• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Magic City Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fidel Castro, racial segregation, the Kennedys, and spies are just some of the people and issues surrounding 1959. For Ike Evans (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), his biggest problem is Ben "The Butcher" Diamond (Danny Huston). Six years ago he made a deal to help finance his luxurious Miami Beach hotel, the Miramar Playa, and now The Butcher is back for payment. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Apr 5, 2012
    83
    So far this is solid and very picturesque entertainment, with a strong sense of foreboding built in.
  2. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Apr 2, 2012
    80
    The sordid ugliness that festers inside Magic City's voluptuously beautiful wrappings makes irresistible television.
  3. Through the early episodes, nothing really happens that you couldn't see coming. Still, the setting is so seductive, the period details so vivid and the acting so stellar, that it's as intoxicating as a potent mojito.
  4. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Mar 30, 2012
    60
    While the big-finned Cadillacs and old pop songs create an aura of pre-"Mad Men" nostalgia, the show is conventional in most other respects.
  5. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Apr 5, 2012
    50
    This glossy tribute is enjoyable; it is just not memorable.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 29, 2012
    42
    Sleepy, listless, dull. But it has a great set; the beach and clouds on the horizon are alluring.
  7. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 6, 2012
    20
    Everything about Magic City shows a lack of depth, and the pacing is almost glacial.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    I love this show. I live in Miami Beach and most of the residents here know about Magic City and like it. It has me captivated. Ben Diamond is my favorite character. This is the first show I've regularly watched since the Sopranos. I like the time period element a lot! Very surprised to see some negative reviews. Everyone I know loves it. Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Brilliant new series. Looks great and is superbly acted. Can't wait for more episodes. Magic City setting is fantastic - Great music selection, Cadillacs, 1959 Miami. It's no Mad Men rip-off - it's a series that deserves to be judged on its own and is set in this era for a reason - not to cash in on Mad Men's success. Expand
  3. May 1, 2012
    10
    I never thought anything out of Starz would ever be considered 'good'. This show surpasses that however with it's authentic feel, great story line, and gorgeous cinematography. It truly is a joy to watch, and I think it really has a future. Anyone thinking about giving it a shot should, as it is something worth your time. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    Esta serie tuvo un buen comienzo, con un buen argumento y con buenos personajes.Cuando vi el primer episodio de la serie no pense que la serie iba a estar tan buena, despues mire toda la temporada y me encanto. Expand
  5. TJF
    Apr 7, 2012
    8
    I grew up in this period of history and spent a lot of time in Miami Beach in this very milieu....MC is extremely true to the details of the period, right down to the Henry Mancini Mr. Lucky Goes Latin knock-off opening theme music, which I love. The hero, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, is stellar as the lead guy--over-40 sexy, sharp, ambitious, kind and believable. He is drop-dead in a white sports jacket. Danny Huston, who plays Ben Diamond, his scary bad gangster- partner, is also excellent as is Alex Rocco, who plays Ike's dad. The predictable Cain and Abel sons are drawn too thin and I am not impressed with the actors--they were very flat, not interesting enough and somehow don't look like they would be Ike's kids. When watching the first episode, it was fun to be immersed in that world again, but the pace was slow and the story line predictable, so I was disappointed. However I stuck with it and now I have seen three episodes, the plot has thickened, and it has become a beautifully done night time soap opera. I will continue to watch, although understanding that this ride will never be the Sopranos. However, that Jeffrey Dean guy is HOT HOT HOT in a seasoned man of the world kind of way. This guy could be the new hotttest-guy on TV in my opinion. Collapse
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    7
    A good nostalgic-mob drama, but donâ
  7. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Boring, turgid, NO pacing and I can't keep the dark haired young boys apart......You would think they are 1 guy playing several parts and I PAY attention. HUGE disappointment since I love Jeffrey Dean Morgan. The visuals are stunning but this is SO formulaic that I stopped at 6 minutes into the season premiere and won't waste my time again. The writers have thrown everything at the wall, The Godfather, Chinatown, LA Confidential, Fidel, JFK and tried to appear relevant. But it's beyond boring and has no life. The visuals are great, the story is been there, done that and not worth my time. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews