• Network: TNT
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Really love this show I was terribly sad to lose the "Closer" but "Major Crimes" had pleasantly filled the gap. Sharon Raydor took a while to grow on me, but over time she has shown more compassion and a "human" side. The cast is amazing together, just as they were on the the Closer. The only thing that could make it better is to bring back Brenda Lee Johnson, Fritzy and Will Pope!
  2. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming a monotonous tv series, can't wait for
  3. Dec 28, 2014
    10
    I watched The Closer sporadically because I felt like it was the same thing over and over again. I didn't feel like there was much insight into the cast as a team but more centered on Brenda and her alone (maybe that was the intent)... but I liked the cast so I watched when I could. I thought bringing in Captain Raydor really elevated the show and wished she was around more. Now withI watched The Closer sporadically because I felt like it was the same thing over and over again. I didn't feel like there was much insight into the cast as a team but more centered on Brenda and her alone (maybe that was the intent)... but I liked the cast so I watched when I could. I thought bringing in Captain Raydor really elevated the show and wished she was around more. Now with Major Crimes, I never miss an episode. The cast seems to shine and it doesn't focus solely on one central character but everyone as a team (and there always seems to be a time when one cast member shines and the others are the support). I like that we are seeing real people do their jobs and balance life issues. It feels like the real world. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    9
    Major Crimes is a great crime-solving series. I watched the first episode and it was interesting, intriguing and quite smart. The acting --especially McDonnell-- is superb. She's incredibly versatile and her character will grab your attention immediately. If you watched The Closer, this will feel familiar, but also renewed with new interesting things to explore. I'm definitely watching theMajor Crimes is a great crime-solving series. I watched the first episode and it was interesting, intriguing and quite smart. The acting --especially McDonnell-- is superb. She's incredibly versatile and her character will grab your attention immediately. If you watched The Closer, this will feel familiar, but also renewed with new interesting things to explore. I'm definitely watching the whole thing. Expand
  5. JHG
    Oct 14, 2012
    9
    Great show better than the closer after 5 year run. It was time for Brenda to go. Too predictable and Mary McDonald is an excellent replacement. I was a loyal fan of the closer but Branda's character just became to predicatable and irritating. All the lying and excuses every show to her family just became boring instead of cute and funny
  6. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Major Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good we have not. Look forward to next summer when it returns.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Aug 27, 2012
    75
    If you were a "Closer" fan, I'd like to make a case for giving her a chance, because otherwise, Major Crimes is a winner.
  2. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Aug 13, 2012
    70
    Will the writing of the crimes continue to be as strong as it was on "The Closer"? I'm cautiously optimistic.
  3. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    The first two cases, involving a gang of murderous thieves and the death of a personal trainer, are ho-hum. McDonnell, a fine actress, finally has a chance to inject some dry wit into her stoic investigator.