Major Crimes : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 13, 2012
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Major Crimes Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Captain Sharon Raydor (Mary McDonnell) discovers the Major Crimes division is not thrilled with her taking over from Brenda Leigh Johnson (Kyra Sedgwick).
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Aug 13, 2012
    83
    A sharply written, acted and directed start that will hook fans immediately.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Aug 9, 2012
    80
    This handoff is clean.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Aug 13, 2012
    80
    As before there is a nice balance between social drama and personal business, the tragic and the comic, exaggeration and authenticity.
  4. Reviewed by: Ken Tucker
    Aug 9, 2012
    67
    Relying less on instinct and showy interrogations, Raydor commands her unit with a nice brusqueness, gathers clues, and solves cases with airtight logic. The primary problem with Major is its slow pace.
  5. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Aug 13, 2012
    60
    With most of The Closer's original crew staying on, it's almost business as usual--though with Sedgwick no longer at the center, replaced by Mary McDonnell's inscrutably smug and unsympathetic Capt. Sharon Raydor, the franchise can't help but be diminished.
  6. Reviewed by: Lesley Smith
    Aug 13, 2012
    50
    Like The Closer, Major Crimes offers utterly predictable crime-solving.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Aug 13, 2012
    40
    Pleasant in its details but hollow at its center, Major Crimes could argue in favor of a much-derided TV practice: the traditional network development process. It could have benefited from a year or two spent working on a pilot.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    This show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming aThis show takes what The Closer had going to new heights, Mary McDonnell is incredible and brings new perspective to what was becoming a monotonous tv series, can't wait for Expand
  2. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Major Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good weMajor Crimes is a well written show. We look forward to watching it every week. Thought we would miss the Closer but this show is so good we have not. Look forward to next summer when it returns. Expand
  3. Aug 6, 2013
    9
    Really love this show I was terribly sad to lose the "Closer" but "Major Crimes" had pleasantly filled the gap. Sharon Raydor took a whileReally love this show I was terribly sad to lose the "Closer" but "Major Crimes" had pleasantly filled the gap. Sharon Raydor took a while to grow on me, but over time she has shown more compassion and a "human" side. The cast is amazing together, just as they were on the the Closer. The only thing that could make it better is to bring back Brenda Lee Johnson, Fritzy and Will Pope! Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2012
    7
    Major Crimes basically picks up where The Closer left off. The cast seems to be trying extra hard to cover the hole left by the amazing KyraMajor Crimes basically picks up where The Closer left off. The cast seems to be trying extra hard to cover the hole left by the amazing Kyra Sedgwick. Maybe too hard. In one episode Mary McDonnell dramatically screams at a Lab Technician "don't put me on hold I am the police." The most interesting character might be the awkward yet strangely talented detective Amy Sykes played by Kearran Giovanni. The writing on the show is still top notch. The cast may want to dial it back a notch. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    Major Crimes, following up The Closer, tries to inherit the cult of fans from its predecessor by keeping its entire cast (except for the main,Major Crimes, following up The Closer, tries to inherit the cult of fans from its predecessor by keeping its entire cast (except for the main, of course). I tried to go into this show with an open mind and not as much as a sequel. Mary McDonnell, a great actress, gets stuck with the most boring character possible. She isn't allowed to show any type of emotion at any times and she acts professional 24/7. Most annoying of all, she inserts herself into situations too much. Obviously as the lead character & as Captain of the LAPD's Major Crimes, she's bound to be around a lot to make sure the suspects are locked up and convicted. However, Captain Sharon Raydor is a nuisance and constant bother where she should just let the investigation hold itself. The main characters also have no chemistry or charisma on this TNT installment whatsoever, even less than their final season on "The Closer" where they were closer than ever. Not to mention that adding two more detective is not only excessive, but confusing to the fanbase. Major Crimes forces its viewers to focus on and only on Captain Raydor, who is constantly disrespectful and ignorant to any suggestions or insertions by her Detective Lieutenants. The biggest distraction in the room is the unnecessary addition of Raydor's adoptive son, Rusty Beck. In an backdoor attempt to meet the burden of getting into Raydor's personal life in comparison to Brenda Leigh Johnson's, the showrunners add Beck to show the compassion and care Raydor can have (which fails terribly). All of this is added onto a basic, if not terrible, kindergarten-like Crime Drama script. Even with McDonnell's unfortunately getting stuck with a mediocre character, the rest of the cast is colorful, well played and intelligent.
    Unfortunately, "Major Crimes" is nothing as advertised, and has yet to prove how it is starting "a new chapter" in LAPD's Major Crimes Unit. If you look at it with enough of an open mind and without focusing on Raydor too much, It's worth watching if there's nothing better on. Just don't DARE compare it to "The Closer"
    Collapse
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    3
    Major Crimes was a major disappointment for me. By retaining almost the entire cast of The Closer the show invites a comparison in which, inMajor Crimes was a major disappointment for me. By retaining almost the entire cast of The Closer the show invites a comparison in which, in my opinion, it comes off as a pale imitation of the original. While Mary McDonnell is a fine actress her character is not likable and the manner in which she is installed as the head of Major Crimes made that situation even worse for me.

    That same situation and the events that it causes also made me dislike Assistant Chief Taylor even more that I did in the first few seasons of The Closer. The same was true of Chief Pope even though he did not appear on screen. While their actions can be attributed to political realities that fact does not make any of them more sympathetic to the audience.

    Added to this is the addition of another cast member whose character is also made to be rather unlikable by the manner in which she gets her promotion to the squad.

    For me all that Major Crimes accomplished was to make me miss The Closer. I will watch the second episode to give it a chance to change my mind but if it is more of the same I won't be watching the third. I do not enjoy watching shows when this many cast members are not likable.
    Expand
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    0
    Could be a great show,but for Mary McDonnell.I find she is so wooden,and shows no facial expressions. She always seems to be reading off a cueCould be a great show,but for Mary McDonnell.I find she is so wooden,and shows no facial expressions. She always seems to be reading off a cue card,and badly. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews

Trailers