Major Crimes : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Major Crimes Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Captain Sharon Raydor (Mary McDonnell) discovers the Major Crimes division is not thrilled with her taking over from Brenda Leigh Johnson (Kyra Sedgwick).
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Aug 13, 2012
    83
    A sharply written, acted and directed start that will hook fans immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Aug 9, 2012
    80
    This handoff is clean.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 13, 2012
    80
    As before there is a nice balance between social drama and personal business, the tragic and the comic, exaggeration and authenticity.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Aug 9, 2012
    67
    Relying less on instinct and showy interrogations, Raydor commands her unit with a nice brusqueness, gathers clues, and solves cases with airtight logic. The primary problem with Major is its slow pace.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 13, 2012
    60
    With most of The Closer's original crew staying on, it's almost business as usual--though with Sedgwick no longer at the center, replaced by Mary McDonnell's inscrutably smug and unsympathetic Capt. Sharon Raydor, the franchise can't help but be diminished.
  6. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    Like The Closer, Major Crimes offers utterly predictable crime-solving.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Aug 13, 2012
    40
    Pleasant in its details but hollow at its center, Major Crimes could argue in favor of a much-derided TV practice: the traditional network development process. It could have benefited from a year or two spent working on a pilot.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 20
  2. Negative: 5 out of 20
  1. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Major Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good weMajor Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good we have not. Look forward to next summer when it returns. Expand
  2. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    Love, Love, Love this freakin' show. After 5 seasons (and 12 in the franchise), it still doesn't get old. Best writing on TV that is just notLove, Love, Love this freakin' show. After 5 seasons (and 12 in the franchise), it still doesn't get old. Best writing on TV that is just not appreciated by the critics (partly the reason I think they are legends in their own minds), but TNT execs as well. This show is the ONLY reason I still pay for cable. Once it is gone, I am done paying for crappy shows that network execs keep trying to cram down our throats. Expand
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming aThis show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming a monotonous tv series, can't wait for Collapse
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    8
    Extremely well done. This is "The Closer" part two, with the same high quality acting, writing and directing. Mary McDonnell does not haveExtremely well done. This is "The Closer" part two, with the same high quality acting, writing and directing. Mary McDonnell does not have Kyra's personality, quirkiness or appeal, but she still pulls off her sterner, stiffer approach to crime solving. The segue from "closing" to "conviction without trials", was a major coup for the writers. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2015
    5
    I do enjoy program although it is no way as good as The Closer. And can someone write into script that 'Rusty' be sent to an out of stateI do enjoy program although it is no way as good as The Closer. And can someone write into script that 'Rusty' be sent to an out of state college??? His self-absorption is tiresome. Magnolia Expand
  6. Aug 8, 2015
    4
    To TNT and Producers: if the show is renewed you must get rid of Rusty (to keep viewership)...
    either send him off to journalism school in
    To TNT and Producers: if the show is renewed you must get rid of Rusty (to keep viewership)...
    either send him off to journalism school in NY or kill him as a last resort. If it weren't for the
    boring Rusty character, I would have scored it much higher. CB
    Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    Could be a great show,but for Mary McDonnell.I find she is so wooden,and shows no facial expressions. She always seems to be reading off a cueCould be a great show,but for Mary McDonnell.I find she is so wooden,and shows no facial expressions. She always seems to be reading off a cue card,and badly. Expand

See all 20 User Reviews

Trailers