• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 7.5
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 498 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The acting (from a mostly unknown cast), cinematography (you can just stare at this series) and especially Weiner's writing carry the series to exceptional heights.
  2. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    This sleek, sexy, smartly cynical drama about selling everything from cigarettes to Nixon also nails the era's attitudes of casual prejudice and sexual manipulation.
  3. "I'm living like there is no tomorrow because there isn't one." Not a pretty sentiment, to be sure, but it makes for an intriguing character in what's likely to be the best new summer series of 2007.
  4. 80
    Mad Men is a captivating experience.
  5. 80
    As a witty social history viewed through the tempestuous prism of office and sexual politics, Mad Men is big fun ... classy entertainment with a brain.
  6. Mad Men is infinitely more concerned with entertainment, an effort at which it succeeds, thanks mostly to its first-rate cast, disarming humor and period detail.
  7. The mood is serious, not campy, and there aren't laugh-out-loud moments, just a lot of groaners--at which point, the show simply becomes a reflection of its characters: depressing.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 116
  2. Negative: 12 out of 116
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Though it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience.Though it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, and every performance, particularly by Jon Hamm and January Jones, give it a sense of power that most TV shows beg for. Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Just superb television. Works on so many different levels; like a lasagne. On the plus side watching this series has made me appreciate styleJust superb television. Works on so many different levels; like a lasagne. On the plus side watching this series has made me appreciate style and the joy of wearing a fine suit. On the downside it has made me want to start smoking again ;( Expand
  3. HollieW.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing, beautiful and captivating.
  4. GeorgeD
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Further proof that TV has vaulted past the movies in dramatic writing and even production design. Completely engaging.
  5. DuncanB.
    Nov 16, 2007
    9
    This is certainly the best drama since the first season of the Sopranos. Mature, elegant, exquisite writing and art direction. And This is certainly the best drama since the first season of the Sopranos. Mature, elegant, exquisite writing and art direction. And compelling, voluptuously braided story lines. Expand
  6. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    Mad Men is certainly not a show that instantly grabs your attention like "24" or "Lost" but the subtle, yet well written, script and fantasticMad Men is certainly not a show that instantly grabs your attention like "24" or "Lost" but the subtle, yet well written, script and fantastic performances will slowly draw most viewers in over the course of this first season.

    I can certainly see why some may complain that Mad Men is dull as the show certainly takes its time to introduce us to the characters and there motivations. Stick with it through the first half dozen episodes however and you will be rewarded with a show that continues to improve season upon season producing some of the most intelligent and interesting drama ever seen on television.
    Expand
  7. May 15, 2014
    0
    Mad men made this show alright. I don't know what kind of audience they are trying to target with Mad Men but I'm 20 and this show doesn'tMad men made this show alright. I don't know what kind of audience they are trying to target with Mad Men but I'm 20 and this show doesn't appeal to me at all, I guess they are going with the older crowd. This show has very poor dialog, very uninteresting plots nobody cares about, I like the idea of a show being set in the 1960s but couldn't they have picked anything more boring than an advertising agency?

    I don't care about this show at all, it's completely boring and bad.
    Expand

See all 116 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    Best of 2014: Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 9, 2014
    What were critics' favorite television shows of 2014? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as the overall standings ... and check back here for daily updates throughout the month.
  2. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  3. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  4. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  5. Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: June 11, 2012
    What did TV critics think of last night's season-ending episode of "Mad Men," and of the fifth season as a whole? Find out inside.
  6. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  7. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  8. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  9. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  10. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  11. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  12. The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: August 30, 2010
    Our look at last night's Emmy ceremony includes a list of winners, an analysis of the evening's surprises, and a look at what TV critics are saying about the broadcast.
  13. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  14. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.