Mad Men : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 592 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 592

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 3, 2017
    8
    Para quem não sabe mad men (literalmente ``homens loucos´´ era uma brincadeira usada para se referir aos publicitários da Madison avenue referindo-se ao termo ``ad man. Publicitário´´) é uma série da AMC ambientada nos anos 60 em plena New York que mostra o cotidiano da agência de publicidade Sterling copper e a vida de seus funcionários pelos olhos do brilhante publicitário e diretor dePara quem não sabe mad men (literalmente ``homens loucos´´ era uma brincadeira usada para se referir aos publicitários da Madison avenue referindo-se ao termo ``ad man. Publicitário´´) é uma série da AMC ambientada nos anos 60 em plena New York que mostra o cotidiano da agência de publicidade Sterling copper e a vida de seus funcionários pelos olhos do brilhante publicitário e diretor de criação Don Draper (interpretado pelo ótimo Jon Hamm). A série começou a ser exibida em 2007, e acabou em 2015 com 7 temporadas e 92 episódios, ganhadora de vários prêmios a serie se mostrou como uma das melhores da década, isso com certeza chamou minha atenção, então fui ver os episódios na netflix e admito que a serie atropelou minhas expectativas. Começando pela perfeita reconstrução dos anos 60, desde da antiga New York até o uso excessivo de tabaco e álcool (acho que pelo menos 90% dos personagens fumam ou bebem, é como se tudo fedese a cigarro e whisky) além do retrata mento de questões comuns na época como sexismo, adultério, feminismo e outros.
    Oque mas chama atenção na série é como ela entrelaça a vida profissional e pessoal dos personagens´, por exemplo Don é um cara que trabalha em uma cidade grande (no caso New York) mas mora em um subúrbio com a mulher (Betty draper vivida pela ótima January Jones) e dois filhos, ao mesmo tempo que mantem um caso com uma amante a qual ele utiliza para praticar adultério como forma de tentar controlar suas crises pessoais. O chefe de don, Roger Sterling, que é um bom amigo de Don, mas é quase tão ruim quanto ele sempre procurando motivos para farrear e dormir com garotas bem mais novas do que ele. Além do metido Pete Campbell (interpretado por Vincent Kartheiser) que tenta fazer de tudo para subir na vida profissional, mesmo que isso queira dizer o uso dos mais sujos truques disponíveis.
    Partindo para o elenco feminino temos a nova secretaria de Don, Peggy olson (Elizabeth moss) que é a primeira mulher da empresa a subir tão rápido na carreira exercendo um cargo importante. Temos a esposa de Don, betty que tenta seguir a modelo de esposa e mãe perfeita mesmo tendo sonhos pessoais, a qual ela queira realizar. Por fim temos Joan Holloway (Christina Hendricks), a chefe das secretarias que não se importa em esbanjar todo seu sexy apel ou manter relações com homens casados.
    Além disso a questão da publicidade é muito bem usada na série onde a constantes momentos em que os personagens estão em reuniões ou planejando propagandas, por exemplo no primeiro episódio, don está tentando bolar uma nova propaganda para empresa produtora do antigo cigarro Lucky strike. Além disso vemos o primeiro modelo de slide em um ótimo episódio.
    Por fim a primeira temporada serve para estabelecer seus personagens em suas vidas pessoais, e também todo o clima envolvente dos anos 60, sinceramente tomara que daqui para a frente os roteiristas tenham ideias tão brilhantes quanto as dos funcionários da Sterling Cooper
    Nota 83
    Expand
  2. Sep 24, 2016
    4
    I can see the quality in production and maybe in 2007 was a good show, but right now, 2016, there are more interesting things to watch with equal quality but better dialogues and more catching plot.
  3. Jun 21, 2016
    10
    Although this show/series has ended, unfortunately, this is one of the best ever. It accentuates several aspects of life in the sixties and early seventies and every character has a story to tell. The music, scenes, characters and story gives it a perfect environment, for me, to disappear into.
    Its hard, for any series, to beat this one.
  4. Apr 3, 2016
    8
    Mad Men is certainly not a show that instantly grabs your attention like "24" or "Lost" but the subtle, yet well written, script and fantastic performances will slowly draw most viewers in over the course of this first season.

    I can certainly see why some may complain that Mad Men is dull as the show certainly takes its time to introduce us to the characters and there motivations. Stick
    Mad Men is certainly not a show that instantly grabs your attention like "24" or "Lost" but the subtle, yet well written, script and fantastic performances will slowly draw most viewers in over the course of this first season.

    I can certainly see why some may complain that Mad Men is dull as the show certainly takes its time to introduce us to the characters and there motivations. Stick with it through the first few episodes however and you will be rewarded with a show that continually improved season upon season to produce some of the most intelligent and interesting drama ever seen on television.
    Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2016
    10
    Soooo good, from the acting, to writing , to the directing. Each episode is entertaining and characters are well developed. From the costumes to the set design. Very well done. I absolutely love the series. A must see
  6. Oct 19, 2015
    10
    I'm a freshman in college and started watching as a senior in high school, so I was/am rather young compared to the targeted audience. I love anything to do with the 60s, so this show was gold to me. I had a love/hate relationship with Don Draper. He was the "anti-hero" of the series. This show was very well done, but I hated that it had to come to an end.
  7. Sep 14, 2015
    7
    I for the best feature of the series is it's subtle and unsentimental critique of the manipulating enterprise known as advertising. The weaknesses of the series lie in the actors. Jon Hamm seems as if he's made of stone, inexpressive to the point of being entered. On the other hand Betty Draper just needs to take some acting lessons. Her timing is off by about one third the second, andI for the best feature of the series is it's subtle and unsentimental critique of the manipulating enterprise known as advertising. The weaknesses of the series lie in the actors. Jon Hamm seems as if he's made of stone, inexpressive to the point of being entered. On the other hand Betty Draper just needs to take some acting lessons. Her timing is off by about one third the second, and it kills every line sheet of hers. It is a joy to watch Christina Hendricks being framed in all sorts of interesting Color contrasting settings. But I wish they would resist the predictable butt shot as she leaves rooms. It is a thing of beauty to watch, but overdone. The other weakness as well as a potential strength is the understatement, the refusal to explain, and the reliance upon short intense visuals to convey emotions – mostly on the faces of women stunned by the great task behavior of their male counterparts. I know there must be something obvious in it then I missing, but I do not quite understand all the gratuitous sex, unless it is to keep the audience titillated, and the ratings up. Expand
  8. Jun 13, 2015
    10
    i have seen the wire, the sopranos,breaking bad and almost every great show. but none of them are even close to what mad men is. this is the greatest tv drama of all time
  9. Jun 11, 2015
    9
    Weird to rewatch after the whole series is over. The characters are way more caricatures of stereotypes from the '60s instead of characters. Which is understandable, I mean, it was the first season. You can't have complex, deep characters without starting somewhere. It's just bizarre to see someone like Ken be such a sexist pig when he's easily one of the most likeable and loyal charactersWeird to rewatch after the whole series is over. The characters are way more caricatures of stereotypes from the '60s instead of characters. Which is understandable, I mean, it was the first season. You can't have complex, deep characters without starting somewhere. It's just bizarre to see someone like Ken be such a sexist pig when he's easily one of the most likeable and loyal characters by the end. Go figure.

    Best Episode: The Wheel.
    Worst Episode: Indian Summer (but underrated among fans).
    Expand
  10. Apr 10, 2015
    9
    The first season of Mad Men I've actually seen twice. The first season is just such a great introduction. The shows pilot episode is one of my personal favorites. Jon Hamm captivates us for the beginning as Don Draper. Draper is one of the most interesting characters that have ever been on television. Despite Draper's obvious flaws I am incredibly drawn to him and then you see his completeThe first season of Mad Men I've actually seen twice. The first season is just such a great introduction. The shows pilot episode is one of my personal favorites. Jon Hamm captivates us for the beginning as Don Draper. Draper is one of the most interesting characters that have ever been on television. Despite Draper's obvious flaws I am incredibly drawn to him and then you see his complete opposite in the antagonist Pete Campbell who you hate as much as you love Draper. The show really captures the point in time that it is sent in which is 1960. The Kennedy vs Nixon election is one of the most pivotal moments of the season. The show starts off wonderfully but also the last three episodes of the season are amazing. Expand
  11. Feb 5, 2015
    9
    polka dot corpse

    Mad Men successfully established the prototype for the new cable serial drama. It has the look and feel of something splendid. It is set in the 60's, yet never truly demonstrated just how profound that decade was. The period and setting is reduced to simple decor without a soul. Like advertising. Like the man who calls himself Don Draper. The 60's may well be the most
    polka dot corpse

    Mad Men successfully established the prototype for the new cable serial drama. It has the look and feel of something splendid. It is set in the 60's, yet never truly demonstrated just how profound that decade was. The period and setting is reduced to simple decor without a soul. Like advertising. Like the man who calls himself Don Draper. The 60's may well be the most significant decade in America, one that spawned promises we are still coming to terms with and catching up to, but in Mad Men it is merely peripheral embellishment, window dressing. Despite it's minimalist execution and vapid content, Mad Men has the lure and semblance of profound significance. In it's entire bouquet of 86 episodes, little actually happened. It could all have been effectively distilled into a 90 minute movie. Yet it was all so very seductive and entrancing. It ensnared us with a false nostalgia, those simple, innocuous times. It teased us with a sly grin more enigmatic than the Mona Lisa. Above all, it manufactured a tender impression of comfort and familiarity. Like a narcissistic mirrored experience, punctuated by misguided sexual impulses. Provoking in us to question the flimsiness of our own psyche. At it's core Mad Men is a zombie flick. Empty characters in a soulless world, carrying on despite the absence of meaning and identity. We aren't Don Draper. Jon Hamm isn't Don Draper. Not even Don Draper is Don Draper. I'm still waiting to see the final 7 episodes but I predict (**** Warning! Imaginary Spoiler Ahead! Stop Now or Proceed With Caution! ****) it may end like it began: Don Draper kills Don Draper, possibly sparing his wife. More likely though: nothing much.
    Expand
  12. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    When the first season of Mad Men was shown on TV, I thought it was absolutely brilliant. I loved everything about it: the accuracy of the details, the wonderful costumes, the slow pace - finally a show that does not flow at manic speed and where there is more than car chase and explosions.

    I found it delightful that the focus of the show was an advertisement agency and not hospitals and
    When the first season of Mad Men was shown on TV, I thought it was absolutely brilliant. I loved everything about it: the accuracy of the details, the wonderful costumes, the slow pace - finally a show that does not flow at manic speed and where there is more than car chase and explosions.

    I found it delightful that the focus of the show was an advertisement agency and not hospitals and police stations, as it happens all too often. All this and one of the most mysterious, magnetic characters to grace the screen (Don Draper) and you have one of the best TV shows of the decade.
    Expand
  13. Nov 15, 2014
    10
    Requires a little patience, a few episodes from the second episode, but when you go watching, you goes enjoying it, trying to understand the ideas, the concepts of the time.
  14. Oct 13, 2014
    2
    I know a lot of people love this show and I respect that, but I honestly find it very boring. The plot is uninteresting to me and there is almost no action. To me mad men just seems like a well-written soap opera. If you think cinematography and writing matter more than simple enjoyment, this is definitely worth watching for you. If you just want a good show that doesn't make you askI know a lot of people love this show and I respect that, but I honestly find it very boring. The plot is uninteresting to me and there is almost no action. To me mad men just seems like a well-written soap opera. If you think cinematography and writing matter more than simple enjoyment, this is definitely worth watching for you. If you just want a good show that doesn't make you ask yourself ''when is this going to be over?'' and a show that's not so slow and more exciting, than I'd highly recommend you skip it. Expand
  15. May 26, 2014
    9
    Mad Men is a great show; it really is an intriguing world that the writers have created and the acting is sublime. Although the decision to make a mid-season finale is dreadful as it was with Breaking Bad, I can't wait until I can finish this epic and I am curious to see if it all comes to a fantastic crescendo.
  16. May 15, 2014
    0
    Mad men made this show alright. I don't know what kind of audience they are trying to target with Mad Men but I'm 20 and this show doesn't appeal to me at all, I guess they are going with the older crowd. This show has very poor dialog, very uninteresting plots nobody cares about, I like the idea of a show being set in the 1960s but couldn't they have picked anything more boring than anMad men made this show alright. I don't know what kind of audience they are trying to target with Mad Men but I'm 20 and this show doesn't appeal to me at all, I guess they are going with the older crowd. This show has very poor dialog, very uninteresting plots nobody cares about, I like the idea of a show being set in the 1960s but couldn't they have picked anything more boring than an advertising agency?

    I don't care about this show at all, it's completely boring and bad.
    Expand
  17. Mar 7, 2014
    9
    I think that Mad Men is a great piece of TV/AMC history. I seriously think that Donald Draper is one of the best TV characters ( With Tony Soprano, Walter White, Frank Agnew, Harvey Spector AND Micheal Westin) But Madmen is a great piece of TV Histore it is for 14+ But I advise you.................... To watch this show
  18. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    The feminist in me had trouble getting into the show during the first episode. After hearing friends recommend it highly, I stuck with it and it's now one of my favorite shows. It's brilliantly done, expertly crafted characters with a story line that grabs a hold of you and doesn't let go. I love Betty (January Jones), she is compelling in a magnetic way. And Elisabeth Moss (Peggy) is theThe feminist in me had trouble getting into the show during the first episode. After hearing friends recommend it highly, I stuck with it and it's now one of my favorite shows. It's brilliantly done, expertly crafted characters with a story line that grabs a hold of you and doesn't let go. I love Betty (January Jones), she is compelling in a magnetic way. And Elisabeth Moss (Peggy) is the redeeming voice for women. For me, the show would've gotten a 10 if they had toned down the gratuitous nakedness. Overall, the psychology of the characters is fascinating, and the plot line addictive. Expand
  19. Jan 4, 2014
    9
    An intelligent, cool, refreshing and very enjoyable TV show. The representations of its time, place and people couldn't be more accurate nor interesting. Great, the beginning of a great series.
  20. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    So amazing. The character development is phenomenal. Although I wasn't born quite a bit AFTER the 50's, 60's and 70's, I love taking a look into that world, in those times, with these characters. My advice: Just. Watch. It.
  21. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    I wasn't sure about the score. Truth is, this show's somewhere in between seven and eight. I watched the whole thing, and it really has you connecting with some damn real characters and background. But there wasn't enough things going on for me. The events in season one were mostly, too expected.

    I might give season two a shot, not sure yet.
  22. Aug 16, 2013
    9
    Addictive and engaging yet subtle. Beautifully shot and acted with multi layered characters. The plot is always detailed and never obvious. Mad Men is unique and clever but always entertains.
  23. Aug 10, 2013
    2
    Mad Men is a severely overrated drama containing hardly any drama, which is sort of critical to a drama. And with all of the sex, deceit, lies, secrets, infidelity, and shady motives, the lack of drama and intrigue is no less than shocking.
    The performances are monotonous with precisely two exceptions, the characters are monotonous with precisely two exceptions, the writing is monotonous
    Mad Men is a severely overrated drama containing hardly any drama, which is sort of critical to a drama. And with all of the sex, deceit, lies, secrets, infidelity, and shady motives, the lack of drama and intrigue is no less than shocking.
    The performances are monotonous with precisely two exceptions, the characters are monotonous with precisely two exceptions, the writing is monotonous providing only a superficial spectrum of the time period it's set in giving little to no historical insight, the long running story has almost no continuity as the actions and behaviors and the people these characters interact with hardly ever carry on or tie in later in the show, and there's never any kind of a perspective or a point given. Mad Men just kind of floats along with no objective, no motive, and no story, which is fine in some cases, like Pulp Fiction, but it at least Pulp Fiction is actually entertaining, and its characters have strong and likable personalities. Mad Men has no redemptive qualities other than its aesthetics. Yes, it looks and feels exactly like the 60s, but you can get about as much out of Mad Men as you can from google searching advertising campaigns from the 60s.
    Expand
  24. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Most of the bad reviews on this website for this show don't understand one of two things:

    1. This is an extremely accurate portrayal of the 60s. Everyone dressed like this, and many women acted like this. 2. As one reviewer said: Mad Men is a hamfisted portrayal of a some of the more obvious biases and blindnesses of the early 60s. As if every day dawned in 1960 in order to provide
    Most of the bad reviews on this website for this show don't understand one of two things:

    1. This is an extremely accurate portrayal of the 60s. Everyone dressed like this, and many women acted like this.

    2. As one reviewer said: Mad Men is a hamfisted portrayal of a some of the more obvious biases and blindnesses of the early 60s. As if every day dawned in 1960 in order to provide white men with opportunities to manifest their sexual and racial biases"

    Not all white men were provide with "opportunities to manifest their sexual and racial biases," but the ad men on Madison Avenue were. They were notorious, but most men were relatively similar to today with maybe some sexism and racism mixed in.

    I personally think it is one of the best dramas, if not the best drama I have ever seen. It's not exciting so to speak, and not much really even happens in the first season, but it is an EXTREMELY accurate portrayal of people and their interactions with each other that I find fascinating and sometimes hilarious. I for one probably find the show much more comical than I'm supposed to, but sometimes the characters get angry/sad for the dumbest of reasons and I find that really funny because even though the reason is stupid, half the time the character is too and nothing is inaccurate.
    Expand
  25. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    One of the best shows ever written for television. It's 4 Best Drama Emmy awards can attest to that bold claim. It was ripped off of a record setting 5th in a row but whatever. No show has sustained the level of excellence that Mad Men has for 6 seasons in a row. They are supposed to have one final season as the show will culminate in 1969. I've always said that I want the show to endOne of the best shows ever written for television. It's 4 Best Drama Emmy awards can attest to that bold claim. It was ripped off of a record setting 5th in a row but whatever. No show has sustained the level of excellence that Mad Men has for 6 seasons in a row. They are supposed to have one final season as the show will culminate in 1969. I've always said that I want the show to end before we see Don Draper in bell-bottom jeans. However, if anyone could pull off that look it would be Dandy Don. Expand
  26. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    True to its time, and blatantly a goldmine for those whom fantasize of sophisticated dialogue, classy way of life, and superficiality in all its ostensible glory. I find myself deeply desiring more of Don Draper's business life, coinciding with his witticism and cliche-like presentations with clients, substantially more than his petty affairs. Perhaps such a hybrid not only exemplifies hisTrue to its time, and blatantly a goldmine for those whom fantasize of sophisticated dialogue, classy way of life, and superficiality in all its ostensible glory. I find myself deeply desiring more of Don Draper's business life, coinciding with his witticism and cliche-like presentations with clients, substantially more than his petty affairs. Perhaps such a hybrid not only exemplifies his character but also tends to market more to the feminine demographic. Expand
  27. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    This is one of the few shows I really love and must see on TV. AMC does a good job with most. Seasons 1-2 were excellent. Season 3 was good, but things are beginning to run their course. Same thing happened with Breaking bad and Nip Tuck after 2 good seasons.

    I love this so much, I often have watched the encore presentation back to back
  28. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Though it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, andThough it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, and every performance, particularly by Jon Hamm and January Jones, give it a sense of power that most TV shows beg for. Expand
  29. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    The hype around this show was killing me and I really wanted to watch it, so I did and i did not regret wasting my time on it. Mad Men is awesome the era in which the show takes place is awesome the events that occur during each episode are interesting, the Actors are great and the backstory is great nonetheless. Big fan of the series so far !!
  30. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Excellent. Was a bit skeptical at first; due to the subject of the show. It didn't really pique my interest at first. But, I gave the first episode a try, and was completely drawn in by all of it. The atmosphere and authenticity of the time period is nailed perfectly here; you really do feel like your watching real life in the '60s. From the offices and rooms of the advertising agency, toExcellent. Was a bit skeptical at first; due to the subject of the show. It didn't really pique my interest at first. But, I gave the first episode a try, and was completely drawn in by all of it. The atmosphere and authenticity of the time period is nailed perfectly here; you really do feel like your watching real life in the '60s. From the offices and rooms of the advertising agency, to the musty bars and taverns -- everything feels spot on. The characters are well developed & interesting; there's a lot to enjoy just from the characters themselves. The character development in this show is very in-depth and well thought out. Characters don't just stay stagnant and stay the same, they change and grow over time (Peggy being the greatest example of that -- this season, at least) as the show progresses. The acting is top-notch as well; Hamm, Moss, & Slattery in particular.

    There is no reason not to love this show. Give it a try before you knock it.
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Interestingly, a lot of nothing adds up to a big something.
  2. It's very filmic both in execution and ambition as it explores life before Betty Friedan and the Surgeon General's warnings on cigarette packs.
  3. What gives Mad Men its zing is that play is part of work, sexual banter isn't yet harassment, and America is free of self-doubt, guilt, and countercultural confusion.