Mad Men : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 571 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 571

Where To Watch

Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    Season One: The Show is pretty good however the show lacks actual motive, structure and even plot but somehow the season is still entertaining which in itself is very impressive.
  2. AaronS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    5
    Fine production values and sharp casting. But for some odd reason the show just left me cold. Ultimately I found it to be very overrated.
  3. DaveB
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    Makes the mistake of thinking the era will be interesting enough on it's own. Also, the lead isn't great... and his character is written in a muddled fashion. Would be much better to see him ruthless and conflicted... maybe that's where he's headed but right now he's too nice of a guy to be interesting.
  4. BigShooter
    Jan 19, 2008
    6
    Have only watched 2 episodes so far, and, it's losing me... ...hopefully it picks up a bit.
  5. JaredC
    Jul 18, 2007
    5
    Really, I think they have enough TV shows out there already. They keep on adding new shows for entertainment and sometimes it's not just getting watched enough so every time there's a commercial, you see this advertisement and man alive it's annoying. It's not the best show on TV but still, I think they have enough drama shows out there that you can watch. Don't Really, I think they have enough TV shows out there already. They keep on adding new shows for entertainment and sometimes it's not just getting watched enough so every time there's a commercial, you see this advertisement and man alive it's annoying. It's not the best show on TV but still, I think they have enough drama shows out there that you can watch. Don't start ignoring CSI or The Sopranos and start watching this show, don't give up on those shows. Some of the acting is pretty good but overall it was an average TV show. I don't mind it, but sometimes it gets a little too dramatic. Just to warn you. Expand
  6. JoyceC
    Jul 18, 2007
    6
    Drama shows I adore, but it's hard to follow a series that has no pulse.
  7. JohnJ
    Jul 23, 2007
    5
    Puzzling, with so much hype and potential, but . . . mostly unlikable characters, from Don Draper (either an adulterous war hero or a tender, loving father), to manipulative underlings and a strangely misscast Elizabeth Moss, who is either frumpy and frigid or accessible and promiscuous but can hardly be both at once. The writing is curate's-eggish--good in parts, but uneven. The Puzzling, with so much hype and potential, but . . . mostly unlikable characters, from Don Draper (either an adulterous war hero or a tender, loving father), to manipulative underlings and a strangely misscast Elizabeth Moss, who is either frumpy and frigid or accessible and promiscuous but can hardly be both at once. The writing is curate's-eggish--good in parts, but uneven. The agency scenes don't ring true--too pat, too shallow. On the bright side, production values are excellent , the settings and costumes authentic and the videography above reproach. The above is based on one episode (maybe it will improve). If it fails to get better, we have many other choices. Expand
  8. MikeN.
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    If you are going to make a character driven series, Step 1 is to make the characters interesting. And, unfortunately, there just are not any interesting characters here. Don Draper, the central figure, is so underplayed that he might as well be a prop. He sits, he muses, he smokes, he looks off into space. Occasionally, very occasionally, he will say something. Something supposed to be If you are going to make a character driven series, Step 1 is to make the characters interesting. And, unfortunately, there just are not any interesting characters here. Don Draper, the central figure, is so underplayed that he might as well be a prop. He sits, he muses, he smokes, he looks off into space. Occasionally, very occasionally, he will say something. Something supposed to be witty, or cutting or profound, but which is usually none of those things. The rest of the cast plays an assortment of characters based on 50's stereotypes. Which shows up the show's basically flawed premise: it is stupid to try to seriously explore the prejudices and follies of the early 1960s advertising men. I mean, who cares what their stupid opinions were? Does anybody really look back at the Rat Pack era as some sort of Golden Age? The ironic take used simply has no worthwhile target. It is like watching a guy beat up a drunk in an alleyway. Expand
  9. MikeB.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    A silly story wrapped in a gimmick. Actually, there hardly is a story -- mostly just the gimmick of the period costumes and the sexist, racist dialog. Well worth a miss.
  10. ChrisC
    Aug 6, 2007
    5
    Out of all the differences between current culture and 1960's culture, Mad Men puts a hard focus on the aspects that are now considered the most politically incorrect, and it's obvious they're doing it just for shock value and to be 'HBO-like'. It's obvious a lot of effort and care was put into the theme and atmosphere, but unfortunately, the script is Out of all the differences between current culture and 1960's culture, Mad Men puts a hard focus on the aspects that are now considered the most politically incorrect, and it's obvious they're doing it just for shock value and to be 'HBO-like'. It's obvious a lot of effort and care was put into the theme and atmosphere, but unfortunately, the script is dreadfully boring. Expand
  11. Brian
    Jul 27, 2007
    5
    Meh. It was interesting at first, but I got bored early into episode 2.
  12. NathanS
    Dec 1, 2008
    6
    This show was fun at first, but the twists and turns are predictable and boring at times. I just watched the first seasons and will not be tuning in for the second. How did this get such rave reviews from the masses? The masses are distracted by pretty clothing, this show is junk. My friend Alison Murphy recommended this show to me and I will never take her advice again.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Interestingly, a lot of nothing adds up to a big something.
  2. It's very filmic both in execution and ambition as it explores life before Betty Friedan and the Surgeon General's warnings on cigarette packs.
  3. What gives Mad Men its zing is that play is part of work, sexual banter isn't yet harassment, and America is free of self-doubt, guilt, and countercultural confusion.