• Network: Starz
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 6, 2012
    30
    The writing telegraphs every trite and derivative twist, whether violent or sexual or some combination of the two to remind us this is pay cable and not some musty rerun.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 6, 2012
    20
    Everything about Magic City shows a lack of depth, and the pacing is almost glacial.
  3. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 4, 2012
    25
    The plot is one telegraphed event after another, so that the only enjoyment to be found in sitting through this thing is timing when a blatantly preordained event will actually occur.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Apr 5, 2012
    30
    Magic City suffers from endless predictability and a lack of creative storytelling.
  5. 20
    The show is so enervating and undeservedly full of itself, and such an altogether depressing combination of brilliant production values and subpar drama, that I can't muster the necessary bile.
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    I love this show. I live in Miami Beach and most of the residents here know about Magic City and like it. It has me captivated. Ben Diamond is my favorite character. This is the first show I've regularly watched since the Sopranos. I like the time period element a lot! Very surprised to see some negative reviews. Everyone I know loves it. Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    5
    This show is OK. It's enjoyably splashy to look at, plenty of beautiful naked woman and other attractive romanticized images....

    Everything
    about the plot seems vaguely familiar: a little bit of Godfather 2, Hiram Roth; a lot of the recently cancelled LUCK from HBO and a lot of Boardwalk Empire...

    Bottom line is that STARZ doesn't seem able to get it right. Their shows are too broad, not subtle enough, and not as smart as AMC or HBO. Maybe they cater to a less sophisticated audience but they don't seem able to produce a smart or original product.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    It's a good show with a lot of promise... The depiction of the era is as spot on as your gonna get, from the Cadillacs to the great musical score, from the style to the setting, everything seems to come together nicely to form a solid idea of what it was like to live in the late 1950's. The acting is as good as your gonna get and the premise of Mad Men meets Sopranos is compelling. Unfortunately, though, critics and viewers will probably not be able to get past the Mad Men comparisons, since everyone seems to be one sided when it comes to period dramas. Its a shame cause it really is a great show, but i'm almost certain that it's dead on arrival. Full Review »