Mad Men : Season 1

  • Network: AMC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 7.5
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 585 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 585

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. GabrielA
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    Excellent, amazing show. Well done.
  2. PeterC
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    How refreshing to have a meaningful, well-written show to watch, with interesting characters, settings, and storylines. I am really excitied about seeing where the series leads. Beautifully shot, costumed, and acted.
  3. JaneM.
    Sep 22, 2007
    10
    Without a doubt the best drama on TV in 2007!
  4. JoanL.
    Sep 24, 2007
    10
    I had given up on watching TV until I started on this program. Here's hoping it continues.
  5. William
    Mar 29, 2008
    10
    Superb! Simply the best writing, acting and production on TV today. Astounding and subtle detail on the Way We Were in the early 1960s. WOW !
  6. DuncanB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is certainly the best drama since the first season of the Sopranos. Mature, elegant, exquisite writing and art direction. And compelling, voluptuously braided story lines.
  7. JJ.
    Oct 15, 2007
    9
    My husband and I are hard to please TV watchers--we don't like foul language but we like good drama and mystery and visually interesting scenes and dialogue with "sparks". We look forward to each new episode.
  8. petera.
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    Clearly the best show on TV, every week is funny, twisted and touching.
  9. Crystal
    Oct 19, 2007
    10
    I love this show. It's very entertaining and witty. I really look forward to watching it and really hope it will be back on AMC for more of the same next season. I'm addicted to the show!
  10. Jun 18, 2011
    10
    Mad Men is along with Breaking Bad the best show on TV. If you have not seen the show you are missing out. This is a show you have to watch from the beginning. The show is so subtle and nuanced. I can't even begin to describe how much I love this show. WATCH IT.
  11. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Mad Men is intelligent and eclectic. A brilliant depiction of an ad firm back when capitalism was just growing into the propaganda monster it has now become. The show is rarely short of beautiful women as they seem to serve as short-term muses to Don Draper, the show's maddest man.
  12. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Though it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, andThough it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, and every performance, particularly by Jon Hamm and January Jones, give it a sense of power that most TV shows beg for. Expand
  13. Oct 15, 2010
    8
    Mad Men is an impressive new show and the brilliance doesn't stop at how decadent and accurate it is. The show boasts an remarkable cast of characters, in particular the cunning and striking Don Draper played by Jon Hamm in a remarkable iconic performance, the co-head of the company Roger Sterling who portrayed by John Slattery is brilliant in the episode "Long Weekend" and January JonesMad Men is an impressive new show and the brilliance doesn't stop at how decadent and accurate it is. The show boasts an remarkable cast of characters, in particular the cunning and striking Don Draper played by Jon Hamm in a remarkable iconic performance, the co-head of the company Roger Sterling who portrayed by John Slattery is brilliant in the episode "Long Weekend" and January Jones as Don's beautiful housewife Betty Draper who just brings both a beautiful charm and a hidden agenda to her portrayal. This show will go on to be remembered for the ages, the problem is that the show won't be as appealing to some audiences. Expand
  14. EliasC
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    It has taken me awhile to get around to this series, and I have only watched the first 3 episodes, but my initial impression is that this will be a great series. I originally thought that this show was a boring time piece on 1950/60's advertising. Instead I watched 3 episodes that expertly captured the cultural mores and human interactions of that period of history. This is a show It has taken me awhile to get around to this series, and I have only watched the first 3 episodes, but my initial impression is that this will be a great series. I originally thought that this show was a boring time piece on 1950/60's advertising. Instead I watched 3 episodes that expertly captured the cultural mores and human interactions of that period of history. This is a show for those who remember those times. Some people may wax woefully about the good old days of the early 60's, but for most of us THIS was the reality. The actors behave as if they stepped out of 1960 complete with their cynicism, twisted morality, sexism, and racism. Thankfully most of us have matured beyond the behavior portrayed in 'Mad Men'. For the rest, this show will be a painful reminder. Expand
  15. EmilyW
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Stunning.
  16. May 5, 2011
    10
    This was the gem that got away (from HBO)...but gratefully, a show made all the more accessible to viewers on AMC. The music and strategic placement of the era songs, fashion and advertising campaigns make the ad family of Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce (formerly Sterling Cooper) very alluring from a social-cultural perspective. That most of the cast are virtually new to many of us viewersThis was the gem that got away (from HBO)...but gratefully, a show made all the more accessible to viewers on AMC. The music and strategic placement of the era songs, fashion and advertising campaigns make the ad family of Sterling Cooper Draper Pryce (formerly Sterling Cooper) very alluring from a social-cultural perspective. That most of the cast are virtually new to many of us viewers (except those of us who fondly remember Robert Morse back in the day) compels us to keep our eye on the script and story driven developments. The stylish look, the visual and audio nuances and the political and cultural backdrop are enticements to keep us all watching from Season to Season. Many of us had hoped to see MAD MEN go off into the hemisphere....moving through the Camelot years of the 60s, through the roaring turbulence of the 70s....incorporating some of the Disco era....to the Morning in America, when our long national nightmare would really be over. Yet, negotiations appear to deprive us from this so there remains only 3 seasons left. What to do....what to do?? Expand
  17. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    The hype around this show was killing me and I really wanted to watch it, so I did and i did not regret wasting my time on it. Mad Men is awesome the era in which the show takes place is awesome the events that occur during each episode are interesting, the Actors are great and the backstory is great nonetheless. Big fan of the series so far !!
  18. IndiaS
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    Great Show the best I have seem in a long time.
  19. RobL.
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    This is one of thebest written shows I've ever seen. Great acting, great art direction. I was just a little kid in the late 50's and early 60's but more correctly than any film or TV show I have ever seen, "Mad Men" captures the look, the feel, the mores and the manners of that time period.
  20. JoanneG
    Oct 3, 2008
    10
    I am stunned by the realistic complexity of the characters and plot. I'm addicted.
  21. robr.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    Perfect television.
  22. HollieW.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful and captivating.
  23. LibD.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome! couldn't love this show more.
  24. Feb 8, 2011
    8
    Mad Men shows great depths to the Characters, but is unfortunately lax with their story lines. I think the former makes up for the latter, and besides slack pacing, there really isn't a lot to complain about. One of the strong points of the whole series is how it says things without words, like the beautiful final shots of Don Draper that leave us wondering how one character can feel soMad Men shows great depths to the Characters, but is unfortunately lax with their story lines. I think the former makes up for the latter, and besides slack pacing, there really isn't a lot to complain about. One of the strong points of the whole series is how it says things without words, like the beautiful final shots of Don Draper that leave us wondering how one character can feel so much misery ,or eloquence, depending on the mood. Expand
  25. Aug 16, 2010
    10
    Boring..season 4 shows that the writers are losing interest and certainly we feel the same. I watched this show from day one and always looked forward to to the next one. It is hard enough to keep up since there are only 13 shows a year but the writers are flying through the 60's missing many opportunities for good stories. This season is nothing more than Don sleeping with everyone andBoring..season 4 shows that the writers are losing interest and certainly we feel the same. I watched this show from day one and always looked forward to to the next one. It is hard enough to keep up since there are only 13 shows a year but the writers are flying through the 60's missing many opportunities for good stories. This season is nothing more than Don sleeping with everyone and drinking. Alright already, we got that in the first season. Betty's marriage was not written about at all...I wondered if I had missed a show...This season is tedious to watch. I was a huge fan this past 3 years. This season I am sorry I spent $20 on Itunes to get the show at a better time than 10 pm sunday nights...Bcoooooo MadMen Expand
  26. guyd.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    The series started off with charm, wit and sophistication -- and actually got even better with each episode. But... was everyone so handsome and beautiful in 1960?
  27. CrisiK.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Mad Men is a refreshing realistic dose of what life was once like not too long ago. It's a way to feel comfortable and guilt-free about the lives our parents lived and it helps us to understand why life today is so different. The show is smart, funny and relevant. There are still so many issues in the home, workplace, and city-life that we still face today, just in a different Mad Men is a refreshing realistic dose of what life was once like not too long ago. It's a way to feel comfortable and guilt-free about the lives our parents lived and it helps us to understand why life today is so different. The show is smart, funny and relevant. There are still so many issues in the home, workplace, and city-life that we still face today, just in a different atmosphere. It's brilliant and well thought out. Expand
  28. GeoffR.
    Sep 10, 2007
    7
    The show has potential but the storyline has got to get more interesting. For all of the praise showered on the writing I have found it to be uneven. There have been some good bits of writing but other bits of dialogue just don't ring true at all. Certainly the era has caught the interest of many people and it looks like this will certainly get a second season. But hope the producers The show has potential but the storyline has got to get more interesting. For all of the praise showered on the writing I have found it to be uneven. There have been some good bits of writing but other bits of dialogue just don't ring true at all. Certainly the era has caught the interest of many people and it looks like this will certainly get a second season. But hope the producers realize it isn't the Soprano's yet and they have a lot of work to hold the audience in the second year. Expand
  29. E-Man
    Sep 8, 2008
    10
    The tension of what the future holds is palpably daunting amid superb characterizations in this peeled back look at a time when people struggled to cope with what was perceived as the cutting edge of social progress. Cinematic in feel, rich in portrayal, half the fun is in anticipating which incredibly politically incorrect taboo the cast will violate next. No Darrin Stevens in this up The tension of what the future holds is palpably daunting amid superb characterizations in this peeled back look at a time when people struggled to cope with what was perceived as the cutting edge of social progress. Cinematic in feel, rich in portrayal, half the fun is in anticipating which incredibly politically incorrect taboo the cast will violate next. No Darrin Stevens in this up and coming Madison Avenue advertising firm that focuses on a philandering husband Don Draper, a re-chiseled man with a past who's one of the best at what he does. Office hussies either work or become victims to ogling men, co-workers enjoy morning shots at their desks, divorcees are neighborhood pariahs, picnickers litter openly, partiers drink and drive, kids not only romp over seats in moving cars, but they also play under dry cleaner plastic and prep their daddies Expand
  30. TimH.
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    Better than just about everything on the broadcast channels - the acting and writing in this show is great. The schlocky "look at the 1960's technology" that was present in early episodes faded into the background, most likely because the you are completely absorbed by the characters. One of the best shows on television right now, and one of the best shows in the last decade. If you Better than just about everything on the broadcast channels - the acting and writing in this show is great. The schlocky "look at the 1960's technology" that was present in early episodes faded into the background, most likely because the you are completely absorbed by the characters. One of the best shows on television right now, and one of the best shows in the last decade. If you haven't checked it out, you are missing out. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Interestingly, a lot of nothing adds up to a big something.
  2. It's very filmic both in execution and ambition as it explores life before Betty Friedan and the Surgeon General's warnings on cigarette packs.
  3. What gives Mad Men its zing is that play is part of work, sexual banter isn't yet harassment, and America is free of self-doubt, guilt, and countercultural confusion.