• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 19, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7
Mad Men Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 429 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    If you check out Mad Men tonight, I guarantee you'll be back next week.
  2. The series is a funny, knowing, sometimes dark, sometimes romantic take on the time just before the power of advertising was fully realized.
  3. Mad Men has found a strange and lovely space between nostalgia and political correctness and filled it with interesting people, all of them armed with great powers of seduction.
  4. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    80
    The premiere is so well constructed in every department, it would be near-impossible to skip the next episode. If the show can keep up this level of quality, it could wind up being one of the greats.
  5. Mad Men is both a drama and a comedy and all the better for it, a series that breaks new ground by luxuriating in the not-so-distant past.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    As a serialized drama, the program's situations aren't especially stirring, even with its solid, perfectly outfitted cast. The sheer atmosphere, however, proves intoxicating.
  7. Reviewed by: Randee Dawn
    40
    There's much to admire about Mad Men, and much worth tuning in for. But so far, it's all soft sell.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 109
  2. Negative: 10 out of 109
  1. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Though it takes quite a bit of time and effort to really submit into the world of "Mad Men", after a few episodes it's worth the patience. Once you become submerged in the business world of the '60's, it's ruthless, realistic atmosphere is so interesting that it's impossible to not be convinced that the actors involved really exist in our time. The show is consistently well-written, and every performance, particularly by Jon Hamm and January Jones, give it a sense of power that most TV shows beg for. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Mad Men is intelligent and eclectic. A brilliant depiction of an ad firm back when capitalism was just growing into the propaganda monster it has now become. The show is rarely short of beautiful women as they seem to serve as short-term muses to Don Draper, the show's maddest man. Expand
  3. DerekT
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    Mad Men is compelling. I had taped it, watched it last night, and then watched the entire episode again this morning - and found entirely new things in it. The attention to period detail is incredible, and the show is very well acted. Like Six Feet Under, this is a show that will have me hooked until it ends. Expand
  4. LibD.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Awesome! couldn't love this show more.
  5. GeorgeD
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    Further proof that TV has vaulted past the movies in dramatic writing and even production design. Completely engaging.
  6. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    I wasn't sure about the score. Truth is, this show's somewhere in between seven and eight. I watched the whole thing, and it really has you connecting with some damn real characters and background. But there wasn't enough things going on for me. The events in season one were mostly, too expected.

    I might give season two a shot, not sure yet.
    Expand
  7. Oct 8, 2010
    0
    Mad Men is poorly written, it spews continually lackluster dialogue, and it struggles with one boring plot line after another. The show boasts quite the cast, but this only underscores how poorly the writers have done in utilizing the talent at their disposal. When it first came out I was intrigued, and subsequently watched several episodes, but it didn't take long to come to the realization that there is simply no "there" there. Short of the somewhat unique premise of the series, there is absolutely nothing about this show that warrants the attention it is getting. Are people really so shallow that they fall for this sophomoric, gimmicky drivel? When I heard that it was actually winning awards I couldn't even believe by ears. Mad Men is every bit as trite and pathetic as our modern movies and music. Style over substance, nothing more. Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).
  2. 2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2012 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 12, 2012
    Track every year-end top-ten list published by major TV critics and publications, and view the overall composite standings for best TV show of 2012.
  3. 2012 Emmy Nominations Announced

    2012 Emmy Nominations Announced Image
    Published: July 19, 2012
    This year's Emmy nominations are out; get a full list and analysis of the nominees(and snubs) in all of the major categories.
  4. Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale

    Episode Review: Mad Men Season 5 Finale Image
    Published: June 11, 2012
    What did TV critics think of last night's season-ending episode of "Mad Men," and of the fifth season as a whole? Find out inside.
  5. 2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews

    2011 Emmy Awards: Winners, Reactions, and Reviews Image
    Published: September 19, 2011
    The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards are in the books. Get a list and analysis of last night's winners, and find out how critics are reacting to the broadcast hosted by Jane Lynch.
  6. Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2011 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2011
    Saturday, the Television Critics Association handed out their annual awards to the best TV shows and actors of the past year, including a pair of trophies for AMC's "Mad Men." Get a complete list of winners and nominees inside.
  7. 2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out?

    2011 Emmy Nominations: Who's In, Who's Out? Image
    Published: July 14, 2011
    Find out who scored nominations -- and who was snubbed -- in our look at Thursday morning's announcement of nominees for the 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards.
  8. Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time

    Ranked: The Best Summer TV Series of All Time Image
    Published: June 8, 2011
    While summer is traditionally a time of reruns and discarded shows, TV occasionally gives us a summer gem. We pick out 20 of the best summer television debuts of all time, from "Seinfeld" to "The Wire."
  9. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  10. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  11. The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The Emmy Awards: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: August 30, 2010
    Our look at last night's Emmy ceremony includes a list of winners, an analysis of the evening's surprises, and a look at what TV critics are saying about the broadcast.
  12. Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers

    Golden Globes Recap: Winners and Losers Image
    Published: January 18, 2010
    We recap the evening's winners, reveal what the critics are saying about the broadcast, and examine what the Globes tell us about the upcoming Academy Awards.
  13. The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade

    The Best TV Shows of 2009 ... and the Decade Image
    Published: January 2, 2010
    Is 2000-09 the best decade in television history? Find out what shows made the past ten years so strong, and which programs went down as the best and worst of 2009.