense of free falling through the thin ice of modern life, to the fascinating I love this show. It is a gift, a real treasure. I never thought television would ever be this mature, enlightened even. This show's first season is on par with the best in cinema as far as I can tell. Very smart writing, perfect execution, enigmatic tone. From the opening titles and their terrifying sense of free falling through the thin ice of modern life, to the fascinating characters and superb cast, this is great stuff. I find it particularly interesting to watch Don Draper and Peggy Olsen inventing themselves before our eyes, riding a razor's edge. But I most enjoy the heady and heavy tone, delivering a wicked good story with cool style, variously reminiscent of Douglas Sirk, Stanley Kubrick and Yasujiro Ozu. Matthew Weiner has achieved a perfect recreation of the period's psychological atmosphere, as complete as Ang Lee's "The Ice Storm." You are there! Sorry Tom Schales, you simply don't get it. To those who find it boring, you should watch some ADD show instead. To those offended by the values and lifestyles portrayed, experiencing that is the point, because that is us and you just aren't aware of your own history. Expand
  39. LynnR
    Jul 25, 2007
    9
    This show is a winner! I've worked with these guys before or at least the clones these guys represent.
  40. JimK.
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    Wow! I'm stunned at the failure to get this show by a great critic like Tom Schales, but man Mad Men is just terrific! It's portrayal of the era is spot on--my dad was Don Drapers' age in 1960 at McCann-Ericsson and we grew up in a neighborhood of "Mad Men" who took the train every day to agencies like DDB, Ted Bates and others. But Weiner isn't doing a documentary, Wow! I'm stunned at the failure to get this show by a great critic like Tom Schales, but man Mad Men is just terrific! It's portrayal of the era is spot on--my dad was Don Drapers' age in 1960 at McCann-Ericsson and we grew up in a neighborhood of "Mad Men" who took the train every day to agencies like DDB, Ted Bates and others. But Weiner isn't doing a documentary, instead he uses the era to tell us about the characters in it and in a way comment on our current society. Any young woman who disses feminism should check out this show. From the closeted gay art director, to Draper's agony at finding himself actually in love but locked into marriage to sorority girl who herself, knows something wrong with their "perfect" life, to Draper's boss, played by John Slattery, who is trapped in his own way as the son of the nutty dictator who founded the agency to Pete Campbell the entitled but still anguished junior account exec, and finally the new girl in the secretarial pool, who, after seeing a weeping co-worker and getting the skinny on the business from a cynical copywriter, might be on her way to something more perhaps (?), Mad Men delivers character after character worth caring about. Having seen the first four episodes, I can only say it's the best viewing experience I've had since season one of the Sopranos--like that show it took something I thought I knew about, and created a unique, and facinating world that seems very real. Don't miss it! Expand
  41. BF.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Wonderful program, writing, acting, props,sets and drama. We loose sight of how the world was in the early 60's but this brings it back. The male supremacy, occasional independent woman and separation of male/female roles is hard to watch because it is so close to the truth.
  42. PaulaJ.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    I found this in Comcast's On Demand. Completely engaging, wonderful costumes and sets. Addictive.
  43. JanetL.
    Aug 26, 2007
    10
    I worked in Advertising in NYC on Lexington Avenue in the early 80's and am really enjoying this show. Women has come a long way baby - my boss was a female - I was a media trainee. The big expense accounts and elaborate gifts were flush then. I started out as a secretary in a pool to a group of "ad space" men. A truly enjoyable show. .
  44. LilaR.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    I love this show. It is one of the first I have seen in a long time that I never want to miss. Kudos to AMC !
  45. otherK.
    Aug 7, 2007
    9
    Set designs alone make this a must-watch. Was looking for a new drama and this (along with Weeds) is it!
  46. judyt.
    Sep 1, 2007
    10
    Absolutely the best progrm on tv in years(except the Sopranos) Please keep it on in the fall!
  47. MarkS
    Dec 20, 2007
    9
    Phenomenal insight into the American psyche in 1960. Cinematography absolutely divine. I can practically smell the hairspray and Lucky Strike from the TV. Characters fit their roles wonderfully. Robert Morse is the perfect bridge character from that era. Good going!!!!!!!!!!!
  48. Sonia/F
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    EXQUISITE CINEMATOGRAPHY AND NUANCED DIALOGUE, EASILY WOULD BE THE BEST OF CURRENT SERIES (APART FROM ENTOURAGE) WERE IT ON HBO.
  49. DerekT
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    Mad Men is compelling. I had taped it, watched it last night, and then watched the entire episode again this morning - and found entirely new things in it. The attention to period detail is incredible, and the show is very well acted. Like Six Feet Under, this is a show that will have me hooked until it ends.
  50. BillY.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    brilliantly written, acted, and directed. the details are amazing...everything from the social attitudes towards race, gender, politics...to the design, fashion, and even health. I'm not sure why it's on AMC, but I'm thankful that AMC has an HD Comcast On Demand channel. Fantastic show.
  51. VICKIEP
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    This show is right on. You have to read between the lines but it is worth it. I love the subtleness and wit of the writers in developing the plots and the characters. Hope AMC does not give up on this gem!!!
  52. BrianS.
    Sep 19, 2007
    10
    Best Show On TV.
  53. NikS.
    Sep 23, 2007
    10
    This show is why marriages used to work. Wish the world was like this today. Women could learn a thing or two from this amazing show. Its like watching my grandparents when they were young. Ps. They're still together.
  54. GeorgeD
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Further proof that TV has vaulted past the movies in dramatic writing and even production design. Completely engaging.
  55. LoriA.
    Sep 29, 2007
    10
    This show keeps you coming back for more. You definitely have to wait for the "kicker" in each show, but it's worth the wait. The best was "Stepford Wife" Betty with her white-frame sunglasses and cigarette hanging out of her mouth, shooting the neighbor's homing pigeons!
  56. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Love the show, especially the stuff set in the business world vs the home-life stuff. One question though-- do the writers have some sort of competition on going for how unlikable they can make Betty?
  57. Sep 17, 2010
    9
    There is not a hair out of place on these actors nor a prop mis-acquired. The era is represented prefectly. As a woman, watching this can be quite shocking, it does help me put myself in my mother's shoes and understand her life.
  58. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    finally a show that makes you THINK! there is time to figure out what is going on for yourself, they don't spell it all out. characters are complex, unclear, frustrating, loveable--just like real people. great show!!!
  59. Jan 20, 2011
    10
    Just started watching this show. Extremely entertaining. This show is not supposed to be life changing, it's just entertainment. I would like to ask the individuals that have rated this show below a score of "5" what they consider to be a "10" score this season. Please feel free to respond.
  60. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Just superb television. Works on so many different levels; like a lasagne. On the plus side watching this series has made me appreciate style and the joy of wearing a fine suit. On the downside it has made me want to start smoking again ;(
  61. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Most of the bad reviews on this website for this show don't understand one of two things:

    1. This is an extremely accurate portrayal of the 60s. Everyone dressed like this, and many women acted like this. 2. As one reviewer said: Mad Men is a hamfisted portrayal of a some of the more obvious biases and blindnesses of the early 60s. As if every day dawned in 1960 in order to provide
    Most of the bad reviews on this website for this show don't understand one of two things:

    1. This is an extremely accurate portrayal of the 60s. Everyone dressed like this, and many women acted like this.

    2. As one reviewer said: Mad Men is a hamfisted portrayal of a some of the more obvious biases and blindnesses of the early 60s. As if every day dawned in 1960 in order to provide white men with opportunities to manifest their sexual and racial biases"

    Not all white men were provide with "opportunities to manifest their sexual and racial biases," but the ad men on Madison Avenue were. They were notorious, but most men were relatively similar to today with maybe some sexism and racism mixed in.

    I personally think it is one of the best dramas, if not the best drama I have ever seen. It's not exciting so to speak, and not much really even happens in the first season, but it is an EXTREMELY accurate portrayal of people and their interactions with each other that I find fascinating and sometimes hilarious. I for one probably find the show much more comical than I'm supposed to, but sometimes the characters get angry/sad for the dumbest of reasons and I find that really funny because even though the reason is stupid, half the time the character is too and nothing is inaccurate.
    Expand
  62. Dec 16, 2011
    9
    We love this show! Not very many shows out there give an honest representation of the American family but, this show has hit a nerve. America can't be summed up with a inane joke and a laugh track. We need to delve into our wonderful history and embrace both the good and the bad!
  63. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Mad Men is intelligent and eclectic. A brilliant depiction of an ad firm back when capitalism was just growing into the propaganda monster it has now become. The show is rarely short of beautiful women as they seem to serve as short-term muses to Don Draper, the show's maddest man.
  64. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    One of the best shows ever written for television. It's 4 Best Drama Emmy awards can attest to that bold claim. It was ripped off of a record setting 5th in a row but whatever. No show has sustained the level of excellence that Mad Men has for 6 seasons in a row. They are supposed to have one final season as the show will culminate in 1969. I've always said that I want the show to endOne of the best shows ever written for television. It's 4 Best Drama Emmy awards can attest to that bold claim. It was ripped off of a record setting 5th in a row but whatever. No show has sustained the level of excellence that Mad Men has for 6 seasons in a row. They are supposed to have one final season as the show will culminate in 1969. I've always said that I want the show to end before we see Don Draper in bell-bottom jeans. However, if anyone could pull off that look it would be Dandy Don. Expand
  65. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Without any doubt the best serie I've ever seen. It has a nice story, which is very realistic. The early 60's are protayed very well - by great actors such as Jon Hamm and Elisabeth Moss.

    Also January Jones fits her character perfectly, I haven't seen one scene of her where she didn't act wonderfully.

    I can't wait to see the next season.
  66. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Art of Seduction 101! Don Draper can make TV women drop their panties with swagger. The Pick Up Artist! The only TV series with class and clever dialogue. No show can match its wit or office politics. Power play!
  67. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Excellent. Was a bit skeptical at first; due to the subject of the show. It didn't really pique my interest at first. But, I gave the first episode a try, and was completely drawn in by all of it. The atmosphere and authenticity of the time period is nailed perfectly here; you really do feel like your watching real life in the '60s. From the offices and rooms of the advertising agency, toExcellent. Was a bit skeptical at first; due to the subject of the show. It didn't really pique my interest at first. But, I gave the first episode a try, and was completely drawn in by all of it. The atmosphere and authenticity of the time period is nailed perfectly here; you really do feel like your watching real life in the '60s. From the offices and rooms of the advertising agency, to the musty bars and taverns -- everything feels spot on. The characters are well developed & interesting; there's a lot to enjoy just from the characters themselves. The character development in this show is very in-depth and well thought out. Characters don't just stay stagnant and stay the same, they change and grow over time (Peggy being the greatest example of that -- this season, at least) as the show progresses. The acting is top-notch as well; Hamm, Moss, & Slattery in particular.

    There is no reason not to love this show. Give it a try before you knock it.
    Expand
  68. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    So amazing. The character development is phenomenal. Although I wasn't born quite a bit AFTER the 50's, 60's and 70's, I love taking a look into that world, in those times, with these characters. My advice: Just. Watch. It.
  69. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is one of the few shows I really love and must see on TV. AMC does a good job with most. Seasons 1-2 were excellent. Season 3 was good, but things are beginning to run their course. Same thing happened with Breaking bad and Nip Tuck after 2 good seasons.

    I love this so much, I often have watched the encore presentation back to back
  70. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    An intelligent, cool, refreshing and very enjoyable TV show. The representations of its time, place and people couldn't be more accurate nor interesting. Great, the beginning of a great series.
  71. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    When the first season of Mad Men was shown on TV, I thought it was absolutely brilliant. I loved everything about it: the accuracy of the details, the wonderful costumes, the slow pace - finally a show that does not flow at manic speed and where there is more than car chase and explosions.

    I found it delightful that the focus of the show was an advertisement agency and not hospitals and
    When the first season of Mad Men was shown on TV, I thought it was absolutely brilliant. I loved everything about it: the accuracy of the details, the wonderful costumes, the slow pace - finally a show that does not flow at manic speed and where there is more than car chase and explosions.

    I found it delightful that the focus of the show was an advertisement agency and not hospitals and police stations, as it happens all too often. All this and one of the most mysterious, magnetic characters to grace the screen (Don Draper) and you have one of the best TV shows of the decade.
    Expand
  72. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Addictive and engaging yet subtle. Beautifully shot and acted with multi layered characters. The plot is always detailed and never obvious. Mad Men is unique and clever but always entertains.
  73. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    The feminist in me had trouble getting into the show during the first episode. After hearing friends recommend it highly, I stuck with it and it's now one of my favorite shows. It's brilliantly done, expertly crafted characters with a story line that grabs a hold of you and doesn't let go. I love Betty (January Jones), she is compelling in a magnetic way. And Elisabeth Moss (Peggy) is theThe feminist in me had trouble getting into the show during the first episode. After hearing friends recommend it highly, I stuck with it and it's now one of my favorite shows. It's brilliantly done, expertly crafted characters with a story line that grabs a hold of you and doesn't let go. I love Betty (January Jones), she is compelling in a magnetic way. And Elisabeth Moss (Peggy) is the redeeming voice for women. For me, the show would've gotten a 10 if they had toned down the gratuitous nakedness. Overall, the psychology of the characters is fascinating, and the plot line addictive. Expand
  74. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    I think that Mad Men is a great piece of TV/AMC history. I seriously think that Donald Draper is one of the best TV characters ( With Tony Soprano, Walter White, Frank Agnew, Harvey Spector AND Micheal Westin) But Madmen is a great piece of TV Histore it is for 14+ But I advise you.................... To watch this show
  75. May 26, 2014
    9
    Mad Men is a great show; it really is an intriguing world that the writers have created and the acting is sublime. Although the decision to make a mid-season finale is dreadful as it was with Breaking Bad, I can't wait until I can finish this epic and I am curious to see if it all comes to a fantastic crescendo.
  76. Apr 10, 2015
    9
    The first season of Mad Men I've actually seen twice. The first season is just such a great introduction. The shows pilot episode is one of my personal favorites. Jon Hamm captivates us for the beginning as Don Draper. Draper is one of the most interesting characters that have ever been on television. Despite Draper's obvious flaws I am incredibly drawn to him and then you see his completeThe first season of Mad Men I've actually seen twice. The first season is just such a great introduction. The shows pilot episode is one of my personal favorites. Jon Hamm captivates us for the beginning as Don Draper. Draper is one of the most interesting characters that have ever been on television. Despite Draper's obvious flaws I am incredibly drawn to him and then you see his complete opposite in the antagonist Pete Campbell who you hate as much as you love Draper. The show really captures the point in time that it is sent in which is 1960. The Kennedy vs Nixon election is one of the most pivotal moments of the season. The show starts off wonderfully but also the last three episodes of the season are amazing. Expand
  77. Feb 5, 2015
    9
    polka dot corpse

    Mad Men successfully established the prototype for the new cable serial drama. It has the look and feel of something splendid. It is set in the 60's, yet never truly demonstrated just how profound that decade was. The period and setting is reduced to simple decor without a soul. Like advertising. Like the man who calls himself Don Draper. The 60's may well be the most
    polka dot corpse

    Mad Men successfully established the prototype for the new cable serial drama. It has the look and feel of something splendid. It is set in the 60's, yet never truly demonstrated just how profound that decade was. The period and setting is reduced to simple decor without a soul. Like advertising. Like the man who calls himself Don Draper. The 60's may well be the most significant decade in America, one that spawned promises we are still coming to terms with and catching up to, but in Mad Men it is merely peripheral embellishment, window dressing. Despite it's minimalist execution and vapid content, Mad Men has the lure and semblance of profound significance. In it's entire bouquet of 86 episodes, little actually happened. It could all have been effectively distilled into a 90 minute movie. Yet it was all so very seductive and entrancing. It ensnared us with a false nostalgia, those simple, innocuous times. It teased us with a sly grin more enigmatic than the Mona Lisa. Above all, it manufactured a tender impression of comfort and familiarity. Like a narcissistic mirrored experience, punctuated by misguided sexual impulses. Provoking in us to question the flimsiness of our own psyche. At it's core Mad Men is a zombie flick. Empty characters in a soulless world, carrying on despite the absence of meaning and identity. We aren't Don Draper. Jon Hamm isn't Don Draper. Not even Don Draper is Don Draper. I'm still waiting to see the final 7 episodes but I predict (**** Warning! Imaginary Spoiler Ahead! Stop Now or Proceed With Caution! ****) it may end like it began: Don Draper kills Don Draper, possibly sparing his wife. More likely though: nothing much.
    Expand
  78. Nov 15, 2014
    10
    Requires a little patience, a few episodes from the second episode, but when you go watching, you goes enjoying it, trying to understand the ideas, the concepts of the time.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Interestingly, a lot of nothing adds up to a big something.
  2. It's very filmic both in execution and ambition as it explores life before Betty Friedan and the Surgeon General's warnings on cigarette packs.
  3. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    83
    What gives Mad Men its zing is that play is part of work, sexual banter isn't yet harassment, and America is free of self-doubt, guilt, and countercultural confusion.